Health - Personalised Healthcare

SLIMMEST - on the border between biology, mathematics and IT

Date:
Changed on 21/06/2021
There are limits to the conventional approaches used to model microbiota, which work either with models with few species of micro-organisms or for determining feasible biochemical functions.
SLIMMEST, an exploratory action led by Clémence Frioux and Simon Labarthe from the PLEIADE project team, which operates on the border between biology, mathematics and IT, is keen to overcome these obstacles through a combination of logical approximation and the metamodeling of certain models.
Microbiotes
© AdobeStock

In the beginning there were microbiota

What are microbiota ? Microbiota are defined as communities of living micro-organisms found in a given ecosystem. There are many such ecosystems, which vary in terms of their environment, their size and their composition. We even have microbiota inside us ! Take your intestine, for example, which is an ecosystem inhabited by a large number of micro-organisms which work together to ensure stability and to keep your system running like a well-oiled machine. The intestine is part of the digestive tract, serving as an interface between the bolus and the cells which line its walls. The vast array of bacteria found within this tract increase in number as a person ages, and are also affected by changes to their diet, by their health and by their environment. These microbiota play a number of different roles: not only are they required for digestion, helping us to absorb components our bodies need, but they also help our immune systems. We can see, therefore, just how important it is to understand these microbiota and to be able to identify the interactions and mechanisms taking place inside them.

In order to understand how microbiota work, scientists have to ask a number of questions : what is there ? How much of it is there ? What does it do ? How does it do it ?

Modelling metabolisms

A great deal of interest is paid to gut microbiota in systems biology, linked as they are to major health concerns. This is the focus of the research carried out in Bordeaux by Clémence Frioux, a researcher at Inria, and Simon Labarthe, a researcher at the Inrae (the French National Institute of Agricultural Research), both of whom are members of the Pleiade project team.

The approach taken by the two scientists to the subject blends mathematics with bioinformatics. Coming from two different backgrounds, Frioux and Labarthe employ different but complementary tools. “ We weren’t necessarily asking the same questions on this subject ” explains Frioux. But as they discussed their approaches and the questions they were asking, they came up with the idea for a new collaboration.

In order to answer the questions asked about microbiota, you first have to identify what the microbiota are made up of and what the relevant quantities are. These are questions which science is now able to provide answers to. But when it comes to determining what does what and how, things start to get more complex. It is not yet possible to observe gut microbiota in situ and to see exactly what is happening there. There are so many varieties of bacteria and so many interactions between bacteria and between varieties that it is not possible to see the inner workings of the machine in real-time. The issue here is that understanding the machinery is key if you want to be able to fix it when it breaks down. Reproducing the exact environmental conditions of microbiota in vitro is not easy, and so scientists employ a different approach involving simulation and modelling. IT and maths provide assistance when it comes to researching and understanding these environments and the mechanisms which govern them.

Overcoming challenges

When it comes to modelling microbiota, there are a number of challenges facing research. To attempt to overcome these, Frioux and Labarthe have just been given the opportunity to set up an exploratory action, an initiative promoted by Inria for the development of innovative, risky or ground-breaking research.

The problem is that there are limits to the conventional approaches used to model microbiota, which either work with models with few species of micro-organisms (where the calculation becomes overly complex for microbiota with several hundred species) or for determining feasible biochemical functions (where you lose the ability to track the spatio-temporal dynamics of the microbial species in the environment).

The aim of this exploratory action, which has been given the name SLIMMEST, is to overcome these obstacles through a combination of logical approximation and the metamodeling of certain models. Through the exploratory action initiative, they will soon be able to count on the support of two postdoctoral researchers for this ambitious project.

“ Short-term we would like to produce a first model of the gut microbiome in its environment, carefully modelling the spatial mechanisms of what is happening in the gut ”, explains Labarthe.

Longer-term, another ambition is to work with biologists to simplify certain microbiota by selecting those bacteria which play the most prominent role. Doing so will allow them to create an in silico model which will enable them to explore a whole host of hypotheses by limiting the number of animals included in the experiment. 

Watch this space !

Members of the SLIMMEST exploratory action

Portrait Clémence Frioux

Clémence Frioux

Clémence Frioux studied for a PhD in IT at the University of Rennes 1. She then spent time as a postdoctoral researcher at the Quadram Institute Bioscience in Norwich in 2019, prior to joining the Inria project team Pleiade in 2020.

Portrait Simon Labarthe

Simon Labarthe

Simon Labarthe has been a researcher at the Inrae since 2014 and joined Pleiade in 2020. Having studied for a PhD in applied mathematics and scientific computing as part of the Carmen project team at the Inria Bordeaux Sud-Ouest research centre, he was awarded an Agreenskills grant (Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions) during a placement at UC Davis in 2018-2019.

Exploratory Actions

Discover the other Inria Exploratory Actions

Santé - Médecine personnalisée

SLIMMEST, aux frontières de la biologie, des mathématiques et de l’informatique

Date:
Mis à jour le 26/07/2021
Les approches "classiques" pour modéliser un microbiote comportent des limites : ces méthodes fonctionnent soit pour des modèles avec peu d’espèces de micro-organismes, soit pour déterminer les fonctions biochimiques réalisables.
SLIMMEST, action exploratoire portée par Clémence Frioux et Simon Labarthe de l’équipe-projet Pleiade se positionne aux frontières de la biologie, des mathématiques et de l’informatique et entend lever ces verrous par la combinaison de l’approximation logique et de la métamodélisation de certains modèles.
Microbiotes
© AdobeStock

Au commencement, les microbiotes

Un microbiote… qu’est-ce que c’est ? On définit un microbiote comme l’ensemble des micro-organismes vivant dans un écosystème donné. Ces écosystèmes sont nombreux et variés tant du point de vue de leur environnement que de ceux de leur taille ou leur composition. Il existe même des microbiotes en, et sur, nous ! Prenez l’exemple de votre intestin, il s’agit là d’un écosystème peuplé de très nombreux micro-organismes qui œuvrent collectivement à la stabilité, à l’entretien et au fonctionnement d’une machinerie bien huilée ! L’intestin est une partie du tube digestif, constituant une interface entre le bol alimentaire et les cellules qui tapissent ses parois. Les très nombreuses, en nombre et en variété, bactéries présentes dans ce tube voient leur population évoluer avec l’âge de l’individu, les variabilités de son alimentation, son état de santé, son environnement… Les rôles de ce microbiote intestinal sont multiples : il participe à la digestion évidemment, nous aidant dans l’intégration de composants essentiels à notre organisme mais assiste aussi notre système immunitaire. Bien connaitre ce microbiote, identifier les interactions et les mécanismes qui se déroulent en son sein, est donc essentiel.

Pour comprendre le fonctionnement d’un microbiote quel qu’il soit, les scientifiques sont amenés à se poser de nombreuses questions : qui est là ? Combien sont-ils ? Qu’est-ce qu’ils font ? Comment le font-ils ?

Modéliser les métabolismes

La biologie des systèmes s’intéresse beaucoup au microbiote intestinal : les enjeux de santé qui y sont liés sont en effet majeurs. À Bordeaux, Clémence Frioux, chercheuse à Inria et Simon Labarthe, chercheur à l’Inrae, tous les deux membres de l’équipe-projet Pleiade, leur consacrent leurs travaux.

Les deux scientifiques ont une approche mathématique/bio-informatique du sujet. Venant de deux horizons différents, ces deux collaborateurs manipulent des outils différents mais complémentaires. « Nous n’avions pas forcément les mêmes questions sur cette thématique scientifique », explique ainsi Clémence. C’est en échangeant sur leurs approches et leurs questionnements scientifiques qu’ils ont eu l’idée d’une nouvelle collaboration.

Pour répondre aux questions que l’on se pose sur le microbiote, il faut, dans un premier temps déterminer "qui" le compose et "dans quelle(s) quantité(s)". Ce sont aujourd’hui deux défis que la science sait plutôt bien relever. Mais lorsqu’il s’agit ensuite de déterminer qui fait quoi et comment, les choses deviennent plus compliquées. Il n’est aujourd’hui pas possible d’observer le microbiote intestinal in situ et de voir exactement ce qu’il s’y produit. Les variétés de bactéries et les interactions entre bactéries et entre variétés sont tellement nombreuses qu’il n’est pas possible de voir "en temps réel" les rouages de la machinerie. Or, comprendre cette machinerie est important pour agir lorsqu’elle tombe en panne ! In vitro, reproduire les conditions exactes de l’environnement d’un microbiote n’est pas simple… aussi, les scientifiques utilisent-ils une autre approche : la simulation et la modélisation. L’informatique et les mathématiques viennent en renfort pour faciliter la recherche et la compréhension de ces environnements et des mécanismes qui les régissent.

Relever des défis

Leur problématique ? Les approches « classiques » pour modéliser un microbiote comportent des limites. Ces méthodes fonctionnent soit pour des modèles avec peu d’espèces de micro-organismes (mais le calcul devient beaucoup trop complexe sur des microbiotes de plusieurs centaines d’espèces), soit pour déterminer les fonctions biochimiques réalisables (mais on perd alors le suivi des dynamiques spatio-temporelles des espèces microbiennes dans le milieu).

L’objectif de cette action exploratoire, appelée SLIMMEST, est de lever ces verrous par la combinaison de l’approximation logique et par la métamodélisation de certains modèles. Un programme ambitieux pour lequel, grâce au dispositif de l’action exploratoire, ils pourront bientôt compter sur le renfort de deux contrats postdoctoraux !

« À court terme, nous aimerions produire un premier modèle de microbiote intestinal dans son environnement, en modélisant finement les mécanismes spatiaux de ce qu’il se passe dans l’intestin », explique Simon.

À plus long terme, une des ambitions est, aux côtés des biologistes, de simplifier certains microbiotes en sélectionnant les bactéries les plus impliquées et pouvoir créer un modèle in silico qui permettrait d’explorer de nombreuses hypothèses en limitant notamment le nombre d’animaux en expérimentation. 

Affaire à suivre !

Membres de l'action exploratoire SLIMMEST

Portrait Clémence Frioux

Clémence Frioux

Clémence est titulaire d’un doctorat en informatique réalisé à l’université de Rennes 1. Elle a ensuite effectué un postdoc au Quadram Institute Bioscience à Norwich (RU) en 2019, avant d’intégrer Inria, et l’équipe-projet Pleiade en 2020.

Portrait Simon Labarthe

Simon Labarthe

Simon est chercheur à l’Inrae depuis 2014 et a intégré l’équipe-projet Pleiade en 2020. Titulaire d’un doctorat en mathématiques appliquées et calcul scientifique effectué au sein de l’équipe-projet Carmen au centre Inria Bordeaux Sud-Ouest, il a ensuite bénéficié d’une bourse Agreenskills (Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions) au cours d’une mobilité à UC Davis en 2018-2019.

Actions Exploratoires

Découvrez les autres Actions Exploratoires d'Inria