Inria's Board of Directors

Changed on 04/03/2024

Inria has a Board of Directors whose responsibilities are fixed by the articles R326-1 to R326-18 of Code of research relative to the organisation and operation of the Institute. Bruno Sportisse is the CEO.

B. Sportisse
© Inria / Pierre Morel

Its role

The mission of the Board is to deliberate on the major strategic lines of the Institute and its scientific, technological and knowledge transfer policy. It also deliberates on measures relative to the organisation and general running of Inria: internal regulations, budget, annual activity report, loans, acquisition or leasing of premises, acceptance of donations or bequests, agreements creating long-term commitments, involvement in bodies with legal personality, creation of subsidiaries and acquisitions or disposals of financial holdings, private or public-sector contracts, royalties and remuneration paid to the Institute, legal proceedings and settlements.

The Board of Directors consists of the following people:

  • The Chairman , who is appointed by decree for a five-year term, renewable once;
  • Seven Government representatives appointed by the Ministers of Research, Industry, the Budget, Higher Education, Defence, Foreign Affairs and the Digital Sector, respectively.
  • Nine personalities :
    • two figures in the digital and automation industry, appointed by the Minister of Industry;
    • three scientists appointed by the Minister of Research;
    • two figures representing the world of work, one appointed by the Minister of Research and the other by the Minister of Industry;
    • two figures chosen to represent the users of the technologies within the areas of expertise covered by Inria, appointed by the Minister of Industry.
  • Four representatives of the Institute staff or their deputies , including two researchers, elected in accordance with the order of the Ministers of Research and Industry.

The Board members are appointed for a five-year term renewable once by joint order of the Ministers of Research and Industry. The chairman of the Scientific Board, the Deputy Managing Director(s), the Financial Controller and the Accounting Officer attend Board meetings in an advisory capacity .

The Chairman of the Board can also convene any person whose presence he deems useful to attend meetings in an advisory capacity.

Its members

President: Bruno Sportisse, CEO of Inria


Representatives of the State




To be appointedDGRI (Research)Guilhem de RobillardDGRI (Research)
Anne BoyerDGSIPCaroline Ollivier-YanivDGSIP
Loïc Duflot DGE (Industry)Jean-Noël BuisDGE (Industry)
Amandine ReixDGE (Digital Economy)Adrien LarocheDGE
Agathe RollandFinancial Board (Budget)Salomé Vatblé Financial Board (Budget)
Mike BargainDGA (Defense)Thierry PlesseDGA (Defense)
Mathieu PerrotMEAE (Foreign Affairs)Leila ChabaneMEAE (Foreign Affairs)


Appointed Members

Manuel Tunon de LaraUniversity of Bordeaux ResearchScientific personality
Catherine RivièreIFPENResearchScientific personality
Yvon MadaySorbonne UniversitéResearchScientific personality
Michel Paulin OVH CloudIndustryPersonality of the digital industry
Eric CarreelWithingsIndustryPersonality of the digital industry
Françoise Mercadal-DelassallesConseil National du NumériqueIndustryPersonality user of the technologies
Delphine HantonThuasneIndustryPersonality user of the technologies
Alexis MasseGRDFResearchRepresenting working area
Catherine BarbaCB GroupIndustryRepresenting working area



Elected Members




Eric TannierSGEN-CFDT (Collège A)Benjamin GuedjSGEN-CFDT (Collège A)
Julien DiazSNCS - FSU (Collège A)Jean-Marc LasgouttesSNCS - FSU (Collège A)
Christine LeiningerSNTRS-CGT (Collège B)Eric RagusiSNTRS-CGT (Collège B)
Laetitia GrimaldiSGEN-CFDT (Collège B)Laurent PierronSGEN-CFDT (Collège B)


Advisory Voices

Olivier CaillouComptroller General
Florence LechevalierAccounting Officer
Benoît Laroche de RoussaneDeputy CEO for Administration
Jean-Frédéric GerbeauDeputy CEO for Science
François CunyDeputy CEO for Innovation
Sandrine MazetierDeputy CEO for Public Affairs