Startups

Gazouyi: a start-up that has combined artificial intelligence with linguistics in order to help parents track their children's development

Date:
Changed on 12/04/2021
With a name that comes from the French word “gazouillis”, which refers to the first attempts a baby makes to communicate with its environment, Gazouyi is one of the most recent start-ups to emerge from the Inria Paris research centre. Let’s take a closer look at how cognitive machine learning is being used to aid infant development.
Femme portant son bébé dans les bras
© Unsplash / Dakota Corbin

 

The aim behind Gazouyi, which was created in 2020 within the joint team CoML (Inria Paris, EHESS, ENS, CNRS) with support from Inria Startup Studio, was to develop a mobile app to help parents understand and track the development and well-being of children aged 0 to 5.

Outsiders in the tech world

Gazouyi was set up by three individuals: Victor D’herbemont, an engineer specialising in machine learning for use in developmental modelling, is the CEO and CTO of Gazouyi.  Xuan Nga Cao, who has a PhD in linguistics from the City University of New York and who is a research engineer with CoML, is responsible for the educational module. Lastly, Salomé Bannon, a graduate of Paris Dauphine University and co-founder of La Petite Ourse (a company specialising in children's events), is director of operations.

As a team, they aren’t like your “typical” tech start-up, given the range of different profiles and career backgrounds. With expertise in engineering, machine learning, linguistics, innovation and parenthood, they have been able to bridge the gap between scientific research and the needs of parents looking to find the right information at the right time in relation to their children’s development. The three co-founders all shared one common goal: to make understanding and monitoring of the development of young children accessible to all.

Verbatim

Taking an interest in a child’s development shouldn't be complex. With Gazouyi, we want to make it accessible, fun and - most importantly - useful, helping parents to developer a better understanding of their children's daily lives, their emotions and how they react to things.

Auteur

Victor D’herbemont

Poste

CEO and CTO of Gazouyi

An app that uses cognitive machine learning to aid children’s development without screens

The team has built an educational module made up of two main components:

  • Activities devised by professionals, each linked to one of the 300 child development milestones between birth and the age of five. These activities don’t require the use of a phone or any other equipment: children have no contact with screens, the goal being to stimulate them in a secure, family environment.
  • A recommendation engine that offers a weekly selection of activities that correspond to the child’s individual needs.

Gazouyi is based around active educational strategies, taking into account activities the family may or may not have done in the past in the application. The more time the family spends together on activities, the better the application becomes at offering content tailored to suit their daily lives.

Well established roots

Having been among the first graduates from Inria Startup Studio in February 2020, they were able to spend a year working in the laboratory, focusing 100% on their project, putting together their educational module and taking courses on business support (finance, HR, legal, etc.).

Now a Startup Studio alumnus, they officially launched their application on all platforms in January 2021 and have maintained very close ties with the Transfer, Innovation and Partnerships Department at Inria Paris. Inria is also a shareholder in Gazouyi.

Verbatim

The aim now for Gazouyi is to attract users and to build partnerships that will enable us to get as many people as possible using Gazouyi.

Auteur

Salomé Bannon

Poste

Director of operations for Gazouyi

An idea, a project... ? Talk to the Transfer, Innovation and Partnerships Department at the Inria Paris research centre

Startups

Gazouyi : intelligence artificielle et linguistique pour accompagner les parents dans l'éveil des enfants

Date:
Mis à jour le 21/06/2021
Les "gazouillis" sont les premières tentatives de communication d’un bébé avec son environnement. Dans une autre orthographe, Gazouyi désigne un des derniers projets de startup issu du centre Inria de Paris. Avec le portrait de cette startup, découvrez l’utilisation de l’apprentissage machine cognitif pour l’éveil des enfants.
Femme portant son bébé dans les bras
© Unsplash / Dakota Corbin

 

Une application mobile pour accompagner les parents dans la compréhension et le suivi du développement et du bien-être de leur enfant de 0 à 5 ans : c’est tout l’enjeu de Gazouyi, startup née en 2020 au sein de l’équipe commune CoML (Inria de Paris, EHESS, ENS-PSL, CNRS) et accompagnée par Inria Startup Studio.

Une équipe atypique dans le monde technologique

Trois fondateurs se cachent derrière Gazouyi : Victor D'herbemont, ingénieur spécialisé en apprentissage automatique (IA) pour la modélisation du développement, est le CEO et CTO de Gazouyi. Xuan Nga Cao, docteure en linguistique à City University of New York et ingénieure de recherche dans l'équipe CoML, travaille en tant que directrice du module pédagogique. Et enfin, Salomé Bannon, diplômée de l’université Paris Dauphine et cofondatrice de l’entreprise d’animation pour enfant La Petite Ourse, est directrice des opérations.

Une équipe qui pourrait être considérée "atypique" pour une startup technologique, composée de parcours et profils très différents. La pluralité de profils entre ingénierie, apprentissage automatique, linguistique, innovation et parentalité, permet de créer un lien entre la recherche scientifique et les besoins des parents désireux de trouver la bonne information au bon moment pour le développement de leur enfant. Les trois cofondateurs se sont rejoints sur un point essentiel, au cœur de leur projet entrepreneurial : la volonté de rendre la compréhension et le suivi du développement des jeunes enfants accessibles à tous.

Verbatim

S’intéresser au développement de l’enfant, ça ne doit pas être quelque chose de complexe. Avec Gazouyi on veut le rendre accessible, ludique, et surtout utile pour mieux appréhender le quotidien de son enfant, ses émotions, ses réactions.

Auteur

Victor D’herbemont

Poste

CEO et CTO de Gazouyi

Une application qui utilise l’apprentissage machine cognitif pour un éveil sans écran des enfants

L’équipe construit un module pédagogique constitué de deux grandes parties :

  • Des activités conçues par des professionnels, chacune associée à un des 300 jalons de développement de l’enfant entre la naissance et l’âge de cinq ans. Sans matériel nécessaire, ces activités ne nécessitent en aucun cas l'usage du téléphone : les enfants ne sont pas au contact des écrans, le but étant de découvrir l’éveil en famille dans un cadre sécurisé.
  • Un moteur de recommandation, proposant chaque semaine une sélection d’activités qui correspondent au besoin individuel de l’enfant.

Pour fonctionner, Gazouyi se base sur des stratégies de pédagogies actives et prend en entrée les activités qui ont été réalisées (ou non) par la famille dans le passé dans l’application. Plus la famille passe du temps réunie sur les activités, plus l’application est capable de lui proposer un contenu adapté à sa vie de tous les jours.

Un enracinement réussi

Ils ont intégré la première promotion du programme d'accompagnement Inria Startup Studio en février 2020 et pendant un an, ils ont pu travailler dans le laboratoire, se concentrer à 100% sur leur projet, construire leur module pédagogique et suivre des formations sur les aspects supports de l'entrepreneuriat (finance, RH, juridique,…).

Maintenant alumni du Inria Startup Studio, ils ont lancé officiellement leur application sur toutes les plates-formes depuis janvier 2021 et continuent à garder des liens très forts avec les différents membres et le service transfert innovation et partenariat de Paris. Inria est également actionnaire de Gazouyi.

Verbatim

Aujourd’hui, le challenge de Gazouyi ? Acquérir des utilisateurs et réaliser des partenariats pour distribuer Gazouyi au plus grand nombre !

Auteur

Salomé Bannon

Poste

Directrice des opérations de Gazouyi

Une idée, un projet... ? Parlez-en avec le Service Transfert, Innovation & Partenariats du centre de Paris