Inria teams up with the ANSSI on the Coq software program

Date:
Changed on 07/01/2021
In late September, the ANSSI (the French National Cybersecurity Agency) published a document outlining requirements linked to the use of Coq – a software program developed by Inria – in the context of “Common Criteria” security certification evaluations. Let’s take a closer look at the role of certification, as well as the possible benefits of this software program.
Certification Coq
© Inria / Photo B. Fourrier

 

Certification plays a pivotal role in the digital products and services sector. By guaranteeing a certain level of protection and security for users, in addition to meeting regulatory and contractual obligations, certification gives the suppliers of goods and services who opt for it a competitive advantage.

Different certifications for different needs... and different methodological approaches for different countries

The capacity of a given product or service to withstand an attack, of any nature, is tested by an evaluation based on the analysis of its compliance and its vulnerability.

In France, there are currently two types of certification: first-level security certification (CSPN), in which a product's capacity to withstand attacks of moderate severity can be evaluated in quite a short period of time, and Common Criteria certification (CC), an internationally-recognised standard in which product security is rated on a scale of seven levels. The higher the desired security level, the more stringent the requirements for proof and the more thorough the evaluation.

However, the certification sector has run into a stumbling block: the lack of standardisation across evaluation schemes worldwide. Multiple security certification systems are currently in operation which, although they follow an international standard, vary from one country to another.

Coq - a software program for evaluating Common Criteria

The ANSSI, France’s National Cybersecurity Agency, set about finding a solution to this problem. As one of the world’s leading issuers of CC certifications, the ANSSI decided to join forces with Inria to draft a document outlining guidelines and rules to be followed for formal analyses with Coq.

Developed by Inria, Coq is a proof assistant that provides an interactive environment for writing theorem proofs which are then verified by the system. It is one of the formal methods recognised in France by the National Certification Centre.

Objectives: to present Coq as a benchmark-setting formal method tool and to raise awareness of the requirements for using other tools. In a wider sense, the aim was also to bring French interpretations to the attention of international certification specialists, who may then decide to adopt the same approach.

“The Common Criteria dictate that, from a certain security level upwards, the security of the functional specification of the product being evaluated must be formally proved. In practice, this raises the question of what it means ‘to be formally proved’ and what tools and methods can be used to establish such proof. Developers are free to choose whichever tools suit them, but it is up to evaluators to assess whether or not the ‘quality’ of the solution used is’sufficient’”, explains Thomas Letan, an expert in formal methods for security use at the ANSSI Software Security Laboratory.

As Coq was deemed to be suitable for Common Criteria evaluations, a working document was drafted for the solution, which should help to ensure that developers use the program in the right way. “For Common Criteria, the use of formal methods is recommended for higher certification levels. The goal for this partnership was to prevent users from developing a false sense of security by using Coq incorrectly”, explains Yves Bertot, Senior Researcher at Inria.

A win-win partnership

France is at the cutting edge of certification activities, and intends to stay there. By providing reliable tools for certification and producing guidelines to ensure that they are properly used, this partnership between the ANSSI and Inria is consistent with this aim. But it goes further.

This partnership has also enabled the ANSSI to obtain quick and insightful feedback from Inria teams on the rules that it advocates: “We made changes to some of our requirements based on feedback we received from Yves Bertot, Maxime Dénès and Vincent Laporte”, explains Thomas Letan.

Meanwhile, the Inria researchers who were involved in this project were able to shed further light on the challenges for Coq concerning security evaluations, in addition to boosting their visibility: “Our goal is to ensure that research results are exploited by industry, and to improve the adoption and use of Coq. The fact that the ANSSI recognises Coq’s relevance to Common Criteria applications and publishes dedicated instructions will help us to achieve this aim”, explains Yves Bertot

This project is part of a partnership launched several years ago between the ANSSI and Inria, with the goal of consolidating the sharing of expertise in order to further research and innovation.

Sécurité numérique

Inria collabore avec l’ANSSI autour du logiciel Coq

Date:
Mis à jour le 15/04/2021
Fin septembre, l’ANSSI (Agence nationale de la sécurité des systèmes d'information) publiait un document relatant les exigences relatives à l'utilisation du logiciel Coq, développé par Inria, dans le cadre d'évaluations de certification de sécurité "Critères communs". L’occasion de faire le point sur le rôle de la certification, ses enjeux, et l’intérêt de ce logiciel dans cette démarche.
Certification Coq
© Inria / Photo B. Fourrier

 

La certification joue un rôle essentiel dans le secteur des produits et services numériques. En garantissant aux utilisateurs un certain niveau de robustesse et de sécurité, celle-ci, en plus de répondre à des objectifs réglementaires et contractuels, offre un véritable avantage concurrentiel aux fournisseurs de produits et prestataires de services qui en font la demande.

À chaque besoin sa certification… et à chaque pays son approche méthodologique

La capacité d’un produit ou service à résister à une attaque, quelle qu’elle soit, est éprouvée par une évaluation, qui se base sur une analyse de sa conformité et de sa vulnérabilité.

En France, il existe à ce jour deux types de certification : la certification de sécurité de premier niveau (CSPN), qui permet d’analyser dans un délai assez court la capacité d’un produit à résister à des attaques de niveau modéré, et la certification critères communs (CC), un standard internationalement reconnu qui classe le niveau de sécurité des produits en sept paliers. Plus le niveau d’assurance visé est élevé, plus les éléments de preuve attendus sont précis et l’effort d’évaluation important.

Malgré cela, le domaine de la certification se retrouve confronté à une problématique de taille : le manque d’homogénéisation des activités d’évaluation à travers le monde. Il existe ainsi, aujourd’hui, différents systèmes de certification de sécurité, qui, s’ils suivent une norme internationale, varient en fonction des pays.

Le logiciel Coq, un outil pour l'évaluation des critères communs

Une problématique sur laquelle s’est penchée l'ANSSI, l'autorité nationale en matière de sécurité et de défense des systèmes d'information. Considérée comme l’un des premiers émetteurs de certifications CC au monde, celle-ci a ainsi décidé de collaborer avec Inria autour d’un document introduisant des lignes directrices et des règles pour les analyses formelles soutenues par Coq.

Développé par Inria, Coq est un assistant de preuves qui fournit un environnement interactif pour écrire des preuves de théorèmes qui seront vérifiées par le système. C'est l'une des méthodes formelles reconnues en France par le Centre de Certification Nationale.

Les objectifs : présenter Coq comme exemple de référence pour un outil de méthodes formelles et alerter sur les exigences d’utilisation d’autres outils. Plus globalement, le but est également de mettre en avant les interprétations françaises auprès des spécialistes étrangers de la certification, qui peuvent ensuite décider d'adopter la même approche qu'en France.

« Les Critères Communs établissent qu'à partir d'un certain niveau d'assurance, il est nécessaire que les bonnes propriétés de sécurité de la spécification fonctionnelle du produit évalué soient formellement prouvées. En pratique, cela pose la question de ce que veut dire "être formellement prouvé" et des méthodes et outils utilisables pour établir une telle preuve. Le développeur peut choisir ces outils selon sa convenance, mais il revient à l'évaluateur de s'assurer que la solution choisie soit effectivement d'une "qualité" suffisante », explique Thomas Letan, expert en méthodes formelles pour la sécurité au sein du Laboratoire Sécurité du Logiciel de l'ANSSI.

Évalué comme un outil adéquat pour les évaluations Critères Communs, Coq a ainsi hérité d’un document de travail. De quoi permettre aux développeurs, notamment, d’utiliser le logiciel dans de bonnes conditions : « Les critères communs recommandent l'utilisation de méthodes formelles pour les niveaux élevés de certification. Le but de cette collaboration était d'éviter que les utilisateurs aient un faux sentiment de sécurité parce qu'ils auraient utilisé Coq de façon maladroite », précise Yves Bertot, directeur de recherche Inria.

Un partenariat gagnant-gagnant

La France est à la pointe en termes de certification, et compte bien y rester. Ce travail mené par l'ANSSI et Inria fait partie de cette démarche : proposer les outils fiables à utiliser pour la certification, et proposer des guidelines pour bien les utiliser. Mais pas que.

Cette collaboration a également permis à l'ANSSI de profiter d’un retour rapide et éclairé des équipes Inria sur les règles qu’elle préconise : « Nous avons modifié certaines de nos exigences en nous basant sur les retours d'Yves Bertot, Maxime Dénès et Vincent Laporte », précise Thomas Letan.

De leur côté, les chercheurs Inria impliqués dans ce partenariat ont pu clarifier les enjeux de Coq vis-à-vis des évaluations de sécurité, mais aussi gagner en visibilité : « Notre mission, c’est de faire en sorte que les résultats de recherche se transforment dans l’industrie, que Coq y soit mieux adopté et utilisé. Le fait que l'ANSSI connaisse Coq, reconnaisse sa pertinence dans le cadre des Critères Communs et partage une note d'utilisation dédiée répond à cet objectif », explique Yves Bertot.

Ce projet s’inscrit dans une démarche partenariale amorcée depuis plusieurs années entre l'ANSSI et Inria, destinée à renforcer le partage des expertises au profit de la recherche et de l’innovation.