Startups

Falco: employing cutting-edge sensor technology in sailing

Date:
Changed on 11/03/2021
Like practically every other sector, sailing has undergone a digital revolution. This was the direction Falco chose to plot a course in, developing wireless sensors that have played a major role in the digital revolution in sailing.
Port de Sète
© Thomas Watteyne

 

Launched in 2019, Falco has revolutionised security for ports and the way in which they are managed, developing a wide range of digital services centred around wireless sensors. Whether it’s notifications on berth occupancy for streamlining port traffic, surveillance sensors used to detect on-board incidents or white-label mobile apps for yachtsmen/women and port staff, the start-up has helped to take sailing to the shores of the digital revolution.

Co-founded by four individuals, Elsa Nicol (CEO), Keoma Laguna (CTO), Olivier Laporte, (an expert in the maritime sector and head of customer relations), and Thomas Watteyne (scientific advisor), the idea for the start-up was born within the EVA research team at the Inria Paris research centre. EVA, which has Thomas Watteyne as its director of research and with whom Keoma Laguna studied for a PhD in wireless computer networks, develops end-to-end solutions centred around a range of Internet of Things technology.

These solutions are deployed through a number of international partnerships as part of research projects in sectors ranging from smart agriculture and environmental measurement to smart construction. In 2017-2018, one of these deployments involved creating a “smart marina” in Cap d’Agde - which is how Falco came about.

In order to develop reliable technology, the team took part in a “Technology Transfer Initiative”, through which they were able to build up the initial capital they needed to recruit an engineer and to take classes in business education. During this period, the Transfer, Innovation and Partnerships Department at Inria Paris helped them to establish ties with its network of incubators, investors and entrepreneurs.

Verbatim

The support Inria provided us right from the off was incredible. Start-up culture is in Inria’s DNA, and they have all the resources needed to get you on the right path.

Auteur

Thomas Watteyne

Poste

Director of research of the EVA research team and co-founder of Falco

The start-up recently finished raising €1.1 million in funds and has been awarded a number of prestigious prizes, including the prize for the best innovation at the Paris Boat Show. With twelve employees and a branch in the USA, the start-up has spread its wings, but remains in close contact with Inria. They have strong ties with the EVA research team from which they emerged, with whom they have been working on a PhD project launched back in the autumn.

Verbatim

Inria is a fantastic incubator for knowledge and technology that is directly applicable to what it is we do, from electronics and networks to machine learning. We are very proud to be part of the Inria family.

Auteur

Thomas Watteyne

Poste

Director of research of the EVA research team and co-founder of Falco

Falco recently celebrated its second birthday. Their technology is currently used in seven ports, but in five years’ time the start-up is hoping to be a global leader in the smart port sector.

 

The latest news from Falco

An idea, a project... ? Talk to the Transfer, Innovation and Partnerships Department at the Inria Paris research centre

Falco : l’innovation technologique des capteurs au service de la plaisance

Date:
Mis à jour le 11/03/2021
Les ports de plaisance connaissent, comme la plupart des secteurs, une révolution numérique. Falco a choisi de naviguer sur ces eaux et de proposer des technologies de capteurs sans fil pour participer activement à la transition numérique de la plaisance.
Port de Sète
© Thomas Watteyne

 

Créé en 2019, Falco révolutionne la gestion et la sécurité des infrastructures portuaires en proposant une large offre de services numériques reposant sur des capteurs sans fil. Notification d’occupation des postes d'amarrage pour faciliter la gestion des flux portuaires, détection d’incidents à bord grâce à des capteurs de surveillance ou applications mobiles en marque blanche pour les plaisanciers et pour le personnel portuaire : la startup a pris le cap de la transition numérique de la plaisance !

Cofondée par quatre personnes, Elsa Nicol (CEO), Keoma Laguna (CTO), Olivier Laporte, (expert du milieu maritime, responsable de la relation client), et Thomas Watteyne (conseiller scientifique), c’est au sein de l’équipe de recherche EVA (Inria de Paris) qu’est née l’idée de cette startup. L'équipe EVA, dont Thomas Watteyne est directeur de recherche et Keoma Laguna, alors doctorant spécialisé dans les réseaux informatiques sans fil, développe des solutions de bout en bout basées sur une gamme de technologies de l’Internet des Objets (IoT).

Ces solutions sont déployées à travers différents partenariats internationaux dans des projets de recherche allant de l'agriculture intelligente à la mesure environnementale et à la construction intelligente. En 2017-2018, l’un de ces déploiements consistait à créer une "Smart Marina" au port du Cap d’Adge c’est ainsi que Falco est né !

Pour arriver à une technologie fiabilisée, l’équipe a fait partie d'une "Action de Transfert Technologique", qui lui a permis la constitution d’un capital initial afin d'embaucher un ingénieur et de suivre des cours d’entrepreneuriat. Tout au long de cette période, le service transfert innovation et partenariats de Paris lui a permis de créer des liens avec son réseau d'incubateurs, d'investisseurs et autres entrepreneurs.

Verbatim

Le soutien qu'Inria nous a apporté dès le début a été absolument remarquable. La culture startup fait partie de l’ADN d'Inria, et Inria dispose de toutes les ressources nécessaires pour vous mettre sur la bonne voie.

Auteur

Thomas Watteyne

Poste

Directeur de recherche de l’équipe EVA et cofondateur de Falco

Aujourd’hui, la startup vient de finaliser une levée de fonds de 1,1M€, a reçu de nombreux prix prestigieux, dont le prix du meilleur service au concours Innovation du Salon nautique de Paris. Elle compte douze collaborateurs et une filiale aux États-Unis : la jeune pousse a largement pris racine, mais l’interaction avec Inria reste très étroite. La startup entretient un lien fort avec l'équipe de recherche EVA qui l’a vue naître, avec qui elle collabore notamment sur un projet de thèse lancé l'automne dernier.

Verbatim

Inria est un fantastique incubateur de connaissances et de techniques directement applicables à ce que nous faisons, de l'électronique, jusqu’à l'apprentissage automatique en passant par les réseaux. Nous sommes très fiers de faire partie de la famille Inria.

Auteur

Thomas Watteyne

Poste

Directeur de recherche de l’équipe EVA et cofondateur de Falco

Falco vient de fêter ses deux ans d'existence. Si aujourd’hui sa technologie est déployée dans sept ports, elle espère dans cinq ans figurer parmi les leaders, au niveau international aux côtés de nombreux ports "intelligents".

 

Suivre les actualités de Falco

Une idée, un projet... ? Parlez-en avec le Service Transfert, Innovation & Partenariats du centre de Paris