VPH2020 conference: the digital medicine rendez-vous will be held virtually

Date :
24 to 28 Aug. 2020
Changed on 22/08/2020
This year's Virtual Physiological Human conference, a must-attend event in digital medicine, has been completely revamped to cope with the Covid crisis. The challenge: to be held online while allowing for a high degree of interactivity. This 2020 edition, organized by Inria Saclay - Île-de-France, will take place from 24 to 28 August, with the stated ambition of opening up to doctors, whose practice is the primary beneficiary of the progress of the virtual human.
Bandeau VPH2020

What if it were possible to simulate the physiological reactions of an organ, or even a human body, using computers?

Logo VPHi

This equation of knowledge in human biology has a name: in silico medicine or Virtual Physiological Human (VPH). Little known to the general public and part of the medical profession, this field of research has been bubbling over the last twenty years. Treatment prognosis and evaluation, development of personalized medical devices, virtual clinical tests... The current and potential applications of these models are shaping the medicine of tomorrow.

The VPH Institute was born out of this conviction. A group of researchers set up to encourage the European Commission to finance the development of VPH, this association also plays the role of a learned society. This is why the VPH conferences were launched, to bring together the community of experts in the field, academics, doctors and industrialists.

An edition marked by digital sciences and medical participation

This year's biennial digital medicine event is supported by EIT Health France and organized by Inria Saclay - Île-de-France. This is an opportunity for Inria to leave its mark on the event and to encourage doctors to participate.

Historically, the medical modelling community has been structured around mathematicians and bioengineers. Dominique Chapelle and Irène Vignon-Clementel*, by co-chairing the conference organizing committee, wanted to correct this bias and involve practitioners from the initial decisions to the plenary and parallel conferences of the 2020 conference. Two blocks of sessions are thus entirely dedicated to clinical applications.

Given the context, the conference will open on an additional day devoted to the contributions of in silico medicine in the management of the Covid-19 crisis and introduced by the feedback of Etienne Gayat, anesthesiologist at Lariboisière hospital in Paris. On the program: simulation of different organs and tissues, epidemiology models, medical devices specially tuned for patients with SARS-CoV-2, new trends in imaging... The methodological block highlights Inria's flagship themes, with learning and data assimilation sessions.

At the same time, a strong presence of industrialists in the sector will enable visitors to become familiar with the work of private research as well as the digital tools they publish. Junior participants will even have the opportunity to "pitcher" to be spotted by certain companies, using a standard format "My thesis in 180 seconds". To ensure accessibility to distant time zones, the sessions will be recorded and replayed. By reaching more participants, VPH2020 will advance convergence between the three communities involved in in silico medicine.

Plenary lectures by experts...

For this 2020 edition, three specialists will meet you at VPH2020:

  • Etienne Gayat, anesthesiologist-resuscitator at the Lariboisière hospital in Paris, will give a plenary lecture at the opening of the day on Monday 24th August devoted to Covid-19, to present the subject from a clinical point of view.
  • Lucie Bailly, a researcher in phonatory biomechanics at the CNRS and the University of Grenoble Alpes, will give a presentation on experimental and modelling approaches at several scales in the biomechanics of the voice.
  • Helen Byrne, Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University of Oxford (UK) and specialist in cancer modelling, will focus on explaining how mathematical modelling has in a few years become a major tool for elucidating the complex processes that contribute to the appearance and progression of tumours and how this discipline could increase the capacity of models to generate qualitative and quantitative predictions on the growth and response to treatment of solid tumours.
  • Tarique Hussain, Professor of Pediatric Cardiology at UT Southwestern Medical Center (USA), will discuss, among other things, the opportunities and controversies surrounding multi-scale modeling of structural heart disease.
VPH2020_Bandeau keynotes

Manufacturers support VPH2020

EIT-Philips 237x203

"VPH2020 is an ideal crossroads"

Interview with Nicolas Villain, Director Hub IA Paris and Research France - Philips

Dassault Systèmes_237x203

"The future of medicine is experimentation in the virtual world"

Interview with Steven Levine, Senior director Virtual Human Modeling - Dassault Systèmes

Medtronic 237x203

"The best researchers and young talents in in silico medicine"

Interview with Markus Reiterer, Distinguished Scientific, Medtronic

 

Ansys_237x203

"VPH2020, an event not to be missed"

Interview with Thierry Marchal, Global Director of the Health business within the Ansys Group and Secretary General of the Avicenna Alliance  

 The Virtual Physiological Human in all its aspects

Sessions "Modeling" Sessions "Experiments" Sessions "Methodologies" Sessions "Clinical Applications"
  • Muscles
  • Vascular
  • Bones
  • Cells
  • Microsystems
  • Soft Tissues
  • Cells
  • New Trends in Imaging
  • Reduced modeling
  • Data assimilation and uncertainty
  • Multi-scale modeling
  • Big data and learning
  • Cardiac
  • Vascular
  • Neuro-musculo-skeletal
  • Cancer
  • Neurology and the brain
  • Lungs
  • Monitoring and connected health
  • Reproduction and pregnancy
  • Liver

An adapted program

VPH2020_Programme2

* Dominique Chapelle is head of science of the Inria Saclay - Île-de-France research centre and Irène Vignon-Clementel is an Inria research director and interim director of the Reo (Mathematical modelling and Numerical Simulation of Biological Flows) project team.


 

Visuel
Bandeau VPH2020_Logos partenaires

Conférence VPH2020 : le rendez-vous de la médecine numérique se tiendra en virtuel

Date:
24 au 28 aoû. 2020
Mis à jour le 04/09/2020
Crise du Covid oblige, cette année la Virtual Physiological Human conference, rendez-vous incontournable de la médecine numérique, a été entièrement réadaptée. Le défi : se tenir en ligne tout en permettant une grande interactivité. Cette édition 2020 organisée par Inria Saclay – Île-de-France aura lieu du 24 au 28 août, avec l’ambition affichée de s’ouvrir aux médecins, dont la pratique est la première bénéficiaire des progrès de l’humain virtuel.
Bandeau VPH2020

Et s’il était possible de simuler via l’outil informatique les réactions physiologiques d’un organe, voire d’un corps humain...

Cette mise en équations des connaissances en biologie humaine porte un nom : la médecine in silico ou Humain physiologique virtuel (VPH). Méconnu du grand public et d’une partie du corps médical, ce domaine de recherche bouillonne depuis une vingtaine d’années. Pronostic et évaluation de traitement, développement de dispositif médical personnalisé, test clinique virtuel… Les applications actuelles et potentielles de ces modélisations dessinent la médecine de demain.

Logo VPHi

Le VPH Institute est né de cette conviction. Groupe de chercheurs constitué pour encourager la Commission européenne à financer la réalisation du VPH, cette association tient également un rôle de société savante. C’est ainsi qu’ont été lancées les VPH conferences, pour animer la communauté d’experts du domaine, académiques, médecins et industriels.

Une édition marquée par les sciences du numérique et la participation médicale

Cette année, la biennale de la médecine numérique est soutenue par EIT Health France et organisée par Inria Saclay – Île-de-France. L’occasion pour Inria de marquer de son empreinte l’évènement et d’inciter résolument les médecins à y participer.

Historiquement, la communauté de modélisation pour la médecine s’est en effet structurée autour des mathématiciens et bioingénieurs. Ce biais, Dominique Chapelle et Irène Vignon-Clementel*, en coprésidant le comité d’organisation de la conférence, ont voulu le corriger et impliquer des praticiens depuis les décisions initiales jusqu’aux conférences plénières et parallèles de la conférence 2020. Deux blocs de sessions sont ainsi entièrement dédiés aux applications cliniques.

Vu le contexte, la conférence s’ouvrira sur une journée supplémentaire consacrée aux apports de la médecine in silico dans la gestion de la crise du Covid-19 et introduite par le retour d’expérience d'Etienne Gayat, anesthésiste-réanimateur à l'hôpital de Lariboisière à Paris. Au programme : simulation de différents organes et tissus, modèles d’épidémiologie, dispositifs médicaux spécialement réglés pour les patients atteints par le SARS-CoV-2, nouvelles tendances en imagerie... Le bloc méthodologique met quant à lui à l’honneur les thématiques phares d’Inria, avec des sessions apprentissage et assimilation de données.

Parallèlement, une forte présence des industriels du secteur permettra de se familiariser avec les travaux de la recherche privée mais aussi avec les outils numériques qu’ils éditent. Les participants juniors auront même l’occasion de « pitcher » pour se faire repérer par certaines compagnies, sur un format type « Ma thèse en 180 secondes ». Pour assurer l’accessibilité aux fuseaux horaires éloignés, les sessions seront enregistrées puis diffusées en replay. En touchant plus de participants, la VPH2020 fera ainsi progresser la convergence entre les trois communautés parties prenantes dans la médecine in silico.

Des conférences plénières d’experts…

  • Etienne Gayat, anesthésiste-réanimateur à l'hôpital de Lariboisière à Paris, donnera une conférence plénière en ouverture de la journée du lundi 24 août consacrée au Covid-19, pour présenter le sujet d'un point de vue clinique. "L’association d’une approche clinique classique avec une approche in silico constitue une opportunité unique d’avoir une meilleure compréhension de la COVID-19, ce qui pourrait faire émerger des approches thérapeutiques innovantes."
  • Lucie Bailly, chercheuse en biomécanique phonatoire au CNRS et à l’université Grenoble Alpes, présentera un exposé consacré aux approches expérimentales et de modélisation à plusieurs échelles dans la biomécanique de la voix. "Les recherches sur les (dys)fonctionnements du corps humain sont situées au carrefour de nombreuses disciplines : sciences médicales, biologie, chimie, mécanique, acoustique… La modélisation numérique permet de les faire dialoguer."
  • Helen Byrne, professeure de mathématiques appliquées à l’université d’Oxford (UK) et spécialiste en modélisation du cancer, se concentrera à expliquer comment la modélisation mathématique est devenue en quelques années un outil majeur permettant d'élucider les processus complexes qui contribuent à l'apparition et à la progression des tumeurs et comment cette discipline pourrait augmentent les capacités des modèles à générer des prévisions qualitatives et quantitatives sur la croissance et la réponse au traitement des tumeurs solides.  "Les réponses des patients à la radiothérapie sont très variables, mais les modèles mathématiques et informatiques peuvent aider les cliniciens à comprendre ces différences. La modélisation in silico illustre également la valeur pronostique de la collecte de données cliniques supplémentaires."
  • Tarique Hussain, professeur en cardiologie pédiatrique à UT Southwestern Medical Center (USA), traitera entre autres des possibilités et des controverses entourant la modélisation multi-échelle des maladies cardiaques structurelles.
VPH2020_Bandeau keynotes

Des partenaires industriels de renom

EIT-Philips 237x203

"VPH2020 est un carrefour idéal"

Interview de Nicolas Villain, Directeur Hub IA Paris et Recherche France - Philips

Dassault Systèmes_237x203

"L'avenir de la médecine est l'expérimentation dans le monde virtuel"

Interview de Steven Levine, Senior director Virtual Human Modeling - Dassault Systèmes

Ansys_237x203

"VPH 2020, un évènement à ne pas manquer"

Interview de Thierry Marchal, Directeur mondial de l’activité Santé au sein du groupe Ansys et secrétaire général de l’Avicenna Alliance

Medtronic 237x203

"Les meilleurs chercheurs et les jeunes talents de la médecine in silico"

Interview de Markus Reiterer, Scientifique distingué chez Medtronic

 Le Virtual Physiological Human sous tous ses aspects

Sessions "Modélisation" Sessions "Expérimentations" Sessions "Méthodologies" Sessions "Applications cliniques"
  • Muscles
  • Vasculaire
  • Os
  • Cellules
  • Microsystèmes
  • Tissus mous
  • Cellules
  • Nouvelles tendances en imagerie
  • Modélisation réduite
  • Assimilation de données et incertitude
  • Multi-échelle
  • Big data et apprentissage
  • Cardiaque
  • Vasculaire
  • Neuro-musculosquelettique
  • Cancer
  • Neurologie et cerveau
  • Poumons
  • Monitorage et santé connectée
  • Reproduction et grossesse
  • Foie

Un programme adapté

VPH2020_Programme2

* Dominique Chapelle est délégué scientifique du centre Inria Saclay – Île-de-France ; Irène Vignon-Clementel est directrice de recherche Inria et directrice par interim de l’équipe-projet Reo (Mathematical modelling and Numerical Simulation of Biological Flows)


 

Visuel
Bandeau VPH2020_Logos partenaires