Inria Academy, a continuing education program dedicated to open source software

Changed on 10/09/2020

As part of its "Ambition 2023" contract of objectives and performance signed with the French government for the period 2019 - 2023, Inria is developing a continuing education offer on digital technologies within the Inria Academy. The institute has set itself the goal of supporting digital development by sharing proven open source software with as many people as possible in the major fields related to the economy, health, education, software safety and automatic learning. Thus Inria Academy contributes to value creation and job development.

Inria Academy
© Inria / Photo C. Morel

Supporting the digital transformation of the French ecosystem by facilitating technological penetration

This training offer is intended primarily for companies, particularly SMEs and small and medium-sized businesses, developing a job base in France and more broadly in Europe. Deployed progressively from autumn 2020, it is based in particular on software distributed in open source by Inria. 

 

Inria Academy is a structure at the service of the strategic component of the Objectives and Performance Contract signed with the French government (Ambition 2023), this training offer is an ally towards the accessibility of open source digital technologies.

Bruno Sportisse, Inria CEO

Training given by software creators

Our trainers, scientists, creators and users of open source software, are able to deploy this transfer to audiences of engineers, developers and scientists. They are qualified to lead research and are experienced in supporting professionals in training, especially on software. This system is reinforced by Inria Learning Lab's latest developments in the field of educational innovation through digital technology.

This training structure, a subsidiary of Inria, has a catalog that will be enriched over time, with nearly 1,500 software programs based on research results. 

How much does it cost to train at Inria Academy? Starting at 580 € per day per person based on a 5-day expert level training.

This software, developed by Inria's research teams, represents a significant and constantly evolving technological heritage, which is also available to developers and companies. To meet the needs of companies and accelerate the appropriation of these technological nuggets, Inria Academy offers customized training in these software in a wide variety of fields such as proof verifiers (Coq), advanced object-oriented programming (Pharo), machine learning (Scikit-learn) or physical modelers (SOFA).

Our star software

  • Coq : evidence checkers, highly prized by computer scientists.
  • Pharo : advanced object-oriented programming, adopted by both academia and industry.
  • SOFA : a physics engine for multi-body simulations, widely used in the medical and the robotics fields.
  • Scikit-learn : utomatic learning, very effective in the field of fraud prevention for example.

Among the modules that will be put on the catalog under study, Inria's ten star software packages as well as software such as RIOT, Scilab or Eigen can be studied according to the needs of companies.

Few words about David Simplot

David Simplot is Professional Education Officer at Inria for the creation of Inria Academy since november 2019. Full professor, appointed member of the Institut Universitaire de France (IUF) in 2009, he was in charge of the Pops project-team (joint project of the University of Lille, the CNRS and Inria from 2004 to 2011) which studied connected objects. He contributed to the implementation of the FIT - Future Internet (of Things) equipment of excellence (EquipEx) and received in 2014 the Grand Prix Kuhlmann from the Société des Sciences, de l'Agriculture et des Arts de Lille for all his work. Former auditor of the Institut des Hautes Études pour la Science et la Technologie (IHEST), he has always been particularly involved in regional entities such as CITC-EuraRFID, Sophia Club Entreprises, Telecom Valley or competitiveness clusters (Picom, Matikem, Pôle SCS) or Comité Grand Lille. From 2011 to 2019, he was director of the Inria Lille - Nord Europe and Inria Sophia Antipolis - Méditerranée research centres. From April 2018 to February 2020, he was leader of the 3IA Côte d'Azur project which is one of the four "Interdisciplinary Institutes of Artificial Intelligence" created in France in 2019. Since 2020, he is an elected representative of city of Antibes Juan-les-Pins and the Sophia Antipolis conurbation community.

 

David Simplot
© Inria / Photo G. Scagnelli

David Simplot

Inria Academy Manager

Inria Academy, une formation continue dédiée aux logiciels libres

Mis à jour le 10/09/2020

Dans le cadre de son contrat d’objectifs et de performance « Ambition 2023 » signé avec l’État pour la période 2019 – 2023, Inria développe une offre en matière de formation continue sur les technologies numériques au sein d’Inria Academy. L’institut s’est donné pour objectif d’accompagner le développement numérique, en partageant avec le plus grand nombre les logiciels open source éprouvés dans les grands domaines liés à l’économie, la santé, l’éducation, la sûreté des logiciels, l’apprentissage automatique. Ainsi Inria Academy participe-t-elle à la création de valeur et au développement de l’emploi.

Inria Academy
© Inria / Photo C. Morel

Accompagner la transformation numérique de l’écosystème français en facilitant l’imprégnation technologique

Cette offre de formation est destinée en priorité aux entreprises, notamment PME et ETI, développant une base d’emplois en France et plus largement en Europe. Déployée progressivement dès l’automne 2020, elle s’appuie en particulier sur les logiciels diffusés en open source par Inria. 

 

Inria Academy est une structure au service du volet stratégique du Contrat d’Objectifs et de Performance signé avec l’État (Ambition 2023), cette offre de formation constitue un allié vers l’accessibilité aux technologies numériques open source.

Bruno Sportisse, PDG d'Inria

Des formations dispensées par les créateurs de logiciels

Nos formateurs, scientifiques créateurs et utilisateurs des logiciels open source, sont à même de déployer ce transfert vers des publics d’ingénieurs, de développeurs et de scientifiques. Ils sont habilités à diriger des recherches et sont expérimentés dans l’accompagnement des professionnels en formation notamment sur les logiciels. Ce dispositif est renforcé par les derniers développements d’Inria Learning Lab en matière d’innovation pédagogique par le numérique.

Cette structure de formation, filiale d’Inria, dispose d’un catalogue qui s’enrichira au fur et à mesure, avec près de 1 500 logiciels issus des résultats de recherche. 

Le coût d'une formation chez Inria Academy ? À partir de 580 € par jour par personne sur la base d’une formation niveau expert de 5 jours.

Ces logiciels développés par les équipes de recherche d’Inria représentent un patrimoine technologique important en constante évolution, qui est aussi mis à la disposition des développeurs et des entreprises. Pour répondre aux besoins des entreprises et accélérer l’appropriation de ces pépites technologiques, Inria Academy propose des formations sur-mesure à ces logiciels dans des domaines très variés tels que les vérificateurs de preuve (Coq), la programmation avancée orientée objet (Pharo), l’apprentissage automatique (Scikit-learn) ou les modélisateurs de modèles physique (SOFA).

Nos logiciels phares

  • Coq : vérificateurs de preuve, très prisé des informaticiens.
  • Pharo : programmation avancée orientée objet, adopté par le monde académique comme par les industriels.
  • SOFA : moteur de simulation multi-corps, largement utilisé dans le monde médical ou robotique.
  • Scikit-learn : apprentissage automatique, très efficace dans le domaine de la lutte contre la fraude par exemple.

Parmi les modules qui seront mis au catalogue à l’étude, les dix logiciels stars d’Inria ainsi que des logiciels comme RIOT, Scilab ou Eigen pourront être étudiés selon des besoins des entreprises.

Quelques mots sur David Simplot

David Simplot est chargé de mission formation continue en charge de la création d’Inria Academy depuis novembre 2019. Professeur des universités, membre de l'Institut Universitaire de France (IUF) en 2009, il a été responsable de l'équipe-projet Pops (commune à l'université de Lille, le CNRS et Inria de 2004 à 2011) qui étudiait les objets connectés. Il a contribué à la mise en place de l’équipement d’excellence (EquipEx) FIT – Future Internet (of Things) et a reçu en 2014 le Grand Prix Kuhlmann de la Société des Sciences, de l’Agriculture et des Arts de Lille pour l’ensemble de ses travaux. Ancien auditeur de l’Institut des Hautes Études pour la Science et la Technologie (IHEST), il s'est toujours particulièrement investi dans des entités régionales telles que le CITC-EuraRFID, le Sophia Club Entreprises, Telecom Valley ou les pôles de compétitivité (Picom, Matikem, Pôle SCS). De 2011 à 2019, il fut directeur du centre de recherche Inria Lille - Nord Europe puis du centre de recherche Inria Sophia Antipolis - Méditerranée. D'avril 2018 à février 2020, il a été porteur du projet 3IA Côte d'Azur qui est l'un des quatre "Instituts Interdisciplinaires d'Intelligence Artificielle" qui ont été créés en France en 2019. Depuis 2020, il est élu à la ville d’Antibes Juan-les-Pins et à la communauté d’agglomération Sophia Antipolis.

 

David Simplot
© Inria / Photo G. Scagnelli

David Simplot

Responsable Inria Academy