Pixil: a cross-border geothermal energy project between France and Spain

Date:
Changed on 01/12/2020
By bringing geothermal energy to the fore, the Pixil project (Pyrénées Imaging eXperience: an International network), which has just celebrated its first birthday, presented Inria’s Magique-3D project team with a valuable opportunity to use its seismic imaging software. For the Pyrenees region, meanwhile, this could have major benefits in the context of the energy transition.
Ecrans d'ordinateurs montrant une modélisation de sous sol terrestre
© Inria / Photo C. Morel

 

Launched in November 2019, Pixil has reinvigorated the geothermal energy sector in France and Spain, its aim being to characterise the Earth’s subsurface using advanced imaging and mathematical modelling. In France, it is jointly coordinated by Inria’s Magique-3D project team, working in collaboration with Real Time Seismic (RTS), an SME which develops data processing technology for use in geoscience, and Avenia, a centre of excellence for subsurface industries. Then, on the Spanish side of the border, you have the Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC), the Basque Center for Applied Mathematics (BCAM) and the University of Barcelona (UB).

The project’s overarching objective is to create a cross-border R&D network linking different research and technology centres in the wider Pyrenees region, which could then become a technology hub in the field of geothermal energy.

Geothermal energy: a range of benefits

As society looks towards a more environmentally sustainable future, clean and renewable energy is becoming increasingly important. Geothermal energy is one form which has some serious advantages: it is natural, it doesn’t emit any CO2 and it is practically infinite. In geothermal energy, the heat of the Earth’s subsurface is used to produce hot water which, once it reaches a sufficiently high temperature, will turn a turbine, converting it into electricity. The subsurface gets hotter the further down you go - in Europe, the temperature gradient averages out at roughly 3°C for every hundred metres.

With uninterrupted availability, geothermal energy works well in conjunction with other sources of renewable energy - such as wind or solar - which are less reliable. And because it can be exploited where it is produced, there is no need to import any technology or raw materials.

Advancing the project through cutting-edge technology

But before they are able to use this energy, the researchers and engineers working on the project must first characterise the properties of the subsurface in the region in question. The non-invasive technology used by Pixil involves sending sound waves into the earth and analysing the speed at which they spread and any “obstacles” they encounter, allowing 3D images of the subsurface to be constructed. This preparatory work helps to maximise the chances of success for the drilling stage, which is required in order to set up the geothermal loop needed for exploitation (hot water is produced - heat is extracted - cold water is pumped back in).

Verbatim

“We use sensors to measure the propagation of the sound waves through the subsurface before analysing the data. This ‘seismic ultrasound’ can then be used to characterise the area in terms of the geometry of the structures found within it and the density of the rocks."

Auteur

Julien Diaz

Poste

researcher within the project-team Magique-3D, head of the algorithm component of the project.

In order to arrive at precise simulations of the propagation of waves through the subsurface, mathematical models, advanced digital technology and parallel computation are needed in order to analyse and process the data.

But there is still one major problem. Seismic data is often badly “polluted” by the high amplitude waves which rise to the surface when the seismic noise source is triggered. These have a significant impact on the quality of the signals recorded by the sensors on the surface, often making it impossible to obtain quality images at the very lowest depths. So, how can this problem be solved? Inria’s researchers employ the latest in inversion technology to identify the geological model that best corresponds to the propagation of these surface waves. By accurately simulating these phenomena using two of their software (Hou10ni), unwanted signals are reproduced before then being deleted from the actual recordings.

Sharing expertise

In order to support the creation of a cross-border R&D network made up of public and private bodies, Julien Diaz’s team have made these tools available to universities, research institutes, SMEs and major companies/organisations specialising in geothermal energy in the cross-border region. The Avenia centre of excellence is very much central to this, with its multifaceted team made up of manufacturers, academics and institutions.

Verbatim

Pixil supports the geothermal energy sector through a pooling strategy, helping the transfer of knowledge between academia and businesses in what is a flourishing European context

Auteur

Emmanuelle Robins

Poste

head of European and International Projects

« In the Pyrenees region, geothermal energy was once felt to be too costly, particularly for deeper sources, and so it was abandoned. Our hope is now to be able to restore interest in it in the south-west of France », adds Julien Diaz.

Jean-Claude Puech, a geophysicist who works for Real Time Seismic, has been keen to stress the importance of educating the wider public about the project. “This is crucial if we want this technology to be accepted and to avoid it being lumped in with other processes, such as fracking. 

We have to make sure everyone knows that geothermal energy is both practically infinite and environmentally-friendly. All it actually produces is hot water!

Another aspect of Pixil that is worth mentioning is the questionnaire used to assess any problems encountered over the course of the project. This will help to strengthen the network and, it is hoped, to obtain national financial support. The partners tasked with marketing solutions developed by Pixil will then evaluate the results and use these to guide any future developments. In the long-term, technological advances will make geothermal energy more competitive, in addition to stimulating the regional economy and helping to drive forward sustainable development.

Pixil : entre France et Espagne, la géothermie transfrontalière

Date:
Mis à jour le 08/01/2021
En mettant l’accent sur la géothermie, le projet Pixil (Pyrénées Imaging eXperience : an International network), qui vient de souffler sa première bougie, a offert une opportunité précieuse à l'équipe-projet Inria Magique-3D d’utiliser ses logiciels d’imagerie sismique. Et pour la région transpyrénéenne, il représente un atout majeur pour la transition énergétique.
Ecrans d'ordinateurs montrant une modélisation de sous sol terrestre
© Inria / Photo C. Morel

 

Lancé en novembre 2019, Pixil donne un élan à l'énergie géothermique en France et en Espagne. Son objectif : caractériser le sous-sol de la Terre en utilisant des techniques d'imagerie avancées et la modélisation mathématique. En France, il est codirigé par l’équipe Inria Magique-3D en collaboration avec Real Time Seismic (RTS), PME qui développe des technologies de traitements des données pour les géosciences, et Avenia, pôle de compétitivité des industries du sous-sol. Côté espagnol, les chercheurs du Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC), du Basque center for Applied Mathematics (BCAM) et de l'université de Barcelone (UB) complètent le dispositif.

La finalité du projet ? La création d'un réseau transfrontalier de R&D entre différents centres technologiques et de recherche de la région transpyrénéenne, qui pourrait ainsi devenir un pôle technologique dans la géothermie.

Énergie géothermique : des atouts multiples

Les énergies renouvelables et propres deviennent de plus en plus centrales à mesure que la société évolue vers un avenir plus durable sur le plan environnemental. Dans ce cadre, l’énergie géothermique présente de sérieux avantages : elle est naturelle, n'émet pas de CO2 et s’avère pratiquement inépuisable. La géothermie utilise la chaleur du sous-sol pour produire de l'eau chaude qui, si elle atteint un degré suffisant, peut faire tourner une turbine et la transformer en électricité. La température des sous-sols augmente avec la profondeur et en Europe, ce gradient de température est en moyenne d'environ 3 °C par cent mètres.

Disponible en continu, elle complémente d'autres sources d'énergie renouvelables — éolienne, solaire — plus intermittentes. Et comme elle est exploitée in situ, elle évite l’importation de technologies ou de matières premières.

Des techniques de pointe pour faire avancer le projet

Mais avant de pouvoir l’utiliser, les chercheurs et ingénieurs doivent caractériser les propriétés du sous-sol de la région ciblée. La technique non invasive de Pixil consiste à envoyer des ondes sonores dans le sol ainsi qu’à à analyser la vitesse à laquelle elles se propagent et les « obstacles » qu'elles rencontrent, afin d’en tirer des images en 3D de la subsurface. Cette approche préparatoire permet de maximiser les chances de succès de la phase de forage qui doit être réalisée pour la mise en place d’une boucle géothermique (eau chaude produite, chaleur extraite, eau refroidie réinjectée) nécessaire à l’exploitation.

Verbatim

Nous utilisons des capteurs pour mesurer la propagation des ondes sonores dans le sol et nous analysons ces données. Cette ‘‘échographie sismique’’ nous permet de caractériser la zone en termes de géométrie des structures ainsi que la densité des roches.

Auteur

Julien Diaz

Poste

Chargé de recherche au sein de l'équipe Magique-3D, responsable de la partie algorithmes du projet.

L'analyse et le traitement des données nécessitent le développement de modèles mathématiques, de techniques numériques avancées et de calculs effectués en parallèle pour obtenir des simulations précises de la propagation des ondes dans le sous-sol.

Un problème majeur demeure pourtant. Les données sismiques sont souvent très « polluées » par les ondes de forte amplitude qui courent à la surface lorsque la source sismique sonore est déclenchée. Elles affectent considérablement la qualité des signaux enregistrés par les capteurs disposés à même le sol, empêchant souvent d’obtenir une image de qualité à plus grande profondeur. Comment remédier à cette difficulté ? Les chercheurs d’Inria utilisent des méthodes dites d’inversion de dernière génération pour trouver le modèle géologique qui correspond le mieux à la propagation de ces ondes de surface. En simulant avec précision ces phénomènes à l'aide de leur logiciel (Hou10ni), les signaux indésirables sont reproduits pour être ensuite soustraits des enregistrements réels.

Un partage des savoirs sur toute la ligne

Afin de créer un réseau transfrontalier de R&D associant public et privé, l’équipe de Julien Diaz propose ces outils aux universités, instituts de recherche, PME et grandes entreprises/structures spécialisés dans l’activité de géothermie de la zone transfrontalière. À cet égard, le Pôle Avenia joue un rôle important avec son équipe pluridimensionnelle comprenant industriels, universitaires et institutions.

Verbatim

Ainsi, Pixil accompagne la filière géothermique par une approche mutualisée qui facilite le transfert des connaissances entre monde académique et entreprises, le tout dans un contexte européen porteur. 

Auteur

Emmanuelle Robins

Poste

Responsable Projets Europe et International au Pôle Avenia

« Dans la région des Pyrénées, la géothermie, surtout de sources profondes, a été abandonnée parce que trop coûteuse et nous espérons maintenant relancer l'intérêt pour ce domaine dans le Sud-Ouest de la France », ajoute Julien Diaz.

Jean-Claude Puech, géophysicien chez Real Time Seismic, insiste pour sa part sur le volet pédagogique du projet auprès du grand public. « Il s’agit d’un point crucial pour que cette technique soit acceptée et ne soit pas confondue avec d'autres, comme l’exploitation des gaz de schistes par exemple, estime-t-il

Nous devons rappeler à tous que l'énergie géothermique est à la fois pratiquement illimitée et respectueuse de l'environnement. En définitive, la géothermie produit… de l'eau chaude !

Autre aspect de Pixil et non des moindres : l’évaluation, via un questionnaire adressé à l'ensemble du réseau, des difficultés rencontrées au cours du projet. Ce volet contribuera à renforcer le réseau et peut-être à obtenir un soutien financier national. Les collaborateurs chargés de la commercialisation des solutions de Pixil évalueront les résultats obtenus qui guideront les prochains développements. À terme, les avancées techniques amélioreront la compétitivité de la géothermie, stimuleront l'économie régionale et feront progresser le développement durable.

Pour en savoir plus sur les ondes mécaniques et acoustiques

  • Entretien avec Hélène Barucq, directrice de recherche Inria, spécialiste de la simulation numérique de la propagation des ondes sismiques.

Des profondeurs du Soleil et de la Terre à la musique : tout comprendre grâce aux ondes

Visionner la vidéo sur la géothermie, énergie accessible à tous