France is AI Talks: monthly events by the PRAIRIE Institute with France Digitale

Date:
Changed on 01/02/2021
France Digitale and the PRAIRIE Institute are launching France is AI Talks, a monthly event with the best French artificial intelligence (AI) researchers living abroad. The year’s programme will begin with Yann Le Cun, Director of Facebook AI Research (FAIR) and winner of the 2018 Turing Prize, and Martial Hebert, Professor of Robotics and Dean of the School of Computer Science at Carnegie-Mellon University.
Illustration d'un triangle bleu et rouge
© Unsplash / Photo M. Dziedzic

 

PRAIRIE, the institute that puts France on the artificial intelligence map

The PRAIRIE institute was created by the CNRS, Inria, Pasteur InstituteUniversité PSL and Université de Paris, with support from 15 industrial partners. This institute focuses on the fields of health, transport and the environment, and fosters exchanges between academic and industrial research. 16 researchers and 6 teams from the Inria Paris Centre currently hold a chair.

Exclusive conferences every month

The France is AI Talks event, organised by France Digitale and the PRAIRIE Institute, will offer exclusive online talks by renowned researchers every month. The aim? To bring together the whole of the French AI ecosystem – researchers, CTOs (Chiefs Technical Officer), start-ups and major groups – around a given research topic for an hour.

 

Logo France is AI Talks

Martial Hebert, Professor of Robotics, will set the ball rolling

The spin-off of the France is AI Conference, which has united the French AI diaspora in Paris for the past five years, will begin on 27 January with a talk by Martial Hebert.

A Frenchman based in the USA, Martial Hebert is a Professor of Robotics and Dean of the School of Computer Science at Carnegie-Mellon University. His research is in the area of computer vision and robotics, including image perception, video data and image recognition, the construction of object recognition models using 3D data and perception for autonomous robots and smart vehicles. More recently, his work has focused on minimising supervision in machine learning.

Sign up for the Conference with Martial Hebert on 27 January, 5PM

Yann Le Cun to host the March event

On 3 March 2021, France is AI Talks will receive the iconic Yann Le Cun, Professor at New York University and Vice President and Chief AI Scientist at Facebook. He was awarded the Turing Prize in 2018.

About the organizers

Logo France Digitale

France Digitale

Founded in 2012, France Digitale is the largest start-up association in Europe, with over 1,800 French start-ups and investors in the digital sector. The association’s aim is to create European digital champions and coordinate the start-up ecosystem in France.

France Digitale is co-chaired by Frédéric Mazzella, founder of BlablaCar, and Benoist Grossmann, Managing Partner of Idinvest

Logo Prairie

PRAIRIE

Created in 2019 by the CNRS, Inria, the Pasteur Institute, Université PSL, Université de Paris and 15 or so industrial partners, PRAIRIE is one of the four accredited Interdisciplinary Institutes for Artificial Intelligence in the framework of the national strategy for artificial intelligence announced by the President of the Republic during the "AI for Humanity” day on 29 March 2018. It is supported by the French National Research Agency as part of the Future Investments programme.

France is AI Talks : l’événement mensuel de l’institut PRAIRIE avec France Digitale

Date:
Mis à jour le 13/04/2021
France Digitale et l’institut PRAIRIE lancent France is AI Talks, un événement mensuel des meilleurs chercheurs français en intelligence artificielle (IA) installés à l’étranger. Yann Le Cun, directeur de Facebook AI Research (FAIR) et lauréat du prix Turing 2018 ainsi que Martial Hebert, professeur de robotique et doyen de l'école d'informatique à l'université Carnegie-Mellon, sont à l’affiche début 2021.
Illustration d'un triangle bleu et rouge
© Unsplash / Photo M. Dziedzic
PRAIRIE, l’institut qui positionne la France dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle

L’institut PRAIRIE est créé par le CNRS, Inria, l’Institut Pasteur, l'université PSL et l'université de Paris, avec le soutien de quinze partenaires industriels. Cet institut se focalise sur les domaines de la santé, des transports et de l’environnement, en catalysant les échanges entre recherches académique et industrielle. 16 chercheurs de 6 équipes du centre Inria de Paris composent actuellement une chaire.

Rendez-vous tous les mois pour des conférences exclusives

L’événement France is AI Talks, organisé par France Digitale et l’institut PRAIRIE, reviendra tous les mois pour des talks exclusifs par des chercheurs de renom, 100% en ligne. Le but ? Rassembler sur une heure, autour d’un thème de recherche, l’ensemble de l’écosystème IA français : chercheurs, CTO (Chief Technical Officer soit directeur des nouvelles technologies ou directeur technique), startups, grands groupes.

 

Logo France is AI Talks

Le professeur de robotique Martial Hebert ouvre le bal

Le spin-off de la France is AI Conference, qui réunit depuis cinq ans la diaspora française de l’IA à Paris, débute le 27 janvier avec l’intervention de Martial Hebert.

Français exerçant en Amérique du Nord, Martial Hebert est professeur de robotique et doyen de School of Computer Science à l'université Carnegie-Mellon. Ses recherches portent sur la vision par ordinateur et la robotique, y compris la reconnaissance dans les images et les données vidéo, la construction de modèles et la reconnaissance d'objets à partir de données 3D, et la perception pour les robots mobiles et les véhicules intelligents. Plus récemment, ses recherches ont porté sur la minimisation de la supervision dans l’apprentissage machine.

Rendez-vous le 27 janvier 2017 à 17h pour le lancement des France is AI Talks, avec Martial Hebert.

Yann Le Cun officiera pour l’édition de mars

Le 3 mars 2021, France is AI Talks recevra l’emblématique Yann Le Cun, professeur à l’université de New York et vice-président et responsable scientifique de l’IA de Facebook. Il est lauréat du prix Turing 2018.

À propos des organisateurs

Logo France Digitale

France Digitale

Fondée en 2012, France Digitale est la plus grande association de startups en Europe, avec plus de 1800 startups et investisseurs français du numérique. L’association se donne pour mission de créer des champions européens du numérique et d’animer l'écosystème des startups en France.

France Digitale est coprésidée par Frédéric Mazzella, fondateur de BlablaCar, et Benoist Grossmann, Managing Partner d’Idinvest.

Logo Prairie

PRAIRIE

Créé en 2019 par le CNRS, Inria, l’Institut Pasteur, l’université PSL, l’université de Paris et une quinzaine de partenaires industriels, PRAIRIE est un des quatre Instituts Interdisciplinaires d’Intelligence Artificielle labellisés dans le cadre de la stratégie nationale pour l'intelligence artificielle annoncée par le Président de la République lors de la journée "AI for Humanity" le 29 mars 2018. Il est soutenu par l’ANR (Agence Nationale de la Recherche) au titre du programme d’Investissements d’avenir.