Inria Chile
© Inria / photo F. Vilches

Centre Inria
Chile

Created in 2012, Inria Chile is the first Inria centre outside France. It is a driving force for technological innovation and knowledge transfer through effective collaboration with companies, institutions and start-ups to meet the challenges of the digital revolution. The centre aims to inspire and train future generations of scientists and engineers to play a leading role in this transformation. It also promotes the R&D activities of French companies and start-ups in Chile and Latin America.
Nayat Sanchez-Pi

Nayat Sanchez-Pi

Director of Inria Chile

Positioning & Strategic Issues

Inria Chile focuses its activities on five priority areas:

  • data, knowledge, security and confidentiality;
  • artificial intelligence and autonomous systems;
  • interaction, visualization and multimedia;
  • modelling and simulation, optimization and control;
  • systems, networks and the Internet of Things.

These axes are integrated in several application areas that are particularly related to Chile's unique characteristics such as astronomy, mining, renewable energy, logistics and retail, disaster resistance, industry 4.0, smart agriculture and security, to name a few. Inria Chile is at the forefront of technological developments in these fields, with more than 40 project teams actively collaborating between France and Chile.

Ecosystem & Partnerships

In 2009, the Chilean government and CORFO InnovaChile (Corporacion de Fomento de la Producción) launched a program to create "international centres of excellence for competitiveness" in Chile. Building on its relationships with the Chilean ecosystem, Inria proposes the creation of a research and technology transfer centre in digital science and technology, the CIRIC (Communication and Information Research and Innovation Center). Officially created in 2012 in partnership with Chile's leading universities, CIRIC aims to develop research and development activities with industry to increase Chile's competitiveness,

The centre implements a programme with eight major partner universities: Universidad de Chile, Pontifica Universidad Catolica de Chile, Universidad Tecnica Federico Santa Maria, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso, Universidad de Valparaiso, Universidad Adolfo Ibañez, Universidad Diego Portales, Universidad de la Frontera, Universidad de Concepcion.

Collaborations and linkages with the innovation and entrepreneurship ecosystem are actively promoted and encouraged, as indicated in the mission. The mechanisms for achieving such relationships can be classified into three groups: collaborative association with companies, government agencies and other institutional actors, the advanced technology training centre and the technology studio dedicated to start-ups.

Collaborative partnerships can be implemented by establishing joint innovation laboratories, research and development contracts, direct advice or technology services and licenses.

Contact and more 

 

    Astronomy, mining, energy... so many projects made possible by the richness of the South American territory

Inria Chile

Centre Inria
Chile

Créé en 2012, Inria Chile est le premier centre Inria hors de France. Il est un moteur de l’innovation technologique et du transfert de connaissances au travers d’une collaboration efficace avec les entreprises, les institutions et les startups pour relever les défis de la révolution numérique. Le centre vise à inspirer et à former les générations futures de scientifiques et d’ingénieurs afin qu’ils jouent un rôle de premier plan dans cette transformation. Il permet également de favoriser les activités de R&D des sociétés et des startups françaises au Chili et en Amérique latine.
Nayat Sanchez-Pi

Nayat Sanchez-Pi

Directrice du centre de recherche

Positionnement & Enjeux stratégiques

Inria Chile concentre ses activités autour de cinq axes prioritaires :

  • données, connaissances, sécurité et confidentialité ;
  • intelligence artificielle et systèmes autonomes ;
  • interaction, visualisation et multimédia ;
  • modélisation et simulation, optimisation et contrôle ;
  • systèmes, réseaux et Internet des objets.

Ces axes sont intégrés dans plusieurs domaines d’application qui sont particulièrement liés aux caractéristiques uniques du Chili comme l’astronomie, l’exploitation minière, les énergies renouvelables, la logistique et la vente au détail, la résistance aux catastrophes, l’industrie 4.0, l’agriculture intelligente et la sécurité, pour n’en citer que quelques-uns. Inria Chile est à la pointe de l’évolution technologique dans ces domaines, avec plus de 40 équipes-projets qui collaborent activement entre la France et le Chili.

Écosystème & Partenaires

En 2009, le gouvernement chilien et la CORFO InnovaChile (Corporacion de Fomento de la Produccion), lancent un programme pour la création au Chili de « centres d’excellence internationaux pour la compétitivité ». Fort de ses relations avec l’écosystème chilien, Inria propose la création d’un centre de recherche et de transfert technologique dans les sciences et technologies du numérique, le CIRIC (Communication and Information Research and Innovation Center). Créé officiellement en 2012 en partenariat avec les principales universités chiliennes, le CIRIC a pour objectif de développer des activités de recherche et développement avec des industriels, pour augmenter la compétitivité du Chili,

Le centre met en application un programme avec huit grandes universités partenaires : Universidad de Chile, Pontifica Universidad Catolica de Chile, Universidad Tecnica Federico Santa Maria, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso, Universidad de Valparaiso, Universidad Adolfo Ibañez, Universidad Diego Portales, Universidad de la Frontera, Universidad de Concepcion.

Les collaborations et les liens avec l’écosystème de l’innovation et de l’entrepreneuriat sont activement favorisés et encouragés, comme indiqué dans la mission. Les mécanismes permettant d’atteindre pareilles relations peuvent être classés dans trois groupes : l’association collaborative avec des entreprises, des organismes gouvernementaux et d’autres acteurs institutionnels, le centre de formation en technologies avancées et le studio technologique dédié aux startups.

Des associations collaboratives peuvent être mises en œuvre en établissant des laboratoires d’innovation conjoints, des contrats de recherche et développement, des conseils directs ou des services et des licences de technologies.

En savoir plus sur Inria Chile 

Astronomie, exploitation minière, énergie.... découvrez les projets du centre Inria Chile