Using exoskeletons to assist intensive care personnel with ExoTurn

Date :
Changed on 23/06/2020
A multidisciplinary team of doctors, robotics researchers and ergonomists from the CHRU of Nancy, the University of Lorraine, Inria, CNRS and INRS collaborated to provide exoskeletons to medical staff working with Covid-19 patients in medical intensive care units, in order to relieve their physical constraints. Serena Ivaldi, an Inria researcher at the Lorraine Laboratory for Research in Computer Science and its Applications (Loria - CNRS/University of Lorraine/Inria), and Dr. Nicla Settembre, from the Nancy Regional and University Hospital Center, INSERM and the University of Lorraine, set up the "ExoTurn" project to help the medical staff involved in prone positioning (PP), a very complex maneuver which consists in turning mechanically ventilated patients prone. The results of their pilot study have just been published in the journal "Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine".
Mission Covid-19 ExoTurn
Laurent Phialy / HVL / UL

Relieving the intensive care units

Intensive care units in most hospitals have recently had to cope with an increase in the number of patients with severe Covid-19-related Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (ARDS) who need to be placed in a specific position to improve oxygenation. Ventilation of patients in the prone position is crucial for treatment. This involves positioning patients lying on their stomach with a complicated roll-over maneuver. Each PP procedure requires approximately 6 medical staff trained in the procedure to remain with the bust bent forward for several minutes, resulting in a physical load on the lumbar area and increasing the risks of back pain and potentially injury.

Specific “PP” teams were deployed in Nancy hospitals from 23 March to 24 April 2020 in their extended intensive care unit (from 22 to 46 beds). "During this period, 75 volunteers took turns to have one to three teams of 5 people each day and carried out an average of 8 to 15 placements per day, which corresponds to a total manipulated weight of more than 30 tons", explains Prof. Bruno Chenuel, coordinating doctor of the PP teams. The kinematic analysis carried out by Loria shows that the medical staff can spend about 40% of the time with the bust bent more than 20 degrees forward when placed next to the patient, and can maintain a static posture with a significant flexion of the trunk for several minutes to secure the patient's head and avoid extubation. "We recorded the PP movements with an Xsens suit and performed a biomechanical analysis of the movement with the AnyBody software," explains Pauline Maurice, a CNRS researcher at Loria. Even without load manipulation, such postures cause pressure and potential injury to the lower back. "This is a typical situation where back support exoskeletons can be considered to improve working conditions, which is the main mission of INRS," explain Jean Theurel and Laurent Claudon, experts in physiology and biomechanics at INRS. These exoskeletons are generally deployed in the industrial sector; there are very few reports on their use in the healthcare system and no use in intensive care units

Project holders: Serena Ivaldi (Inria NGE, LARSEN team) and Dr Nicla Settembre (CHRU Nancy)

Partners: CHRU Nancy, INRS, Lorraine Virtual Hospital

#resuscitation # caregiver fatigue #exoskeletons

 

"To our knowledge, exoskeletons have never been used in intensive care units or in connection with Covid-19," explains Serena Ivaldi. "In order to study their usefulness, we first evaluated different back support exoskeletons in simulation, i.e., on caregivers performing the PP maneuver on a patient simulator, i.e., a manikin, before deploying the selected exoskeleton on two volunteers performing the PP in a real situation in an intensive care unit". The CUESim Simulation Centre at the Lorraine Virtual Hospital (HVL) provided a simulated intensive care room with a patient simulator reproducing the same conditions that doctors face in real life. "The manikin was intubated and kept alive, in order to reproduce the complicated conditions of Covid-19 patients under treatment in intensive care," explains Ms. Hind Hani, Biomedical Studies Engineer and Operational Director of the CUESim/HVL. After the first experiments at the simulation center, the ExoTurn team selected the passive exoskeleton "Laevo". The medical staff using this exoskeleton during PP maneuvers in the intensive care unit perceived a physical relief in the lower back and clearly indicated their intention to adopt such a technology.

 

This work is of crucial importance for the improvement of the working conditions of medical staff, and more generally for the medical and scientific community.

Prof. Jean Paysant, Head of the Rehabilitation Unit, Nancy University Hospital, Medical Director of the Regional Institute of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, UGECAM of the North-East of France

 

 

When innovation and research reinforce the solidarity of the health care system for the best treatment of patients in the midst of a health crisis, this is an exemplary project in many respects!

Prof. Bruno Chenuel, CHRU Nancy, Professor of Physiology, Head of Department, University Centre for Sports Medicine and Adapted Physical Activity and Department of Respiratory Function Examinations, University of Lorraine

Serena Ivaldi talks about the genesis and development of ExoTurn

Initially, I sought to understand the problems associated with the management of patients affected by the Covid-19 epidemic at the Nancy CHRU. My friendship with Dr. Settembre certainly helped a lot: even though our areas of knowledge and way of working are different, we understood how to work together fairly quickly. Dr. Nicla Settembre, Prof. Bruno Chenuel and Prof. Jean Paysant detailed the specificities of the management of patients with a severe form of coronavirus respiratory infection and the physical demands placed on the doctors and intensive care nurses who had to perform the prone position maneuvers on curarized patients. Given the large number of patients to be treated at the peak of the epidemic, they described a situation akin to "industrial production", resulting in a great deal of not only physical but also mental fatigue for the nursing staff, in addition to permanent stress. The situation seemed to me to be very similar to that of workers in industry, who perform tasks that are often strenuous, repetitive and exhausting. We are studying how to help them with robots and exoskeletons in our European project AnDy. On the basis of our experience, using exoskeletons to help medical staff in their physical efforts without introducing new robots seemed feasible.

So, I contacted Jean Theurel from INRS with whom we had collaborated on exoskeletons during the AnDy project. His team and his colleagues from the "Man at Work" department joined the project with great enthusiasm. The first step was to compare a number of potential exoskeletons to find the best candidate. We carried out the tests in a simulated situation, thanks to the collaboration of the Virtual Hospital of Lorraine (CUESim). Volunteers equipped with exoskeletons performed the prone position maneuvers on a Covid-19 patient simulator. Pauline Maurice, a CNRS researcher in our team and former post-doctoral student on the AnDy project, performed an analysis of the movement without and with exoskeletons. Following the tests, we identified a passive exoskeleton as the best candidate for use in resuscitation.

The second step was the use in ICU, in real life situation. Two volunteer medical doctors used the exoskeleton during 10 PP maneuvers. Initial results were very encouraging: the two physicians who received physical support said they would adopt the technology. To our knowledge, this was the first time an exoskeleton was used in an ICU to assist medical staff!

A first scientific article describing the pilot study and the results in ICU was submitted and accepted in a medical journal.

Today, the project continues in order to more rigorously evaluate the benefits of the exoskeletons during prone positioning manuevers, with a view to future adoption of the technology in medical practice. Finally, we have acquired a new exoskeleton model that should be even more practical for physicians and therefore better integrated into their care activities.

 

We are delighted with the usefulness and positive outcome of this collaboration and hope that the idea can also help medical teams in other hospitals.

Dr Nicla Settembre, Vascular Surgeon at Nancy University Hospital & Virtual Hospital of Lorraine

Utiliser les exosquelettes pour aider le personnel soignant en réanimation grâce au projet ExoTurn

Date :
Mis à jour le 24/06/2020
Une équipe pluridisciplinaire de médecins, de chercheurs en robotique et d'ergonomes du CHRU de Nancy, de l'université de Lorraine, d’Inria, du CNRS et de l'INRS, a collaboré pour fournir des exosquelettes au personnel médical travaillant avec les patients Covid-19 dans les services de réanimation médicale, afin de soulager leurs contraintes physiques. Serena Ivaldi, chercheuse Inria au Laboratoire lorrain de recherche en informatique et ses applications (Loria - CNRS/Université de Lorraine/Inria), et le Dr Nicla Settembre, du Centre Hospitalier Régional et Universitaire de Nancy, de l'INSERM et de l'université de Lorraine, ont mis en place le projet "ExoTurn" pour aider physiquement les personnels soignants impliqués dans le retournement en décubitus ventral (DV) des patients, une opération très contraignante pour le dos. Les résultats de leur étude pilote viennent d'être publiés dans la revue "Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medecine".
Mission Covid-19 ExoTurn
Laurent Phialy / HVL / UL

Soulager les unités de soins intensifs

Les unités de soins intensifs de la plupart des hôpitaux ont récemment dû faire face à une augmentation du nombre de patients souffrant du Syndrome de Détresse Respiratoire Aiguë (SDRA) grave lié à la Covid-19, et devant être placés dans une position spécifique pour faciliter leur respiration. La ventilation des patients en Décubitus Ventral (DV) est cruciale pour le traitement. Il s’agit de positionner les patients couchés sur le ventre par une manœuvre de retournement compliquée. Chaque procédure de DV nécessite qu'environ 6 membres du personnel médical formés au geste restent le buste penché vers l'avant pendant plusieurs minutes, ce qui entraîne une charge physique au niveau lombaire et, potentiellement, des blessures.

Des équipes spécifiques de retournement en position ventrale ont été déployées dans les hôpitaux de Nancy du 23 mars au 24 avril 2020 dans leur unité de soins intensifs étendue (de 22 à 46 lits). "Pendant cette période, 75 volontaires se sont relayés pour disposer chaque jour d’une à trois équipes de 5 personnes et ont effectué en moyenne entre 8 et 15 placements par jour, ce qui correspond à un poids total manipulé supérieur à 30 tonnes", explique le Pr Bruno Chenuel, médecin coordinateur des équipes de DV. L'analyse cinématique effectuée par le Loria montre que le personnel médical peut passer environ 40% du temps avec le buste penché de plus de 20 degrés vers l'avant lorsqu'il est placé à côté du patient, et peut maintenir une posture statique avec une importante flexion du tronc pendant plusieurs minutes pour sécuriser la tête du patient et éviter l'extubation. "Nous avons enregistré les gestes de DV avec une combinaison Xsens et effectué une analyse biomécanique du mouvement avec le logiciel AnyBody ", explique Pauline Maurice, chercheur CNRS au Loria. Même sans manipulation de charges, de telles postures provoquent une pression et des blessures potentielles dans le bas du dos. "C'est une situation typique où les exosquelettes de soutien dorsal peuvent être envisagés pour améliorer les conditions de travail, ce qui constitue la mission principale de l’INRS", expliquent Jean Theurel et Laurent Claudon, experts en physiologie et biomécanique de l’INRS. Ces exosquelettes sont généralement déployés dans le secteur industriel ; il existe très peu de rapports sur leur utilisation dans le système de santé et aucune utilisation dans les unités de soins intensifs.

Porteurs : Serena Ivaldi (Inria NGE, Equipe LARSEN) et Dr Nicla Settembre (CHRU Nancy)

Partenaires : CHRU Nancy, INRS, Hôpital Virtuel de Lorraine

#réanimation #fatiguedesoignants #exosquelettes

 

"À notre connaissance, les exosquelettes n'ont jamais été utilisés dans les unités de soins intensifs ou en relation avec la Covid-19", explique Serena Ivaldi. "Afin d'étudier leur utilité, nous avons d'abord évalué différents exosquelettes de soutien dorsal en simulation, c’est-à-dire, sur des soignants qui effectuaient la manœuvre sur un mannequin, avant de déployer l'exosquelette sélectionné sur deux volontaires effectuant le DV en situation réelle dans une unité de soins intensifs". Le Centre de simulation CUESim de l'Hôpital Virtuel de Lorraine (HVL) a fourni une salle de soins intensifs simulée avec un simulateur-patient reproduisant les mêmes conditions que celles auxquelles les médecins sont confrontés dans la vie réelle. "Le mannequin a été intubé et a été maintenu en vie, afin de reproduire les conditions compliquées des patients Covid-19 pris en charge en réanimation", explique Mme Hind Hani, Ingénieure d’Etudes Biomédicales et directrice opérationnelle du CUESim/HVL. Après les premières expériences au centre de simulation, l'équipe ExoTurn a sélectionné l’exosquelette passif Laevo. Le personnel médical utilisant cet exosquelette pendant les manœuvres de DV dans l'unité de soins intensifs a perçu un soulagement physique dans le bas du dos et a clairement indiqué son intention d'adopter une telle technologie.

 

Ce travail est d'une importance cruciale pour l'amélioration des conditions de travail du personnel médical, et plus généralement pour la communauté médicale et scientifique.

Pr Jean Paysant, Chef du pôle rééducation, CHRU Nancy, directeur médical de l'Institut régional de médecine physique et de réadaptation, UGECAM du Nord-Est

 

Quand l’innovation et la recherche viennent en renfort de la solidarité soignante pour le meilleur traitement des patients en pleine crise sanitaire, voilà un projet exemplaire sur beaucoup d’aspects !

Pr Bruno Chenuel, CHRU Nancy, Professeur de Physiologie, Chef de Service, Centre Universitaire de Médecine du Sport et Activité Physique Adaptée et Service des Examens de la Fonction Respiratoire, Université de Lorraine

Serena Ivaldi parle de la genèse et du développement d'ExoTurn

Dans un premier temps, j’ai cherché à comprendre les problèmes liés à la prise en charge des patients atteints par l’épidémie de Covid-19, au CHRU Nancy. Le fait de se connaître personnellement avec le Dr Settembre a certainement beaucoup aidé : même si nos domaines de connaissance et notre façon de travailler sont différents, nous avons compris comment fonctionner ensemble assez rapidement. Les Dr Nicla Settembre, Pr Bruno Chenuel et Pr Jean Paysant nous ont détaillé les spécificités de prise en charge des patients présentant une forme sévère d’infection respiratoire au coronavirus et les sollicitations physiques auxquelles étaient sujets les médecins et les soignants en réanimation devant effectuer les manœuvres de décubitus ventral sur les patients curarisés. Étant donné le nombre important de patients à traiter lors du pic de l’épidémie, ils décrivaient une situation apparentée à une "production industrielle", entraînant beaucoup de fatigue non seulement physique mais aussi mentale pour le personnel soignant, en plus du stress permanent. La situation me semblait tout à fait similaire à celle des ouvriers dans l’industrie, qui effectuent des tâches souvent pénibles, répétitives et harassantes. Nous étudions comment les aider avec des robots et des exosquelettes dans notre projet européen AnDy. Utiliser des exosquelettes pour aider le personnel médical dans ses efforts physiques sans introduire des nouveaux robots nous semblait ainsi pertinent.

J’ai donc contacté Jean Theurel de l’INRS avec qui nous avions justement collaboré autour des exosquelettes durant le projet AnDy. Son équipe et ses collègues du département "Homme au Travail" ont rejoint le projet avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme.

La première étape a consisté à comparer un certain nombre d'exosquelettes potentiels pour trouver le meilleur candidat. Nous avons effectué les tests en situation simulée, grâce à la collaboration de l’Hôpital Virtuel de Lorraine (CUESim). Des volontaires équipés d’exosquelettes ont effectué les manœuvres de décubitus ventral sur un mannequin simulateur de patient Covid-19. Pauline Maurice, chercheuse CNRS dans notre équipe et ancienne postdoctorante sur le projet AnDy, a effectué une analyse du mouvement sans et avec exosquelettes. À la suite des tests, nous avons identifié un exosquelette passif comme le meilleur candidat à l’utilisation en réanimation.

La deuxième étape a été l’utilisation en réanimation, en situation réelle. Deux médecins volontaires ont utilisé l’exosquelette au cours de 10 manœuvres de mise en DV. Les premiers résultats sont très encourageants : les deux médecins qui ont bénéficié du soutien physique ont déclaré qu’ils adopteraient cette technologie. À notre connaissance, c’était la première fois qu’un exosquelette était utilisé dans un service de réanimation pour assister le personnel médical !

Un premier article scientifique décrivant l’étude pilote et les résultats en réanimation a été soumis et accepté dans un journal médical.

Aujourd’hui, le projet se poursuit de façon à évaluer de manière plus rigoureuse les bénéfices apportés par les exosquelettes pendant les manœuvres de décubitus ventral, en vue d’une future adoption de la technologie dans la pratique médicale. Enfin, nous avons acquis un nouveau modèle d’exosquelette qui devrait être encore plus pratique pour les médecins et donc mieux intégré dans leurs activités de soins.

 

Nous sommes ravis de l'utilité et du résultat positif de cette collaboration et nous espérons que l'idée pourra également aider les équipes médicales d'autres hôpitaux.

Dr Nicla Settembre, Chirurgienne vasculaire au CHRU de Nancy & Hôpital Virtuel de Lorraine