Human-Computer Interaction

Touch Sensity, transforming materials into sensitive surfaces

Date:
Changed on 15/03/2021
The technology developed by Touch Sensity is capable of making objects and materials sensitive to physical interactions. The start-up came about through Anna Pugach, who developed the technology as part of her research and during her time spent at Inria, meeting Mehdi El Hafed, a specialist in entrepreneurship who assisted her in conquering her market.
Femme vêtue d'un haut comportant des capteurs sur la manche
© Inria / Photo C. Morel

Could you describe what it is you do ?

Logo Touch Sensity
© Touch Sensity

The technology developed by our start-up, Touch Sensity, is capable of making objects and materials sensitive to physical interactions (irrespective of whether the material is hard, soft or a liquid). This non-intrusive technology gathers data on the pressure applied to material, as well as how it is extended or distorted or any damage it sustains, while respecting the material’s topology and without the use of sensors.  Through a combination of an embedded system connected to the material and an artificial intelligence system or parametric models, all physical interactions with the material can be modelled in real-time. This makes it possible to transform the material into a sensitive surface, in addition to linking the data obtained to the environment or controlling external systems using these same interactions. This innovative technology can be adapted to a range of different applications, such as predictive maintenance, sensor systems, intelligent composite materials, HMIs, etc.

What are the technological challenges facing the sector ? And what’s next for the start-up ?

There is growing demand for intelligent materials, whether for creating connected materials or developing data acquisition systems. From detecting impact on or changes to the shape of a structure in predictive maintenance and designing prosthetic limbs that restore the sense of touch to developing connected walls and floors for so-called “smart” homes, developing new solutions in the smart materials sector will be one of the major challenges in coming years. As was the case with the emergence of touchscreens, the development of connected and sensitive objects and materials will add a new dimension to human-machine interactions and help with the acquisition of a whole host of information, including system operating states.

However, there are currently three problems standing in the way of smart materials:

  • How can the behaviour of a material or an object, or its interactions or level of wear, be understood, analysed and modelled in real-time ?
  • Sensors, which are widely used in the sector, can only be used for one-off measurements, and are hampered by their rigidity and fragility. How can a flexible and durable system be used to get a comprehensive view of a material or an object ?
  • How can a system capable of adapting to a dynamic environment be designed, without being invasive ?

These are the three problems that we at Touch Sensity have sought to address using our Touch Tech technology, which involves a full acquisition and processing system connected directly to the material or object that is to be made sensitive. Over the next two years, the goal for Touch Sensity will be to perfect this technology and work with manufacturers to validate the suitability of this innovative sensor system by evaluating it in an operational context.

What did you in your career before ? What prompted you to launch the start-up ? What support did Inria provide ?

The Touch Sensity project came about as a result of a meeting between Anna Pugach and Mehdi El Hafed. Anna had developed promising new technology and Mehdi had experience in entrepreneurship and skills in business development. Their unusual career paths proved to be a great fit, leading to the creation of Touch Sensity.

Portrait Anna Pugach
© Touch Sensity
Anna Pugach, co-founder of Touch Sensity

This project was a continuation of the research Dr Anna Pugach had carried out during her PhD at Cergy-Pontoise University (on the development of artificial skin for robots) and, at Inria in Bordeaux, on the development of connected clothing capable of measuring joint angles for the prevention of musculoskeletal disorders. This then led to the Touch Tech technology developed by the company.

The research carried out by Dr Anna Pugach had established her reputation as an expert in the field of connected sensitive interfaces. Following discussions with manufacturers and experts in the field, it was agreed that launching a start-up would be the best way of showcasing her work.

During her time spent with Inria, Dr Pugach was supported by the Institute’s Transfer, Innovation and Partnerships Division, particularly Cédric Quinot, head of start-up support, who :

  • provided pre-launch support with technological exploration (identifying use cases, matching tech with specific market problems, etc.)
  • provided project support, including market validation, technical feasibility, the drafting of a business model and the technical roadmap
  • helped to develop and maintain local networks, including centres of excellence, incubators, etc.
  • facilitated participation in national initiatives linked to transfer and industrial partnerships, as well as meetings and events hosted by Inria’s transfer network (sharing experience, best practice, project development and analysis, etc.)

 

Portrait Mehdi Elhafed
© Touch Sensity
Mehdi El Hafed, co-founder of Touch Sensity

The professional meetings made possible through events such as Viva Technology and Bordeaux Tech Day, organised by Bordeaux Technowest, plus market research carried out in January 2020 by an independent firm, confirmed that many companies were interested in using this technology. This convinced Mehdi El Hafed that his decision to support Anna Pugach with the launch of Touch Sensity was the right one.

The project is currently being supported by the incubator Bordeaux Technowest at the Aeroparc site, a support centre for the aerospace and defence industries.

Touch Sensity, transformer les matériaux en surfaces sensibles

Date:
Mis à jour le 10/03/2021
Touch Sensity développe une technologie capable de rendre les objets et les matériaux sensibles aux interactions physiques. La startup est issue de la rencontre entre Anna Pugach, qui a développé la technologie au cours de ses travaux de recherche et de son parcours au sein d’Inria, et Mehdi El Hafed, spécialiste de l’entrepreneuriat, qui l’accompagne à la conquête de son marché.
Femme vêtue d'un haut comportant des capteurs sur la manche
© Inria / Photo C. Morel

Pourriez-vous décrire vos activités ?

Logo Touch Sensity
© Touch Sensity

Touch Sensity est une startup développant une technologie capable de rendre les objets et les matériaux sensibles aux interactions physiques (que le matériau soit rigide, souple ou liquide). Cette technologie non intrusive permet de récupérer les données issues de la pression, de l’extension et de la déformation exercées sur un matériau ainsi que les endommagements subis, tout en respectant sa topologie et sans utiliser de capteur. 

La combinaison d'un système embarqué connecté au matériau avec une intelligence artificielle ou des modèles paramétriques permet de localiser et de modéliser en temps réel toutes les interactions physiques effectuées sur le matériau. Il est alors possible de transformer le matériau en surface sensible, d’associer les données obtenues avec l’environnement ou de contrôler des systèmes externes grâce à ces mêmes interactions. Cette technologie innovante est adaptable à de nombreuses applications telles que la maintenance prédictive, les systèmes de captation, les matériaux composites intelligents, les interfaces homme-machine (IHM)

Quels sont les défis technologiques dans le secteur ? Quels prochaines étapes et enjeux pour la startup ?

La demande en matériaux intelligents, qu’elle se situe dans la création de matériaux connectés ou dans la mise en place des systèmes d’acquisition de données, est en pleine croissance. Depuis la détection des impacts et déformation d’une structure en maintenance prédictive, jusqu’au développement de murs et sols connectés pour une habitation « intelligente », en passant par la mise au point de prothèses de membres redonnant le sens du toucher, le développement de nouvelles solutions dans le domaine des matériaux intelligents constitue un des enjeux majeurs des prochaines années. Tout comme l’apparition des écrans tactiles, le développement des matériaux et des objets sensibles et connectés permettra d’apporter une nouvelle dimension aux interactions Homme-système et favorisera l’acquisition de nombreuses informations, notamment sur l’état de fonctionnement des systèmes.

Néanmoins, actuellement, trois problématiques s’opposent au développement des matériaux intelligents :

  • Comment connaître, analyser et modéliser les comportements, les interactions ainsi que les usures d’un matériau ou d’un objet en temps réel ?
  • Les capteurs, qui sont couramment utilisés dans le domaine, ne permettent d’obtenir qu’une mesure ponctuelle, et présentent une rigidité et une fragilité importantes. Comment obtenir une vision globale d’un matériau ou d’un objet, à l’aide d’un système flexible et robuste ?
  • Comment concevoir un système qui peut s’adapter à un environnement dynamique sans être invasif ?

C’est à ces trois problématiques que l’entreprise Touch Sensity se propose de répondre, à l’aide de sa technologie Touch Tech, qui consistera en un système complet d’acquisition et de traitement directement connecté au matériau ou objet que l’on souhaite rendre sensible. L’objectif de Touch Sensity pour ces deux prochaines années va être de perfectionner la technologie et de valider avec les industriels la pertinence de ce système de captation innovant en l’évaluant dans un contexte opérationnel.

Quel a été votre parcours avant la création de l'entreprise ? Qu'est-ce qui a motivé ce projet de startup ? Quel a été l'appui d'Inria ?

Le projet Touch Sensity est issu de la rencontre entre Anna Pugach et Mehdi El Hafed. Anna a développé une technologie prometteuse, et Mehdi possède l’expérience de l’entrepreneuriat et les compétences en business développement. C’est donc de la complémentarité de leurs deux parcours atypiques qu’a débuté Touch Sensity.

Portrait Anna Pugach
© Touch Sensity
Anna Pugach, cofondatrice de Touch Sensity

Ce projet s’inscrit dans la continuité des travaux de recherche réalisés par le Dr Anna Pugach durant sa thèse à l’université de Cergy-Pontoise (sur le développement de peau artificielle pour les robots), et au sein d’Inria, à Bordeaux, sur le développement d’un vêtement connecté capable de mesurer les angles articulaires pour la prévention des troubles musculosquelettiques. Ce sont eux qui ont donné naissance à la technologie Touch Tech développée par l’entreprise.

L’ensemble des travaux réalisés par le Dr Anna Pugach l’ont positionnée en tant qu’experte reconnue du domaine des interfaces sensibles connectées, et les nombreux échanges avec des industriels et des experts du domaine, ont mis en lumière l’intérêt de la création d’une startup pour valoriser ses travaux.

Lors de son parcours au sein d’Inria, le Dr Pugach a pu bénéficier d’un accompagnement du service Transfert, Innovation et Partenariats, notamment de Cédric Quinot, chargé d'accompagnement startup, qui a permis :

  • un accompagnement antécréation dans l’exploration technologique (identification de cas d’usage technologiques, cohérence entre une technologie et une problématique marché identifiée, etc.) ;
  • un accompagnement du projet : validation de marché, faisabilité technique, structuration d’un business model et de la roadmap technique ;
  • le développement et l’entretien des réseaux locaux : pôles de compétitivité, incubateurs, etc. ;
  • la participation aux actions nationales liées au transfert et aux partenariats industriels, aux rencontres et réunions du réseau métier Transfert d’Inria (partage d’expériences, de bonnes pratiques, construction et analyse de projets, etc.).
Portrait Mehdi Elhafed
© Touch Sensity
Mehdi El Hafed, cofondateur de Touch Sensity

Les rencontres professionnelles rendues possibles par des événements tels que Viva Technology ou le Bordeaux TechDay organisé par Bordeaux Technowest, et l’étude de marché effectuée en janvier 2020 par un cabinet indépendant, ont confirmé l’engouement de nombreuses entreprises pour l’utilisation de cette technologie, ce qui a conforté Mehdi Elhafed dans sa volonté d’accompagner Anna Pugach dans la création de Touch Sensity.

Le projet est actuellement accompagné par l’incubateur de Bordeaux Technowest, sur le site Aéroparc dédié à l’aéronautique, au spatial et à la défense.