Sites Inria

Version française

Inria Awards 2017


The 2017 Inria Awards winners have been announced

Lets's discover the men and women who contribute to innovative computer science and mathematics and drive the development of our digital world. The Inria awards also underline the contributions of research and innovation support teams who play a significant part in the efficiency and successes of Inria. All the 2017 awards have been honoured during the Inria 50th birthday event at the CENTQUATRE-PARIS on novembre 7th 2017.

Inria-French Académie des sciences Grand Prize :  Olivier Gascuel

Research Director at the CNRS (French National Centre for Scientific Research) and a pioneer in bioinformatics. Olivier Gascuel is head of the Centre of Bioinformatics, Biostatistics and Integrative Biology at the Institut Pasteur. A mathematician and computer scientist by training, from 1985 onwards Olivier Gascuel focused on molecular biology, thereby becoming a ‘bioinformatician’ at a time when the term had not yet been invented. He is the author of over 150 scientific publications and software programs that are today used in numerous fields, from biology and the environment to medicine. In 2009, Olivier Gascuel received the CNRS Silver Medal in computer science. His recent work focuses on pathogens, in particular HIV/AIDS.

Inria-French Académie des sciences-Dassault Systèmes Innovation Award : Anne-Marie Kermarrec

Anne-Marie Kermarrec, a computer scientist, has been studying large-scale distributed systems for over 20 years. Winner of the European Research Council Starting Grant category in 2008, five years later she would add an ERC Proof of Concept grant to her list of achievements. In 2012, she was appointed visiting professor at the Swiss research institute École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL). After a spell at Microsoft Research and a research director post at Inria, she decided to launch her start-up, Mediego, which offers personalised recommendation solutions to content and media publishers.

Inria-Académie des Sciences Young Researcher Award : Mazyar Mirrahimi

Two-time gold medallist at the Mathematics Olympiad in Iran, silver medallist at the International Mathematics Olympiad in 1999, graduate of École polytechnique (X99) and UPMC (Pierre and Marie Curie University) – obtaining a Master’s in digital analysis in 2003 – Mazyar Mirrahimi achieved impressive results very early on in his career: identification in quantum chemistry and control of quantum systems for precision metrology. A pioneer in the control and measurement of quantum systems, having been at both Yale and Caltech, today he is head of the Quantic project team.

Support for Research and Innovation Inria Award : the international partnerships team of the EIPD (European and International Partnerships Department)

The award underlines Angélica Biard, Tania Castro, Laura Norcy and Julie Pomponne's contributions, among the EIPD, to the impact of the institute on every continent. The actions carried out by this team contribute to the dynamism of our collaborations with partners all over the world. As a result, Inria is building rich and lasting relationships with the best scientists and the leading universities and research institutions in the field of digital science.

Research Support Department Inria Award : the multiservice team responsible for the creation of the Login showroom

The team (Philippe Broun, Bendehiba Bouksara, Maria Christou, Marie Collin, Saloua Haraoubia, Jean Panzuti, Élise Taillant, Nicolas Turro and Magalie Vicente), is awarded for the implementation of Login, a place of meetings and exchanges at the Grenoble Rhône-Alpes centre that is conducive to the emergence of collaborations and innovations. The team in charge of this project enables Inria to make the activity of its scientists understandable, visible and tangible to diverse audiences, in particular industry and civil society players.

Keywords: Login Bioinformatics Inria Awards EIPD Olivier Gascuel Mediego Quantic computer Anne-Marie Kermarrec Mazyar Mirrahimi