General public applications

Flit Sport, personalised training for runners

Date:
Changed on 27/07/2021
Flit Sport is the result of the encounter and collaboration between Pierre, a Mines ParisTech Engineer and Doctor in Sports Science, and Aurélien, a Doctor in Computer Science specialised in machine learning. Their shared passion for sport and entrepreneurship led to the creation of a new start-up that offers personalised training programmes for runners. We talked to Pierre Gilfriche, company founder.

Smartphone qui affiche l'application Flit Sport
© Flit Sport

Could you describe your activities?

At Flit Sport we design, develop and market an online app that offers personalised training plans for runners using artificial intelligence. We take account of the athlete's objective, physical abilities and availability to create customised plans.

What are the technological challenges facing the sector? And what’s next for the start-up?

The biggest technological challenge lies in defining each runner’s profile accurately. Training data is readily available. Today, a large majority of runners use apps to track their runs and they often have smart watches or heart rate monitors. These tools help us understand them better.

When we can access this data, the challenge is being able to analyse it properly and interpret the rest. There is a big gap between what we are capable of measuring and what really goes on at a physiological level (tiredness linked to non-measurable factors, different individual profiles) and we still have relatively little understanding of the physiological processes linked to training. There is currently a lot of research on the subject, but there is still a long way to go.

The next phase of the project is to launch the app among beta testers (August 2021) which will be followed by a round of fundraising with business angels to accelerate the subsequent marketing phases (late 2021).

What did you do before setting up the company? What led to this start-up project? What support did you receive from Inria?

Photo de Pierre Gilfriche et Aurélien Appriou
© Flit Sport A. Fournier
Pierre Gilfriche (on the left) and Aurélien Appriou

Before setting up the company, I studied at an engineering school (Mines Paristech) before doing a CIFRE PhD (University of Bordeaux - CATIE) in sports science at the STAPS in Bordeaux. I was supported by the student incubator of the University of Bordeaux (UBeeLab) for a year and then joined Unitec through the SporTech incubator and Inria Startup Studio in parallel. Aurélien worked in several start-ups with his Master’s in computer science before carrying out a PhD in the POTIOC project team at the Bordeaux-Sud-Ouest Inria centre. His PhD focused on classifying neurophysiological states through machine learning. As a top-level triathlete, it was only natural that he should be interested in the subject!

The project evolved into its current state gradually, but the basic idea mainly came from our research, knowledge and shared interest in the world of sport. After deciding we wanted to launch a business in the field of sport and data analysis, we identified the need through discussions with numerous sportsmen and women with different profiles and backgrounds.

Inria’s support has been key at different levels. In addition to the scientific aspect of supervising Aurélien's PhD, the Startup Studio put us in contact with research engineers who worked on the technical aspect, besides covering my salary and providing invaluable support by offering advice on all matters connected with the business side of the project.

Applications grand public

Flit Sport, la course à pied personnalisée

Date:
Mis à jour le 27/07/2021
Flit Sport est issue de la rencontre et de la collaboration entre Pierre, ingénieur des Mines ParisTech et docteur en sciences du sport, et Aurélien, docteur en informatique et spécialiste du machine learning. De leur amour du sport et de leur intérêt pour l’entrepreneuriat est née la toute jeune startup qui propose des programmes d'entraînement personnalisés à destination des coureurs. Rencontre avec Pierre Gilfriche, son fondateur.
Smartphone qui affiche l'application Flit Sport
© Flit Sport

Pourriez-vous décrire vos activités ?

Avec Flit Sport on conçoit, développe et commercialise une application Web basée sur une intelligence artificielle, qui propose des plans d’entraînement individualisés pour les pratiquants de course à pied. Pour créer ces accompagnements personnalisés, nous prenons en compte l’objectif de l’athlète, ses capacités physiques et ses disponibilités.

Quels sont les défis technologiques dans le secteur ? Quelles prochaines étapes et enjeux pour la startup ?

Le principal défi technologique est lié à la bonne identification du profil de chaque coureur. Les données liées à l’entraînement sont complètement disponibles. Aujourd’hui, une grande majorité des coureurs utilisent une application pour suivre leurs sorties et possèdent souvent des montres connectées ou des capteurs cardiaques. Des outils qui nous permettent de mieux les comprendre.

À partir du moment où on a accès à ces informations, la difficulté c’est de savoir bien les analyser et d’interpréter le reste. Il y a un bel écart entre ce que l’on sait mesurer et ce qui se passe vraiment au niveau physiologique (fatigue liée à des paramètres non mesurables, profils personnels différents), et en plus de ça les processus physiologiques liés à l’entraînement sont encore mal connus. Aujourd’hui, il y a beaucoup de travaux de recherche sur le sujet, mais il reste encore un grand chemin à parcourir.

La prochaine étape du projet est la sortie de l’application auprès de bêta-testeurs (août 2021), puis une levée de fonds auprès de business angels pour accélérer les phases suivantes de commercialisation (fin 2021).

 

Quel a été votre parcours avant la création de l'entreprise ? Qu'est-ce qui a motivé ce projet de startup ? Quel a été l'appui d'Inria ?

Photo de Pierre Gilfriche et Aurélien Appriou
© Flit Sport A. Fournier
Pierre Gilfriche (à gauche) et Aurélien Appriou

Avant la création de l’entreprise, j’ai fait une école d’ingénieur (Mines Paristech), puis une thèse CIFRE (université de Bordeaux – CATIE) en sciences du sport avec les STAPS de Bordeaux. J’ai été accompagné pendant un an par l’incubateur étudiant de l’université de Bordeaux (UBeeLab). Par la suite, j’ai intégré Unitec dans le cadre de l’incubateur SporTech et en parallèle l’Inria Startup Studio.

Aurélien a travaillé dans plusieurs startups avec son master en informatique puis il a réalisé son doctorat dans l’équipe-projet POTIOC au sein du centre Inria de Bordeaux Sud-Ouest. La thématique de sa thèse reposait sur la classification d’états neurophysiologiques par machine learning. Par ailleurs, en tant que triathlète de haut niveau, il est passionné par le sujet.

Le projet a évolué progressivement vers sa forme actuelle, mais l’idée de base est venue surtout de nos travaux de recherche et de notre connaissance et intérêt communs pour le milieu du sport. Une fois l’envie d’entreprendre sur la thématique sport / analyse de données identifiée, c’est surtout en échangeant avec beaucoup de sportifs, de profils et d’horizons différents, que nous avons identifié le besoin auquel il nous fallait répondre.

L’appui d’Inria s’est illustré à différents niveaux. Outre l’aspect scientifique en encadrant la thèse d’Aurélien, l’accompagnement du Startup Studio a permis l’intervention d’ingénieurs de recherche sur l’aspect technique, la prise en charge de mon salaire, et un soutien fort sur le plan entrepreneurial via des conseils sur toutes les questions business liées au projet.