Startup Studio

Inria Startup Studio

Inria Startup Studio underscores Inria’s contribution to the creation of start-ups, giving researchers, especially young researchers, and project leaders everything they need to dive head first into the creation of their own digital deep tech start-up. Objective of Inria, support 100 startup projects each year from 2023!

The law on innovation allows public sector researchers to create a business based on their research work. As a result, the institute encourages and strongly supports the creation of start-ups originating from Inria, using devices such as Inria Startup Studio.

 

Inria also holds the “French Tech Seed” label, through which the institute is able to ensure that tech start-ups who have reached maturity can benefit from a special €400m fund set up by the French government.

Startup Studio will thus be able to support start-ups launched by researchers - whether working within Inria or externally - through these financial levers.

 

Startup Studio

The result of a partnership between Inria and BpiFrance, first announced in July 2019, Startup Studio is part of the wider framework of the Deeptech Plan launched in January 2019, the goal of which is to help deep tech start-ups beginning life in research laboratories to hatch and to grow.

Startup Studio was designed specifically to support the creation of tech start-ups beginning life in public research in the digital field. It draws not only on Inria’s collective dynamic, but also on the same collective dynamic of both the French and global ecosystems Inria has been a fixture of for more than 30 years.

 

Startup Studio

For a long time, researchers and engineers working within Inria have had the opportunity to launch a start-up in just a few months and to pivot it, should that prove necessary. Over the past 30 years, no fewer than 170 start-ups have been launched in this way, supported by Inria through its I-Source and IT-Translation seed funds.

 

With Startup Studio, Inria is keen to give a boost to company creation, which has been a key focus of the institute from the very beginning.

Creating a start-up is a long-term project, but much depends on development cycles, and responsiveness is very much the order of the day. This is a flexible model through which results from research can be put to use in a meaningful way, integrating societal problems into innovative projects with immediate impact.

The Startup Studio team

Sophie Pellat and Hervé Lebret, well-known figures in tech entrepreneurship, are the co-directors of Inria Startup Studio. They have helped to seed and fund a sizeable number of start-ups, many of which have been acquired by big names in tech.

The experts in transfer, innovation and partnerships within each Inria research centre are responsible for ensuring close ties with project leaders and for overseeing operations.

Startup Studio

More and more start-ups through Startup Studio

The aim of the programme is to boost the number of start-ups with their roots in digital research in France and to give them a global reach. With Startup Studio, Inria has set itself the target of supporting more than 100 digital deep tech start-ups each year between now and 2023.

Startup Studio

Inria Startup Studio

Inria Startup Studio renforce l’apport d’Inria à la création de startups. Il donne aux chercheurs et chercheuses, notamment les plus jeunes, et aux porteurs et porteuses de projets toutes les armes pour se lancer dans la création d’une startup Deeptech numérique. L’objectif d'Inria, soutenir 100 projets de startup chaque année dès 2023 !

La loi sur l’innovation et la recherche permet aux chercheurs et chercheuses du secteur public de créer une entreprise à partir de leurs travaux de recherche. De ce fait, l'institut encourage et accompagne fortement la création de startups issues d'Inria, au moyen de dispositifs tels que Inria Startup Studio.

 

 

Inria est également  détenteur du label « French Tech Seed », ce qui permet à l’institut de faire bénéficier les startups technologiques, en phase de postmaturation d’un fonds de financement ad hoc doté par l’État d’un montant de 400 M€.

C’est notamment grâce à ces leviers financiers que la création de startups par les chercheurs et chercheuses - internes Inria ou externes – va pouvoir être soutenue au travers du Startup Studio.

Startup Studio
Fruit d'un partenariat entre Inria et BpiFrance annoncé en juillet 2019, la création du Startup Studio s’inscrit dans le cadre plus large du Plan Deeptech lancé en janvier 2019 par Bpifrance dans le but de faire émerger et grandir des startups Deeptech issues des laboratoires de recherche.

Le dispositif du Startup Studio a été conçu spécifiquement pour accompagner la création des startups technologiques issues de la recherche publique dans le numérique. Il s’appuie sur la dynamique collective d’Inria, mais aussi sur celle des écosystèmes français et mondiaux dont Inria est acteur depuis plus de 30 ans.

Startup Studio

 

Au sein d’Inria, chercheurs et ingénieurs ont depuis longtemps la possibilité de monter une startup en quelques mois et, si nécessaire, de la faire rapidement « pivoter ». Depuis 30 ans, ce sont ainsi pas moins de 170 startups qui ont été lancées et accompagnées par Inria via ses dispositifs financiers d’amorçage puis d’ultra-amorçage I-Source et IT-Translation.

 

 

Avec le Startup Studio, Inria souhaite donner un coup d’accélérateur à cette mission qui est au cœur de son ADN depuis les origines et accompagner plus de 100 projets de startups Deeptech numériques chaque année à l’horizon 2023.

 

Créer une startup est un projet au long cours mais qui se déploie au gré de cycles de développement qui demandent une grande réactivité. C’est un modèle agile qui permet de mettre les résultats de la recherche au service d’usages et d’applications qui ont du sens. De quoi intégrer des problématiques sociétales dans un projet innovant avec un impact rapide !

Équipe du Startup Studio

Sophie Pellat et Hervé Lebret, personnalités reconnues dans les sphères de l’entrepreneuriat technologique, codirigient Inria Startup Studio. Ils ont ainsi permis l'amorçage et le financement d'un nombre important de startups, dont beaucoup ont été acquises par de grands noms de la tech.

Les experts dédiés au transfert, à l’innovation et au partenariat dans chaque centre de recherche Inria assurent le lien de proximité et la conduite opérationnelle avec les porteurs de projets.

Startup Studio

Le codesign des projets entrepreneuriaux

Inria Startup Studio constitue un programme global destiné à soutenir de bout en bout les projets de création de startups Deeptech. Il s’appuie sur les équipes expertes en transfert et en innovation, dédiées aux entrepreneurs, dans chaque centre de recherche Inria.