Digital and environment

Harnessing the Edge-Cloud Continuum for Urgent Computing

Date:
Changed on 18/07/2024
In large-scale emergency situations such as wildfires, tsunamis or pandemics, crucial decisions can be reached by promptly making sense of the huge amount of data gushing from a large variety of widely distributed sensors and other devices. But if data production has skyrocketed in recent years, the ability to analyze it in a timely manner has not kept pace. In particular, there are latency issues due to the fact that all this information must be transported to distant cloud computing facilities for processing. An alternative paradigm on the rise is the so- called ‘continuum computing’. Also referred as the extension of cloud-like capabilities to simple devices at the edge of the network, it aims at leveraging other resources actually available upstream all along the network in order to process data as early as possible and closer to where it is originally gleaned. A researcher with Inria — the French institute for digital science— Daniel Balouek works on providing the novel abstractions needed to dynamically federate these heterogeneous resources and help developers build applications upon them.
 Innondation à Paris en 2018
© Institute for Economics Peace

Flooding in Paris in 2018. Square du Vert-Galant seen from Place du Pont-Neuf. The Institute for Economics and Peace collected data between 1900 and 2019 showing an increase in the number of floods. From 39 in 1960 to 396 in 2019. [1] Institute for Economics Peace. Ecological threat register 2020: Understanding ecological threats. Resilience and Peace, Sydney, September 2020.

 

For the last two decades, cloud computing has been the linchpin behind most of our daily clicks. In a nutshell, the technique boils down to transporting all the data to a handful of distant giant server facilities where it is first stored and subsequently processed. Only then can the result of this calculus be delivered to the end user. However, this centralized architecture suffers from a number of flaws, not the least of them being bandwidth-related latency. And with the advent of technologies such as the autonomous car or the Internet-of- Things (IOT), this model is no longer cogent.

Image
Portrait de Daniel Balouek chercheur Inria ISFP dans l'équipe Stack à Nantes, centre Inria de l'Université de Rennes
Verbatim

Certain data may become outdated if not processed right away. Therefore it requires ‘online’ processing, which is faster but calls for a new paradigm

Auteur

Daniel Balouek

Poste

Inria ISFP researcher - STACK Team

This Inria scientist is a member of STACK, a research team[1], laying the groundwork for a novel model that will not just leverage the cloud’s server farms but span the whole computing continuum and harness countless other resources actually available along the network, including a myriad of devices located at the edge.

In this context, Balouek focuses more specifically on urgent science. This could be described as a class of time-critical applications that leverage distributed data sources to facilitate important decision-making in case of natural disasters, extreme events and so on. “In these domains, some applications have been in existence for a long time. They would deserve to be upgraded with today’s technology but unfortunately, in these fields, there might not be the same economic incentives for modernization as one would find in, say, e-commerce for instance.”

Back in 2020, together with colleagues at the Rutgers Discovery Informatics Institute, Balouek proposed an early earthquake warning application[2] to illustrate the concept and merit of distributed analytics across a dynamic infrastructure spanning the computing continuum. This workflow combined data streams from geo-distributed seismometers and high- precision GPS stations to detect large ground motions[3]. ), and was received with an “Outstanding Paper Award in Artificial Intelligence for Social Impact” in one of the leading international academic conferences in artificial intelligence.

Abstract architecture of the digital continuum for earthquake detection. 
Exploiting the continuum implies efficient use of computational resources along the data path, in order to make trade-offs between processing speed and the quality of the results obtained.

 

Data Processed Close to Sensor Location

The scenario emulated 1,000 sensors deployed on 25 host machines. Each set of 20 sensors composed a geographical region. With each sensor producing 1,200 messages at 100 Hz, no less than 12 million messages had to be handled in the blink of an eye. Instead of being sent to the cloud, this data was first processed close to the sensor location for initial classification. “It allows us to increase the level of trust in the results. Different stations detect various phenomena. A tremor hither. A tremor yon. There is a collective intelligence through which, after detecting these incidents, several stations figure out that they are dealing with a quake. So local detection takes place before the data reaches the cloud for further aggregation.” Incidentally, even if the cloud facility goes out of service as an aftermath of the quake, the application should nevertheless be able to perform detection and adapt dynamically to the resource still accessible.


The research is essentially two-fold. The first aspect deals with resource management: discovering available assets, mapping computations, assembling resource federations, enabling new resources to check in or check out if they want to join or leave a federation, etc. 

At the moment, people tend to build one system for earthquakes, another one for floods, and yet another for wildfires. But it would make more sense to reuse existing resources and go for shared platforms. Unfortunately, it is only when an event breaks out that people seek to specialize computing resources and sensors.

"All of a sudden, the scientist is faced with an emergency situation on top of which there is an urgency to marshal resources. Imagine a quake occurs. Who could help me perform computations? Could I re-purpose computers that were originally dedicated to, say, stock management? Could I access and use sensors that were originally dedicated to video surveillance or air pollution? How could powerful resources, reassigned to new task, become an asset to deal with the new situation?”

On such shared platforms, “prioritization becomes crucial. Because someone’s urgency isn’t necessary someone else’s. If a wildfire and a tornado occur simultaneously, decisions must be made. There are priorities to be set according to crisis management’s rules and protocols. We will have to take this notion of hierarchy in consideration and propose visualization tools to help decision making.”

Pair-to-Pair

In this orchestration, Pair-to-Pair mechanisms play an important role. “Think of connected vehicles. Imagine that you lose access to the network linking to the manufacturer’s centralized server in Japan. Thanks to P2P, your car will still be able to receive information shared by vehicles in the surroundings. It will remain in an information bubble.”

New Programming Models

The second aspect of the research regards the programming models designed to ease the use of these resources. “Today, developing an application on the cloud is relatively easy.

Someone with a two-year developer background can go to Amazon Web Services where templates and software abstractions are available to greatly facilitate the work. But it is not as straightforward on the continuum where dynamicity is higher and developers do not own the resources they use. If I built an earthquake detection program that worked fine in France and if I now plan to reuse it in Japan, in a new situation with new resources, the programming model must be smart enough to adapt itself to this context in a quick fashion.”

Another concern revolves around the need to optimize the balance between quality of results and resource usage. “Typically, in the field of video, Full HD cameras deliver a lot of frames per second whereas many applications only need two of three images per second to work from. It will free resources that can be allocated to something else. If we use our algorithms in low granularity, they can work faster or perform more task simultaneously. And we end up having better bandwidth connectivity as well. So there is a whole trade-off to be found between what I want and what I can actually do, depending on my infrastructures or my self-imposed constraints.”

Seeking Collaboration with Urgent Scientists

In furtherance of this research, Balouek is very keen to collaborate with urgent scientists and crisis management experts. “If we are to build these programming models, we must have the users in the loop and work hand in hand with them. So we invite people to bring us their use cases. If we already have solutions, fine. We will share our experience. If not, it might be the opportunity to launch a joint research. We have a well-rounded questionnaire as a starting point to describe their case. What works? What doesn’t? Scientists usually have existing solutions and their own expertise. Our purpose is not to erase this legacy. But to answer questions of users who try to project themselves in the future. For instance, we could point out that ten years from now, the cost of power could make data centers less affordable. Therefore, the notion of trade-off is worth considering and it might be appropriate to start to study a new solution without further ado.”

In the medium term, Balouek intends to create a road map for assembling these applications in a generic way from different little bricks meant for various tasks. “We try to focus on basic operations such as how to collect data, how to move it. These are primitives that all scientists need at one moment or another. The goal is also to automate as many things as possible so that users won’t have to open up their code repository but rather go through high-level metrics presented in an intelligible way. They will be able to focus on the metrics pertaining to their domain.”

The scope of application actually extends beyond urgent science per se. “At industry level, for instance, there is an interest for the concept of digital twin. Having such a twin of a building coupled with a real time assessment of a fire spread can help firefighters progress through the smoke-filled rooms, reach specific places or fetch specific objects. The application can thus guide the intervention. And there are plenty of such examples where people working for public safety could benefit from this type of tools.”


 

  • [1] STACK is an joint research team of Inria-IMT Atlantique-Nantes University-Orange.
  •  [2] Read: Harnessing the computing continuum for urgent science, by Balouek, D., Rodero, I. and Parashar, M. in ACM SIGMETRICS Performance Evaluation Review, 2020.
  • [3]Read: A distributed multi-sensor machine learning approach to earthquake early warning, by Fauvel, K., Balouek, D., Melgar, D., Silva, P., Simonet, A., Antoniu, G., Costan, A., Masson, V., Parashar, M., Rodero, I. and Termier, A. Outstanding Paper Award in Artificial Intelligence for Social Impact. In Proceedings of the AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence, 2020

Numérique et environnement

Exploiter le continuum numérique pour la gestion de catastrophes

Date:
Mis à jour le 18/07/2024
Tsunamis. Feux de forêts. Pandémies. Dans les situations d’urgence, des décisions clés peuvent être prises en exploitant très vite le déluge de données livré par des capteurs et autres appareils répartis sur de vastes zones. Mais si la production de données a explosé dans les dernières années, les capacités d’analyse rapide, elles, n’ont pas suivi. Des problèmes de latence ralentissent le transport des informations vers les lointaines fermes à serveurs du cloud computing. Une alternative commence cependant à poindre. On l’appelle "continuum computing". Elle vise à exploiter les multiples ressources de calcul disponibles en amont, tout au long du réseau, pour analyser la donnée aussi tôt que possible et au plus près de l’endroit où elle est collectée. Le chercheur Inria Daniel Balouek étudie les nouvelles abstractions nécessaires à la fois pour fédérer ces ressources hétérogènes et aider les développeurs à construire des applications par-dessus.
 Innondation à Paris en 2018
© Institute for Economics Peace

Inondation à Paris en 2018. Le square du Vert-Galant vu de la place du Pont-Neuf. L’Institut pour l’économie et la paix a collecté des données entre 1900 et 2019 montrant une augmentation du nombre de crues. Elles sont passées de 39 en 1960 à 396 en 2019. [1] Institute for Economics Peace. Ecological threat register 2020: Understanding ecological threats. Resilience and Peace, Sydney, September 2020.

 

Depuis 20 ans, le cloud computing constitue la clé de voute derrière la plupart de nos clics quotidiens. Le principe : transporter la donnée vers une poignée d’immenses data centers pour la stocker d’abord et la traiter ensuite. Après cela seulement, le résultat du calcul s’en retourne vers l’utilisateur final. Mais cette architecture centralisée possède des défauts. En particulier des latences liées à la bande passante. Et avec l’arrivée de technologies comme la voiture connectée ou l’Internet-des-Objet (IOT), le fonctionnement arrive à ses limites.

Image
Portrait de Daniel Balouek chercheur Inria ISFP dans l'équipe Stack à Nantes, centre Inria de l'Université de Rennes
Verbatim

Certaines données périment et perdent leur pertinence si elles ne sont pas traitées immédiatement. Il faut donc un traitement "en ligne", un traitement dans l’instant. Mais cela passe par un changement de paradigme.

Auteur

Daniel Balouek

Poste

Chercheur Inria ISFP - équipe STACK

Ce chercheur Inria fait partie de Stack[1], une équipe posant les fondations d’un nouveau modèle qui, au-delà du cloud, s’étend sur tout le continuum numérique et exploite quantité d’autres ressources de calcul présentes tout au long du réseau, y compris une kyrielle d’appareils situés sur ses terminaisons (le "edge").

Dans ce contexte, Daniel Balouek s’intéresse plus particulièrement à l’informatique d’urgence. Il s’agit d’un type d’applications s’appuyant sur le continuum pour faciliter la prise de décisions en cas de catastrophes naturelles et autres événements extrêmes. “Dans ces domaines, certaines applications existent depuis longtemps. Elles mériteraient d’être revisitées avec les moyens de notre époque. Malheureusement, il n’y a pas forcément de modèle économique incitant à la modernisation comme on peut en voir, par exemple, dans l’e-commerce.

En 2020, avec deux collègues du Rutgers Discovery Informatics Institute, Daniel Balouek a proposé une application de détection de tremblements de terre[2] pour illustrer le concept et les mérites d’une analyse distribuée exploitant une infrastructure dynamique sur ce continuum numérique. L’outil combine des flux de données en provenance de sismomètres et de stations GPS haute précision géodistribués permettant de détecter de grands mouvements de la croûte terrestre[3]. Cette publication a été primée dans la catégorie "impact social de l’IA" durant l’une des principales conférences sur l’intelligence artificielle.

Architecture abstraite du continuum numérique pour la détection de tremblements de terre. 
Exploiter le continuum implique une utilisation efficace des ressources de calculs sur le chemin de la donnée afin d’effectuer des compromis entre la rapidité des traitements et la qualité des résultats obtenus

 

Traiter la donnée au plus près des capteurs

Le scénario émule 1 000 capteurs déployés sur 25 machines. Chaque groupe de 20 capteurs représente une région géographique. Un capteur produisant 1 200 messages à 100 Hz, il faut analyser... 12 millions de messages en un clin d’œil. Au lieu de partir vers le cloud, ces données font l’objet d’un premier traitement de classification à proximité des capteurs. “Cela permet d’augmenter le niveau de confiance dans les résultats. Différentes stations détectent des phénomènes. Une secousse par-ci. Une secousse par-là. On a cette intelligence collective grâce à laquelle plusieurs stations détectent un incident et parviennent à établir que c’est un tremblement de terre. Une détection locale intervient donc avant que les données ne soient agrégées dans le cloud.” De plus, si le séisme met le data center hors service, l’application va continuer son travail et s’adapter dynamiquement aux capacités de calcul encore disponibles.

Les recherches comprennent deux aspects. Le premier porte sur la gestion de la ressource : trouver les machines disponibles, y répartir le calcul, assembler des fédérations dans lesquelles chacun peut amener ou retirer ses moyens comme il l’entend, etc. 

Pour l’instant, on a tendance à construire un système pour les séismes, un autre pour les inondations, et encore un autre pour les feux de forêts. Or la logique serait plutôt de réutiliser les ressources déjà existantes en privilégiant des plates-formes partagées. Malheureusement, c’est au moment de l’accident que l’on va chercher à spécialiser nos ressources.

"Tout à coup, le scientifique affronte une situation d’urgence à quoi s’ajoute le besoin de trouver des moyens de calculs. Un séisme se produit. Qui peut m’aider à faire du calcul ? Puis-je réorienter des ressources affectées au départ à un autre but ? Par exemple des ordinateurs servant à la gestion des stocks ? Puis-je accéder à des appareils dont le but premier était la vidéosurveillance ou la mesure de la qualité de l’air ? Comment ces moyens peuvent-ils devenir des ressources de calcul urgent pour une nouvelle situation ?"

Sur ce type de plates-formes partagées, “le fait de prioriser les choses va s’avérer crucial. Car l’urgence de l’un n’est pas forcément l’urgence de l’autre. Si un feu et une tornade se déclenchent en même temps, il faut prendre des décisions. Donner des priorités en fonction des règles et protocoles de la gestion de crise. Nous allons devoir intégrer cette notion de hiérarchie et proposer des outils de visualisation pour aider à cette prise de décision.”

Pair-à-Pair

Dans cette orchestration, les mécanismes de communication Pair-à-Pair jouent un rôle important. “Pensez à la voiture connectée. Imaginez que vous perdez la connexion au serveur central du constructeur, au Japon. Grâce au Pair-to-Pair, votre voiture continue de recevoir des informations partagées par les véhicules des alentours. Vous restez dans une bulle d’informations.

Nouveaux modèles de programmation

Le deuxième aspect des travaux concerne les modèles de programmation pour faciliter l’usage des ressources. “A l’heure actuelle, c’est relativement facile de construire une application sur le cloud. Un développeur avec deux ans de formation peut utiliser le cloud d’Amazon où des abstractions logicielles et des modèles simplifient grandement le travail. Mais sur le continuum, ce n’est pas aussi facile. Il y a plus de dynamicité et les développeurs n’ont pas forcément la propriété ou le contrôle des ressources qu’ils utilisent. Si j’écris un programme de détection sismique qui marche bien en France et que je souhaite le réutiliser au Japon, avec une situation et des ressources nouvelles, il faut que le modèle soit assez intelligent pour pouvoir s’adapter rapidement au changement de contexte.

Autre souci : optimiser l’équilibre entre ressources utilisées et qualité de traitement. Exemple : “en vidéo, les caméras Full HD produisent beaucoup d’images à la seconde. Mais beaucoup d’applications n’ont besoin que de deux ou trois vues à la seconde pour fonctionner. Cela va libérer de la ressource pour autre chose. Si nous utilisons nos algorithmes en faible résolution, ils travaillent plus vite ou effectuent plus de tâches simultanément. Nous libérons aussi de la bande passante. Donc, il y a ce compromis à trouver entre ce que je souhaite faire et ce que je peux vraiment faire, soit de par mon infrastructure, soit de par les contraintes que je m’impose.

À la recherche de cas d’usage

Pour avancer les recherches, Daniel Balouek est friand de collaborations avec des scientifiques du terrain. “Si nous voulons construire ces modèles de programmation, il nous faut les utilisateurs dans la boucle. Nous devons travailler avec eux la main dans la main. Nous les invitons donc à nous présenter leur cas d’usage. Si nous avons déjà des solutions, parfait. Nous partagerons notre expérience. Dans le cas contraire, cela pourrait être l’occasion de lancer une recherche conjointe. Nous avons un questionnaire bien rôdé pour servir de point de départ. Qu’est-ce qui marche ? Qu’est-ce qui ne marche pas ? Les scientifiques ont déjà des solutions existantes et leur expertise propre. Notre but n’est pas de tout révolutionner mais de répondre aux questions de ceux qui essayent de se projeter dans l’avenir. Par exemple, nous pourrions pointer que dans dix ans, le prix de l’énergie rendra les data centers moins abordables. Cela vaut donc peut-être la peine de s’intéresser à la notion de compromis en commençant déjà à réfléchir à une nouvelle solution.

À moyen terme, Daniel Balouek souhaite élaborer une road map pour assembler ces applications d’une façon générique à l’aide de briques conçues pour différentes tâches. “Nous essayons de nous concentrer sur des opérations de base. Comment collecter les données. Comment les déplacer. Ce sont des primitives dont tous les scientifiques ont besoin à un moment ou à un autre. Le but est d’automatiser un maximum de choses. Mais pas de retirer l’humain de la boucle car on a toujours besoin de l’expertise du scientifique. Nous souhaitons automatiser un maximum de choses pour que notre utilisateur ne soit pas contraint d’ouvrir son répertoire de code, mais qu’il se retrouve plutôt avec des métriques de haut niveau présentées de façon intelligible. Il pourra ainsi travailler sur les métriques applicatives de son domaine.

Le champ d’application dépasse d’ailleurs l’informatique d’urgence. “Au niveau industriel, il y a un intérêt pour le jumeau numérique, par exemple. Quand un feu se déclare dans un bâtiment, pouvoir observer une situation en temps réel et avoir un jumeau numérique va aider les pompiers à progresser dans les lieux enfumés, à atteindre des pièces spécifiques, à aller chercher certains objets. L’application peut ainsi guider l’intervention. Et il y a beaucoup de cas similaires où les gens qui interviennent pour la sécurité civile peuvent bénéficier de ce genre d’outils.