Changed on 07/03/2021
Raising awareness of digital science among young audiences is a priority for Inria and its researchers, who include the issue in their daily work and help teaching professionals understand their specialist fields. In this vein, the Flowers project team devotes part of its work to developing outreach tools using robotics as a rich and motivating context for discovering digital science. This is called “educational robotics”.
Exposition de plusieurs robots éducatifs et d'un ordinateur qui affiche un programme
© Inria / Photo G. Scagnelli

 

In the ten years since it was created, the Flowers project team at the Inria Bordeaux-Sud-Ouest Centre has become a key player in the Artificial Intelligence research ecosystem and also as an actor of scientific outreach. By modelling learning in artificial intelligence and cognitive science, the objective of its research is to understand how children and machines can learn and memorise models and skills efficiently over time. In particular, the team studies learning mechanisms guided by “curiosity” and models certain aspects of human motivation systems. It has notably applied its research topics to fields such as video games, robotics, educational technologies, man-machine interaction and automated discovery. This work has also led the team to develop outreach tools to allow children to discover digital sciences in a motivating context that stimulates curiosity.

By developing pedagogical tools for teachers using robots as an educational context, Flowers helps facilitate teaching digital science in schools,

explains Pierre-Yves Oudeyer, the team manager.

A tangible and interdisciplinary teaching tool

Educational robotics refers to a series of approaches to design activities for teaching digital science. Based on the use of robots as a tool, it facilitates the understanding of these concepts by making teaching more attractive and motivating. In contrast to the world of screens, this tangible tool allows concrete activities to be used to address sometimes abstract concepts and has shown itself to be an excellent context for introducing artificial intelligence and digital science to a wider audience.

Artificial intelligence is having a growing impact on today’s society from an economic, social and health point of view. Robotics is a good educational tool to help teach artificial intelligence in a more concrete way. It really just provides a context for understanding that this is a developing field that will soon enter other aspects of our lives,

says Pierre-Yves Oudeyer.

Flowers, a key player in educational robotics

To encourage teaching of digital science, the Flowers project team organises multiple educational activities, such as using simple robots like Thymio, designed at the EPFL (Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne). Using these robots, teachers guide their pupils through educational tasks and encourage them to consider different questions in relation to technology or human factors : What is a motor ? What is a sensor ? What is a computer ? What tendency do people have to use words that anthropomorphise the relationship between humans and machines ? 

Flowers also initiated the "Poppy" project with the aim of creating a platform for different types of open source robots to model children’s learning mechanisms and understand the role of the body in learning. Pierre-Yves Oudeyer explains that “during the development phase, the team realised that the toolbox they had designed met the needs of high school and university teachers for using robots as teaching tools. They needed a flexible tool that they could build themselves to introduce pupils to electronics and 3D printing ...”. 

  • Pollen Robotics is a start-up from Flowers that designs robots to understand programming and artificial intelligence in a fun and interactive way.

In the framework of a PhD by Thibault Desprez, funded by the eFran PERSEVERONS project, the Poppy toolbox was therefore adjusted to study how different digital pedagogical tools could make certain lessons more motivating in a school environment. One of the dimensions of the study concerned educational robotics. Today, the Poppy educational robotics kits are managed by the “Poppy Station”, a consortium of educational actors.

A mediation tool among many others

There are many tools available today for digital science outreach, of which educational robotics is one of the most renowned examples. According to Pierre-Yves Oudeyer, however, it is a combination of different types of tools that will allow young audiences to become fully aware of digital science in all its diversity. While video games and the internet can introduce them to programming and the Internet, non-connected activities - not related to computers or robots - can encourage them to reflect on social challenges in these fields. The researcher also recently created an outreach book on artificial intelligence and robotics for a wide target audience with his co-worker Didier Roy.

Image
Portrait Pierre-Yves Oudeyer
Verbatim

By addressing children through reading (via educational booklets, for example), we can spark discussion on these subjects between them and their parents. This allows the child to have social discussions about these issues, and the parents to learn about the fields and how they are connected to society.

Auteur

Pierre-Yves Oudeyer

Poste

Team manager of Flowers

A large ecosystem

Positioned at the heart of the challenges in digital technology and education, Inria (thanks to the commitment of project teams such as Flowers) is fully involved in this educational ecosystem which brings together multiple players in outreach and research, such as schools and teachers, associations, academic partners and EdTech businesses throughout France and beyond. Further afield, the LEARN laboratory by Francesco Mondada at EPFL, of which Flowers researcher Didier Roy is an associate member, focusses its research on educational robotics in itself. Its mission, which only uses outreach tools based on this topic, is very different to that of our Bordeaux team.

Discover our selection on the subject

  • The book « Les Robots et l’intelligence artificielle », D. Roy & P.-Y. Oudeyer, 2020 Discover
  • Teaching booklet about educational robotics Discover

  • MOOC on educational robotics and school perseverance Discover

  • MOOC on Thymio the robot, a tool for discovering digital science Discover

La robotique éducative, un outil de médiation pédagogique

Date:
Mis à jour le 08/04/2021
Sensibiliser les plus jeunes aux sciences du numérique est un enjeu majeur pour Inria et ses chercheurs qui se mobilisent au quotidien, et accompagnent les professionnels de l’enseignement dans la compréhension de leurs domaines de prédilection. Dans cette dynamique, l’équipe-projet Flowers consacre une partie de ses activités à développer des outils de médiation, en utilisant la robotique comme un contexte riche et motivant pour découvrir les sciences du numérique. C’est le principe de la "robotique éducative".
Exposition de plusieurs robots éducatifs et d'un ordinateur qui affiche un programme
© Inria / Photo G. Scagnelli

 

En dix ans d’existence, l’équipe-projet Flowers du centre Inria Bordeaux Sud-Ouest s’est inscrite comme équipe référente dans l’écosystème de la recherche en intelligence artificielle, mais aussi comme un acteur de la médiation scientifique. À travers la modélisation de l’apprentissage en intelligence artificielle et en sciences cognitives, son objectif de recherche est de comprendre comment les enfants et les machines peuvent acquérir efficacement - et mémoriser - des modèles et compétences sur une longue période. L’équipe étudie en particulier les mécanismes d’apprentissage guidés par la "curiosité", et modélise certains aspects des systèmes de motivation chez l’humain. Elle a notamment déployé ses thématiques de recherche dans des applications telles que les jeux vidéo, la robotique, les technologies éducatives, l’interaction Homme-Machine et la découverte automatisée. Mais ces travaux ont aussi amené l’équipe à développer des outils de médiation permettant aux enfants de découvrir les sciences du numérique dans un contexte motivant et qui stimule la curiosité.

En développant des d’outils pédagogiques pour les enseignants qui utilisent des robots comme contexte éducatif, Flowers contribue à faciliter l’enseignement des sciences du numérique à l’école,

 précise le responsable de l’équipe, Pierre-Yves Oudeyer.

Un outil d’enseignement tangible et transversal

La robotique éducative - également appelée robotique pédagogique -, désigne un ensemble d’approches qui crée des activités au service de l’enseignement des sciences du numérique. Bâtie sur l’utilisation des robots comme un outil, elle permet de faciliter la compréhension de ces notions, en rendant l’enseignement plus attractif et plus motivant. Face au monde des écrans, cet outil tangible permet de mettre en œuvre des activités concrètes face à des concepts parfois abstraits, et se révèle être un excellent prétexte pour faire découvrir plus largement l’intelligence artificielle et les sciences du numérique.

Aujourd’hui, l’intelligence artificielle a un impact grandissant sur la société d’un point de vue économique, social ainsi que du point de vue de la santé. La robotique est un bon outil éducatif pour apprendre de manière plus concrète l’intelligence artificielle. Ce n’est qu’un contexte pour comprendre qu’elle est un domaine qui se développe et qu’elle va être présente dans d’autres dimensions de notre vie,

 ajoute Pierre-Yves Oudeyer.

Flowers, un acteur majeur dans la robotique éducative

Dans l’optique d’encourager l’enseignement des sciences du numérique, l’équipe-projet Flowers met en place de nombreuses activités pédagogiques incluant l’utilisation de robots simples, tel le robot Thymio créé à l’EPFL (Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne). Avec ces robots, les enseignants guident les élèves dans des missions pédagogiques et les poussent à étudier des questions techniques ou liées aux facteurs humains : Qu’est-ce qu’un moteur ? Qu’est-ce qu’un capteur ? Qu’est-ce qu’un ordinateur ? Quelle va être la tendance des humains à utiliser des mots qui anthropomorphisent la relation entre l’Homme et la machine ? 

Flowers a également été à l’initiative du projet "Poppy" dont le but était de créer une plate-forme de robots open sourceaux formes différentes, pour modéliser les mécanismes de l’apprentissage chez l’enfant et comprendre le rôle du corps dans l’apprentissage. Pierre-Yves Oudeyer explique que « lors de ce développement, l’équipe s’est aperçue que la boite à outils conçue correspondait aux besoins des enseignants des lycées ou du supérieur pour utiliser des robots comme outils pédagogiques. Ils avaient besoin d’un outil malléable qu’ils puissent construire par eux-mêmes pour faire découvrir l’électronique, l’impression 3D… ». 

  • Pollen Robotics est une startup issue de Flowers qui conçoit des robots pour appréhender la programmation et l’intelligence artificielle de façon ludique et interactive.

         En savoir plus sur Pollen Robotics

Ainsi, dans le cadre de la thèse de Thibault Desprez financée par le projet eFran PERSEVERONS, la boite à outil Poppy a été réorientée pour étudier comment différents outils pédagogiques numériques peuvent rendre plus motivants certains enseignements dans le contexte scolaire. L’une des dimensions de cette étude était la robotique éducative. Aujourd’hui, les kits de robotique pédagogique Poppy sont portés par le consortium d’acteurs éducatifs "Poppy Station".

Un outil de médiation parmi tant d’autres

La médiation des sciences du numérique comporte aujourd’hui de nombreux outils, dont la robotique éducative est l’un des plus illustres représentants. Mais, selon, Pierre-Yves Oudeyer, c’est en combinant plusieurs types d’outils que l’on peut pleinement sensibiliser le jeune public aux sciences du numérique dans leur diversité : les jeux vidéo ou le Web peuvent les initier à la programmation et à l’Internet, mais également des activités débranchées – non reliées à des ordinateurs ou robots – peuvent les amener à réfléchir sur les enjeux sociaux de ces domaines. Récemment, il a conçu avec son collaborateur Didier Roy un livre de médiation sur l’intelligence artificielle et la robotique à destination d’un public large.

Image
Portrait Pierre-Yves Oudeyer
Verbatim

En s’adressant à des enfants par la lecture (via des livrets pédagogiques par exemple), on va provoquer une discussion sur ces sujets entre les enfants et leurs parents. Cela permet aux enfants d’avoir un échange social sur ces questions, et aux parents d’apprendre sur ces domaines et sur les liens qu’il y a avec la société.

Auteur

Pierre-Yves Oudeyer

Poste

Responsable de l'équipe-projet Flowers

Un écosystème étendu

Au cœur des enjeux sur le numérique et l’éducation, Inria (grâce à la mobilisation de ses équipes-projets comme Flowers) s’implique pleinement dans cet écosystème éducatif qui rassemble de multiples acteurs dans la médiation ou la recherche : établissements scolaires et enseignants, associations, partenaires académiques, entreprises du monde des Edtechs… sur le territoire national, et au-delà. Hors des frontières françaises, le laboratoire LEARN de Francesco Mondada à l’EPFL, dont le chercheur Didier Roy de Flowers est membre associé, focalise sa recherche sur la robotique pédagogique en elle-même. Une mission bien différente de celle de notre équipe bordelaise qui met seulement en œuvre des outils de médiation sur cette même thématique.