Climate, meteorology

Monnalisa: building the aircraft of the future through digital simulation

Date:
Changed on 21/07/2021
As part of the CleanSky project, the EU has set itself the target of reducing its CO2 emissions from aircraft by 75% by 2050. Meeting this target will require cooperation between the public and private sectors, as well as cooperation between countries. This is the goal of Monnalisa, a project funded by CleanSky that is aiming to improve the digital simulations used to model the aerodynamic properties of new types of aircraft.
Illustration aile d'avion
Free-Photos from Pixabay

A high-flying Franco-Italian collaboration

“There are a number of advantages to conducting projects at an EU level”, explains Pietro Congedo, head of the Platon project team at the Inria Saclay Île-de-France research centre. “On the one hand, it allows you to interact with diverse scientific communities and to help new ideas to emerge. It also presents an opportunity to build a scientific network and a network of students and bridges, enabling students to move between countries. Lastly, the EU is able to offer more funding than is available at a national level, ensuring a greater degree of security.” The Monnalisa project, which brings together the Politecnico Di Milano (Italy), Inria’s Platon project team and the Italian company Metaltech, has just been awarded €895,000 in funding over three years (January 2021 to March 2023) as part of the joint EU technology initiative CleanSky.

Bringing private partners together with the European Union, the aim of the CleanSky project is to fund the development of cutting edge aviation and aeronautics technology that will help to reduce energy consumption in the sector. This is a goal that Monnalisa should help to achieve, its aim being to improve the predictive capabilities of the digital simulations used to test the wing profiles of new types of aircraft.

Enhancing the quality of the simulation

Pietro Congedo gives us an illustration: “Say you were to weigh yourself. The weight displayed would have a margin of error - it would be accurate to within a few grams. This margin of error can be understood as an uncertainty in terms of the measurement. Within Platon, what we specialise in is factoring in this uncertainty for each parameter used in a digital simulation, allowing us to estimate its quality.” This expertise will be applied to simulations of the aerodynamic properties of aircraft wing profiles.

Inria and their partners, supervised by an Airbus project manager, will generate a hundred or so digital models of wing profiles in 3D, before applying a digital solver to these models. A digital solver is a computer code that takes into account a number of parameters (swept wing, aspect ratio, conicity ratio, dihedral angle, the shape of the leading edge and the presence of ice) as well as their levels of uncertainty. The result is a simulation of the aerodynamic properties of each profile, giving an accurate indication of the quality of the simulation. This will enable them to identify the candidates capable of saving the most energy,  which will then be built by MetalTech before being tested in a wind tunnel.

The results from these tests will help to improve the reliability of the digital simulations. “By the end we will have a completely unique database, offering free access to data from precise digital simulations and experiments”, explains Pietro Congedo. This will be of enormous benefit to the aerospace industry, which has previously had to rely on digital simulations which don’t fully factor in these uncertainties or experiments requiring costly prototypes to be built. 

A major environmental challenge

Through the Monnalisa project Inria will take on a postdoctoral researcher, with two other postdoctoral researchers joining the Politecnico Di Milano. These researchers will work closely with each other, as well as with researchers from the two institutes, who will be familiar with this type of collaboration: both Politecnico Di Milano and Inria were partners in another EU project, Utopia, which came to an end in January. Having run for a period of four years, it funded a PhD exchange programme between the two institutes. “We have worked in the past on questions linked to optimising and factoring in uncertainties, but we will be putting this research into practice as part of Monnalisa.” 

It’s a sizeable challenge: air transport is currently responsible for around 2% of the 36 billion tonnes of CO2 generated each year through human activities. What’s more, demand for aircraft is increasing by 4% each year, and it is estimated that we will need 40,000 new aircraft over the next 20 years. Stark figures when you consider that the aim of CleanSky is to reduce CO2 emissions from aircraft in Europe by 75% by 2050. In any case, it is clear to see the importance of being able to digitally visualise and test the most energy-efficient solutions for the aircraft of the future.

Climat, météorologie

Monnalisa : la simulation numérique au service de l’avion du futur

Date:
Mis à jour le 25/05/2021
Avec le programme CleanSky, l’Europe s’est fixé notamment pour objectif de réduire de 75% les émissions de CO2 de son aviation d’ici à 2050. Pour y parvenir, il faut miser sur la collaboration entre public et privé et entre pays. C’est ce que fait justement le projet Monnalisa, financé par CleanSky, avec comme finalité d’améliorer les simulations numériques des caractéristiques aérodynamiques des futurs avions.
Illustration aile d'avion
Free-Photos from Pixabay

Une collaboration franco-italienne de haut vol

« Mener un projet à l’échelle européenne présente de nombreux avantages, expose Pietro Congedo, responsable de l’équipe-projet Platon au centre Inria Saclay Île-de-France. D’une part, cela permet d’interagir avec des communautés scientifiques variées et donc de faire émerger de nouvelles idées. D’autre part, c’est une occasion de créer un réseau scientifique ainsi qu’un réseau d’étudiants et des passerelles pour que ces derniers circulent d’un pays à l’autre. Enfin, l’Europe offre des financements plus importants que l’échelle nationale, qui permettent de travailler confortablement. » Ainsi le projet Monnalisa, qui associe Politecnico Di Milano (Italie), l’équipe Platon d’Inria et l’entreprise italienne Metaltech, vient de décrocher un financement de 895 000 euros sur trois ans (de janvier 2021 à mars 2023) dans le cadre de l’initiative technologique conjointe européenne CleanSky.

Celle-ci rassemble des partenaires privés et l’Union européenne pour financer des technologies de pointe en avionique et aéronautique qui permettront de réduire les consommations d’énergie du secteur. Et Monnalisa s’inscrit parfaitement dans cette optique. Comment ? En ayant pour objectif d’améliorer le caractère prédictif des simulations numériques visant à tester les profils d’aile des futurs avions.

Simuler, oui, mais avec quelle qualité ?

« Imaginons que l’on se pèse, illustre Pietro Congedo. Le poids affiché contient une tolérance, c’est-à-dire qu’il est précis à quelques grammes près. Cette tolérance peut être interprétée comme une incertitude sur la mesure. Et notre spécialité au sein de l’équipe Platon est de savoir prendre en compte cette incertitude pour chaque paramètre utilisé dans une simulation numérique afin de pouvoir estimer la qualité de celle-ci. » Une expertise qui va donc s’appliquer à la simulation des caractéristiques aérodynamiques des profils d’aile d’avion.

Concrètement, Inria et ses partenaires, sous la supervision d’un directeur de projet d’Airbus, vont générer une centaine de modèles de profils d’ailes numériques en 3D. Puis appliquer sur ceux-ci un solveur numérique, c’est-à-dire un code de calcul prenant en compte de nombreux paramètres (angle de balayage, rapport d'aspect, rapport de conicité, angle dièdre, forme du bord d'attaque et présence de glace) et leur incertitude pour réaliser une simulation des caractéristiques aérodynamiques de chaque profil et connaître avec précision la qualité de cette simulation. Ils pourront ainsi identifier les candidats qui permettraient de réaliser les plus grandes économies d’énergie.

Ces heureux élus (un ou deux) seront ensuite construits par MetalTech et testés en soufflerie. Et les résultats des tests viendront à leur tour améliorer la fiabilité des simulations numériques. « Au final, nous aurons une base de données unique au monde, qui offrira, en libre accès, des données issues à la fois de simulations numériques précises et d’expérimentations », anticipe le chercheur. Un outil précieux pour l’aéronautique, qui, sans celui-ci, doit se baser sur des simulations numériques qui ne prennent pas assez bien en compte les incertitudes… ou sur des expérimentations qui exigent la coûteuse fabrication de prototypes. 

Un enjeu écologique majeur

Monnalisa va permettre l’embauche d’un postdoctorant chez Inria pendant deux ans et d’autres postdoctorants à Politecnico Di Milano, qui travailleront étroitement les uns avec les autres et avec les chercheurs des deux organismes. Ceux-ci sont d’ailleurs coutumiers de ce genre de collaboration : jusqu’en janvier dernier, Politecnico Di Milano et Inria étaient déjà partenaires au sein d’un autre projet européen, nommé Utopia. Celui-ci, qui a duré quatre ans, a financé l’échange de doctorants entre les deux organismes. « Nous avons alors déjà travaillé sur les questions d’optimisation et de prise en compte des incertitudes, mais avec Monnalisa, nous entrons dans l’application de ces premières recherches. »

L’enjeu est de taille : le transport aérien représente actuellement environ 2% des 36 milliards de tonnes de CO2 générées chaque année par les activités humaines. Et la demande d’avions augmente de plus de 4% par an, avec un besoin estimé de 40 000 nouveaux appareils au cours des 20 prochaines années. Or CleanSky vise notamment une réduction de 75% des émissions de CO2 des avions européens d’ici à 2050… Pouvoir imaginer et tester numériquement dans un premier temps les solutions technologiques les plus économes en énergie pour les futurs appareils est donc un impératif.