Awards & Honours

Launch of 8th edition of CNIL-Inria Privacy Award

Changed on 13/12/2023
The eighth edition of the CNIL-Inria Privacy European Award starts on December 5th, 2023. It will reward a scientific paper on privacy and personal data protection published between January 2021 and 2024.
Logos Inria CNIL

Who is concerned by the award?

The Inria-CNIL award is intended to promote research in Computer Science and Privacy and to raise awareness among citizens and decision-makers on privacy and data protection issues.

Submitted papers must present work, at least partly, conducted in a research center based in one of the 27 countries of the European Union (thus excluding the UK and Switzerland), and must necessarily address the improvement of the protection of personal data, AI transparency, or privacy.

Papers must:

  • Have been published or accepted for publication between 2021 and 2024;
  • Be written in French or English;
  • Describe a research result, a technical innovation, propose a didactic presentation of the state of the art or an initiative to promote interdisciplinarity.

It should be possible to convey the substance of the contribution of the article in terms accessible to non-experts.

Examples of possible topics include (without limitation):

  • Artificial intelligence, algorithm transparency and explainability;
  • Privacy usability;
  • User perspective;
  • New types of tracking and protections;
  • Privacy-enhancing technologies (PETs);
  • Anonymization and reidentification;
  • Applied cryptography;
  • Challenges and solutions to implement the GDPR.

How can I participate?

Applications files should be submitted before January 12, 2024 midnight on the Easychair system.

To get more information about the award please use the following email address: prix.cnil-inria[at]

The winner will be awarded during the conference CPDP 2024 and will be invited to present his or her paper at CPDP and at the CNIL 2024 Privacy Research Day in June 2024.

The jury is made up of by two co presidents, Catuscia Palamidessi (Inria) and Vincent Toubiana (CNIL) and with two vice presidents, Benjamin Nguyen (INSA - INRIA) et Claude Castelluccia (CNIL-Inria).

The members of the jury are:

  • Mário S. Alvim (Federal University of Minas Gerais – Brazil);
  • Nicolas Anciaux (Inria, PETRUS team – France);
  • Aurélien Bellet (Inria PreMeDICaL team – France) ;
  • Sonia Ben Mokhtar (LIRIS/CNRS – France);
  • Nataliia Bielova (Inria PRIVATICS team – France);
  • Joe Calandrino (Federal Trade Commission – USA);
  • Claude Castelluccia (CNIL/Inria Privatics team – France);
  • Grazia Cecere (IMT Business School - France);
  • Estelle Cherrier--Pawlowski (GREYC lab – ENSICAEN/CNRS – France);
  • Jean-François Couchot (Université of Bourgogne Franche-Comté, FEMTO-ST – France);
  • Mathieu Cunche (INSA-Lyon, Inria PRIVATICS – France);
  • Giuseppe D’Acquisto (Garante per la protezione dei dati personali  – Italy);
  • Josep Domingo-Ferrer (Universitée Rovira i Virgil, Director-CYBERCAT – Spain);
  • Simone Fischer-Hübner (Karlstad University – Sweden);
  • Marco Gaboardi (Boston University – USA);
  • Sébastien Gambs (University of Québec in Montréal – Canada);
  • Oana Goga (Laboratoire d'informatique de l'École polytechnique, Inria CEDAR team – France);
  • Marit Hansen (State Data Protection Commissioner of Land Schleswig-Holstein and Landeszentrum für Datenschutz – Germany);
  • Jaap-Henk Hoepman (Radboud University Nijmegen – Netherlands);
  • Kévin Huguenin (Université de Lausanne – Switzerland);
  • Megha Khosla (TU Delft – Netherlands);
  • Pierre Laperdrix (Université de Lille/CNRS -Inria Sprials team – France);
  • Maryline Laurent (Telecom SudParis – France);
  • Maryam Mehrnezhad (Royal Holloway University of London – United-Kingdom);
  • Veelasha Moonsamy (Ruhr University Bochum – Germany);
  • Benjamin Nguyen (INSA-Centre Val de Loire, Inria PETRUS – France);
  • Catuscia Palamidessi (LIX/Inria Comète team - France);
  • François Pellegrini (CNIL/ Université de Bordeaux - France);
  • Alejandro Russo (Chalmers/Göteborg University – Sweden);
  • Reza Shorki (National University of Singapore- Singapour);
  • Vincent Toubiana (CNIL – France);
  • Christine Utz (CISPA Helmholtz – Germany);
  • Narseo Vallina-Rodriguez (IMDEA Networks Institute and ICSI– Spain);
  • Kim Wuyts (PwC Belgium - Belgium).

Flashback on the CNIL-Inria 2022 award

On May 2023, during the 16th edition of the international conference Computer Privacy and Data Protection (CPDP) in Brussels, CNIL and Inria awarded Asuman Senol, Gunes Acar, Mathias Humbert et Frederik Zuiderveen Borgesius for their paper: “Leaky Forms: A Study of Email and Password Exfiltration Before Form Submission”.

Document de référence

Download the competition rules (in French only)