Communication - Event

Virtuous innovation on Digital Tech Conference on 3rd December in Rennes

Date:
Changed on 07/12/2021
The 6th edition of the Digital Tech Conference is set to be held on 3rd December in Rennes, running alongside the Festival des Transmusicales. Bringing together members of Brittany’s digital technology community, the theme for this year’s event is virtuous innovation. What better time to explore some emerging trends in the field?
affiche officielle de l'évènement
@lepoool

Virtuous innovation

Mass surveillance. Uberisation. Piracy. The digital divide. Algorithm manipulation. Excessive energy use. This century is 20 years old and has concerns about its future. Disruptive technology is finding its way into every aspect of our lives, changing everything - for better or for worse. Caught between defiance and concern, there is a pressing need for ethics within society. In response, the Digital Tech Conference in Rennes has made virtuous innovation the theme of this year’s edition. The event is being jointly staged by Inria, Destination Rennes and Le Poool, a startup accelerator operating in Rennes and Saint-Malo. It will take place at the Couvent des Jacobins, Rennes Métropole’s new convention centre, and a thousand participants - including researchers, engineers, students, investors and company creators - are expected to attend.

Christine Morin, déléguée scientifique du centre Inria Rennes – Bretagne Atlantique
Christine Morin, head of science at the Inria Rennes - Bretagne Atlantique research centre

 

“By choosing the theme of virtuous innovation, our aim was to recentre the discussion around the human aspect”, explains Christine Morin, head of science at the Inria Rennes - Bretagne Atlantique research centre. “You immediately think of initiatives aimed at making economic development more sustainable or more environmentally-friendly, but we also felt it was important to place an emphasis on social progress. Take privacy protection, for example. Our information systems must be secured against attacks which threaten our personal data. The development of the Internet of Things will further increase this need for protection.”

So, ‘Tech for good’, as the Americans like to say? “We weren’t entirely comfortable with the expression”, says Daniel Gergès, director of Le Poool. “The expression ‘virtuous innovation’ goes beyond the purely technological aspect. There is a lot of work to be done, particularly with regard to inclusion. The world of innovation remains very closed off, a place for engineers and graduates from the grandes écoles, people who are very well connected, basically. We need to open it up to more people. Another key aspect is citizens’ engagement with these innovations, as we have seen with the debate over 5G.”

Social responsibility

Daniel Gergès, directeur du Poool
Daniel Gergès, directeur du Poool

 

At a company level, these concerns have now been enshrined in good practices codified by the European Union through CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility). Another background theme is the very nature of economic development. “The aim for an organisation such as Le Poool is to help companies to emerge and to create jobs”, explains Daniel Gergès. “But if we could not limit this to jobs with little added value then that would be even better. We want to have a positive impact on the region.”

“After reflection we decided to organise the programme around three issues”, explains Christine Morin. “The first of these is skills. This relates to the world of research, teaching and entrepreneurship. Then there is the living world, focusing not just on the environment but also on health, food and transport. Finally, there are the social aspects. This includes issues linked to security, privacy protection, democracy, inclusivity, accessibility for people with disabilities, etc.”

To discuss these subjects, the programming committee has invited around thirty or so speakers. Attendees will be able to hear from Christian Guillemot, co-founder of Ubisoft; Nicolas Dufourcq, CEO of Bpifrance; or Eva Sadoun, co-founder of LITA.co, a company enabling citizens to invest directly in projects with a social or environmental impact.

A platform for startups

Accessible through different passes (M,L,XL), the conference will feature three worlds, each on their own floor.

  • #Inspiration to stimulate thinking.
  • #ICréation to explore subjects in greater detail and participate in working groups.
  • #Accélération to spark collaborations or form networks.

Visitors will also have the opportunity to discover around thirty of so startups representing virtuous innovation trends across a wide range of fields. “These are young companies who have already got a first product on the market”, explains Christine Morin. “The event will boost the visibility of their applications.”

Meetings, networks, projects

Prior to 2019 the conference was staged at Rennes Opera House. “The layout of the space was not conducive to networking”, explains Daniel Gergès. “The Couvent des Jacobins is much better-suited as a venue. We had very positive feedback in that regard from the last edition. The success of this type of event is measured by the meetings which take place and the projects which result from those meetings. That’s the aim. Paradoxically, people working in innovation don’t meet each other that often. Startups are not regularly in contact with researchers, academics, students, local authorities, service professions, etc. These worlds are quite sealed off, and our goal is to help break these barriers down.”

Jean-François Kerroc’h, directeur de Destination Rennes
Jean-François Kerroc’h, directeur de Destination Rennes

 

“Digital Tech has carved itself a niche in the digital sector, where you have so many events. This was one of the factors which prompted us to take part as co-organiser” explains Jean-François Kerroc'h, managing director of Destination Rennes, the company responsible for running the Couvent des Jacobins venue on behalf of Rennes Métropole. “We really believe in this event, which provides a wealth of content, the opportunity to look to the future and a meeting point for different worlds, reflecting everything the region does best. One of our responsibilities was to provide the technical resources for the development of this event. This makes it really satisfying to see it growing year on year.”

There is one added bonus: as is tradition, participants with an XL pass will be given a badge allowing them to access the Festival des Transmusicales.

Titre

Book your tickets for the digital tech conference

Visuel

Communication / Événement

Innovation vertueuse à la Digital Tech Conference de Rennes le 3 décembre 2021

Date:
Mis à jour le 07/12/2021
Le 3 décembre à Rennes, en parallèle du festival des Transmusicales, se tient la 6e édition de la Digital Tech Conference. Placée cette année sous le signe de l’innovation vertueuse, elle rassemble les acteurs des technologies numériques en Bretagne. L’occasion d’aller à la rencontre des tendances émergentes.
affiche officielle de l'évènement
@lepoool

L'innovation Vertueuse

Surveillance de masse. Uberisation. Piratage. Fracture numérique. Manipulation algorithmique. Débauche énergétique. Ce siècle a vingt ans et s’interroge sur son avenir. Des technologies disruptives s’invitent dans tous les interstices de nos vies. Elles les chamboulent pour le meilleur ou pour le pire. Entre défiance et inquiétude, un fort besoin d’éthique traverse la société. La Digital Tech Conference de Rennes s’en fait l’écho en consacrant sa nouvelle édition à l’innovation vertueuse. L’événement est coproduit par Inria, Destination Rennes et Le Poool, structures d’accompagnement de startups à Rennes et Saint-Malo. Il se déroule au Couvent des Jacobins, le nouveau centre des congrès de Rennes Métropole. On y attend un millier de participants : chercheurs, ingénieurs, étudiants, investisseurs, créateurs d’entreprises, etc.

Christine Morin, déléguée scientifique du centre Inria Rennes – Bretagne Atlantique
Christine Morin, déléguée scientifique du centre Inria Rennes – Bretagne Atlantique

 

En choisissant ce thème de l’innovation vertueuse, nous souhaitons replacer l’humain au cœur de la réflexion, explique Christine Morin, déléguée scientifique du centre Inria Rennes - Bretagne Atlantique. On pense immédiatement aux initiatives en faveur d’un développement économique plus durable, plus respectueux de l’environnement. Mais il nous a semblé aussi très important de mettre l’accent sur le progrès sociétal. Pour citer un exemple : la protection de la vie privée. Il faut pouvoir sécuriser les systèmes d’information contre les attaques qui fragilisent nos données personnelles. Le développement de l’Internet des objets va encore accroître ce besoin de protection.

Donc… Tech for good, comme disent les Américains ? “Le terme ne nous convenait pas tout à fait, nuance Daniel Gergès, directeur du Poool. L’expression ‘innovation vertueuse’ couvre une réalité qui ne concerne pas uniquement la technologie. Il y a des efforts à produire en particulier sur l’aspect inclusion. Aujourd’hui, le monde de l’innovation reste très fermé. On y trouve des ingénieurs et des diplômés des grandes écoles. Au final, des gens très insérés dans la société. Mais il faut ouvrir beaucoup plus largement. Un autre point clé porte sur l’appropriation citoyenne, sur l’adhésion de la société à ces innovations. On l’a bien vu avec le débat sur la 5G.

Responsabilité sociétale

Daniel Gergès, directeur du Poool
Daniel Gergès, directeur du Poool

 

Pour les entreprises, ces préoccupations s’inscrivent désormais dans un corpus de bonnes pratiques codifiées par l’Union européenne à travers la RSE (Responsabilité sociétale des entreprises). En toile de fond également : la nature même du développement économique. “Le but d’une structure comme le Poool, c’est de favoriser l’éclosion d’entreprises, la création d’emplois, poursuit Daniel Gergès. Mais si on pouvait ne pas s’enfermer dans des postes à faible valeur ajoutée, ce serait encore mieux. Nous souhaitons avoir un impact positif sur le territoire.

Cette réflexion nous a amenés à organiser le programme autour de trois enjeux, explique Christine Morin. Tout d’abord, les compétences. Cela concerne le monde de la recherche, de l’enseignement, de l’entrepreneuriat. Ensuite, les mondes vivants. À commencer, bien entendu, par l’environnement. Mais aussi la santé, l’alimentation, la mobilité. Et enfin, les aspects sociétaux. On retrouve là les enjeux liés à la sécurité, la protection de la vie privée, la démocratie, l’inclusion, la prise en compte du handicap, etc.

Pour évoquer ces sujets, le comité de programmation convoque une trentaine d’intervenants. On pourra entendre par exemple Christian Guillemot, cofondateur d’Ubisoft, Nicolas Dufourcq, directeur de Bpifrance, ou encore Eva Sadoun cofondatrice de LITA.co, une entreprise qui permet aux citoyens d’investir directement dans des projets à impact social et environnemental.

Plateau de startups

Accessible par différents pass (M,L,XL), la conférence décline trois univers installés chacun sur un étage. 

  • #Inspiration pour engager la réflexion ;
  • #ICréation pour approfondir et participer à des groupes de travail ;
  • #Accélération pour amorcer des collaborations ou intégrer un réseau.

Les visiteurs pourront par ailleurs aller à la découverte d’une trentaine de startups représentatives des tendances de l’innovation vertueuse dans les domaines les plus divers. “Ce sont de jeunes entreprises qui ont déjà une première offre sur le marché, précise Christine Morin. L’événement va donner plus de visibilité à leurs applications.

Rencontres, réseaux, projets

Avant 2019, la conférence se déroulait à l’Opéra de Rennes. “La configuration des lieux ne se prêtait pas à cet aspect networking, explique Daniel Gergès. Le Couvent des Jacobins est beaucoup plus adapté. Nous avons eu des retours très positifs sur ce point lors de l’édition précédente. Pour ce type d’événement, le succès se mesure d’ailleurs aux rencontres engendrées et aux projets qui en découleront ultérieurement. C’est tout l’enjeu. Paradoxalement, les acteurs de l’innovation ne se rencontrent pas si souvent. Les startups ne sont pas si fréquemment en contact avec les chercheurs, les universitaires, les étudiants, les collectivités, les professions de service, etc. Dans le fond, ce sont des univers assez étanches. Notre but est de contribuer à les décloisonner.

Jean-François Kerroc’h, directeur de Destination Rennes
Jean-François Kerroc’h, directeur de Destination Rennes

 

La Digital Tech a trouvé un positionnement très original dans le domaine du numérique où il y a déjà énormément d’événements. C’est d’ailleurs un des aspects qui a motivé notre participation en tant que coorganisateur, témoigne Jean-François Kerroc’h, directeur de Destination Rennes, gestionnaire du Couvent des Jacobins pour le compte de Rennes Métropole. Nous croyons beaucoup à cet événement qui apporte à la fois une richesse des contenus, de la prospective et un croisement des univers où se reflètent bien les excellences du territoire. Il relevait de nos missions que nous apportions les moyens techniques du développement de cet événement. C’est donc avec beaucoup de satisfaction que, d’année en année, nous le voyons prendre de l’ampleur.

Cerise sur le gâteau et tradition oblige : après la conférence, les participants ayant choisi le pass XL disposeront d’un badge leur donnant également accès au Festival des Transmusicales.

Titre

Réservez vos places pour la digital tech conference

Visuel