Startups

Qatent: natural language processing applied to patents

Date:
Changed on 11/03/2021
Qatent is the latest start-up to emerge from Inria Paris, a project based around natural language processing that is aiming to play a leading role in the digital transition in the industrial property sector.
Balle de verre réfléchissant des lumières
© Unsplash / Michael Dziedzic

 

Convinced that the industrial property sector is set to enter a new era, switching from a fully artisanal mode of producing patent applications to an industrial mode assisted by the latest artificial intelligence technology, François Veltz, Kim Gerdes and Jean-Marc Deltorn founded Qatent in late 2020.

In the belief that patents should be written by applying the most up-to-date natural language processing and deep learning tools to the text, the three founders of the start-up set themselves the target of combining algorithms using natural language processing and expertise (technicians and experts in industrial property rights). Their aim is to make life easier for patent applicants, inventors and the industry as a whole by producing cheaper, better quality patents. On a wider scale, the start-up is aiming to process whole corpora of patents at a global level, and to incorporate information taken from scientific publications into their platform.

On the precipice of what is set to be a historic tipping point for both manufacturers and industrial property agencies, the men behind Qatent also plan to offer inventiveness scores and to help those writing patents by giving them weak signals. These developments will increase the range of tools available for taking strategic decisions when it comes to inventions and artificial intelligence.

Titre

Citation 1 thomas

Verbatim

Inria’s support has been vital in a number of aspects: financial support for developing the software core, moral support and support with the launch. Beyond that, we have had access to an expert team on the TAL (with the ALMAnaCH research team), which will enable us to develop synergy and to consolidate our technological progress.

Auteur

Jean-Marc Deltorn

Poste

co-founder of Qatent

The start-up, which is hoping to play a leading role in this new world of intelligent and creative machines, has just joined the Inria Startup Studio programme, and software development is ongoing.

Verbatim

We are seeking investors who understand the strategic nature of our start-up: our aim is to algorithmically enhance the processing of patent applications, from technology monitoring and writing applications, to examinations and defending inventions.

Auteur

Jean-Marc Deltorn

Poste

co-founder of Qatent

cté stip

An idea, a project... ? Talk to the Transfer, Innovation and Partnerships Department at the Inria Paris research centre

Startups

Qatent : le traitement automatique des langues appliqué aux brevets

Date:
Mis à jour le 25/05/2021
C’est le dernier-né du centre Inria de Paris : ce projet entrepreneurial s’appuie sur le traitement automatique du langage pour avoir une place majeure dans la transition numérique des cabinets de propriété industrielle et des déposants industriels.
Balle de verre réfléchissant des lumières
© Unsplash / Michael Dziedzic

 

C’est avec la conviction que l’industrie de la propriété industrielle s’apprête à changer d’époque, en passant d’un mode de production des demandes de brevet totalement artisanal à un mode de production industriel assisté par les dernières technologies d’intelligence artificielle, que François Veltz, Kim Gerdes et Jean-Marc Deltorn fondent Qatent fin 2020.

Pour les trois fondateurs, la rédaction de brevet doit s’appuyer sur les dernières générations d’outils de traitement automatique des langues et d’apprentissage profond, appliqués au texte.

La startup se donne donc comme mission de combiner les algorithmes grâce au traitement automatique du langage et au savoir-faire (conseils en propriété industrielle), afin de produire des brevets moins chers et de meilleure qualité au service des déposants, des inventeurs et de l’industrie. À plus grande échelle, l’ambition de la startup est de traiter le corpus des brevets à l’échelle mondiale, et d’intégrer dans leur plate-forme les informations issues des publications scientifiques.

Placée au cœur d’une bascule historique pour les industriels comme pour les cabinets de propriété industrielle, Qatent entend également proposer des scores d'inventivité et aider les rédacteurs en leur proposant des signaux faibles. Ces développements viendront augmenter la panoplie d’outils pour la prise de décision stratégique en matière d'invention et l'intelligence industrielle.

Titre

Témoignages

Verbatim

Le soutien d’Inria est déterminant à plusieurs titres : une aide financière qui permet de développer le cœur logiciel, un accompagnement moral et un appui au lancement. Au-delà, l’accès à une équipe d’excellence sur le TAL (avec l’équipe de recherche ALMAnaCH) qui permettra de développer des synergies et consolider notre avance technologique.

Auteur

Kim Gerdes

Poste

cofondateur de Qatent

La startup, qui souhaite jouer un rôle clé dans ce nouveau monde de machines intelligentes et créatives vient d’intégrer le programme Inria Startup Studio, et les produits logiciels sont en cours de développement.

Verbatim

Nous cherchons des investisseurs qui comprennent le caractère stratégique de Qatent : l’augmentation algorithmique des processus de traitement des demandes de brevets, de la veille technologique à la rédaction des demandes et à l’examen, jusqu’à la défense des inventions.

Auteur

Jean-Marc Deltorn

Poste

cofondateur de Qatent

Contact

Une idée, un projet... ? Parlez-en avec le Service Transfert, Innovation & Partenariats du centre de Paris