Project-team

CALISTO

Stochastic Approaches for Complex Flows and Environment
Stochastic Approaches for Complex Flows and Environment

Turbulence modeling and particle dynamics are at play in numerous situations in which inertial/deformable/active particles are transported by a flow. This subject is of importance in many industrial and environmental situations as well as in health-related issues, and raises challenges in physical sciences, mathematics and numerical methods.

The CALISTO project team brings together a unique synergy between physics, mathematics and computational approaches for solving complex  environmental simulation models of particle-laden flows and to address the following challenges:

  • produce original answers (methodological and numerical) for challenging environmental simulation models, with applications to renewable energy, filtration/deposition technology in industry (cooling of thermal or nuclear power plants) and filtration/deposition, dispersion of materials or active agents (such as biological organisms, micro-robots);
  • design new mathematical tools to analyze the fundamental physics of turbulence;
  • develop numerical methods to analyze the displacement of micro-swimmers into a range of fluids such as water, non-Newtonian bodily fluids;
  • optimize and control the displacement of artificial micro-swimmers;
  • develop stochastic modeling approaches and approximation methods, in the rich context of particle-particle and fluid-particle interactions in complex flows.
  • contribute to the numerical probability field with new simulation methods for complex Stochastic Differential Equations (SDEs) arising through multiscale Lagrangian Modeling of material/fluid particle dynamics with interaction.

Adopting a combination of microscopic and macroscopic descriptions, CALISTO’s strategy relies on an original and coherent methodology, mathematical frameworks supporting stochastic modeling, as well as sophisticated numerical methods in the field of computational probability.

Calisto is a joint Project-Team between Inria and CNRS, Cemef, throught the Computing and Fluids (CFL) research group at Cemef.

Centre(s) inria
Sophia
In partnership with
CNRS

Members

Team leader

Sandrine Boute

Team assistant

News

Equipe-projet

CALISTO

Approches stochastiques pour les écoulements complexes et l’environnement
Approches stochastiques pour les écoulements complexes et l’environnement

La modélisation de la turbulence et la dynamique des particules sont en jeu dans de nombreuses situations où des particules inertielles/déformables/actives sont transportées par un écoulement. Ce sujet est important dans de nombreuses situations industrielles et environnementales ainsi que dans des questions liées à la santé. Il pose des défis en sciences physiques, en mathématiques et en méthodes numériques.

L'équipe-projet commune CALISTO réunit une synergie unique entre la physique, les mathématiques et le calcul scientifique pour résoudre des modèles de simulation complexes d'écoulements chargés de particules et pour relever les défis suivants :

  • produire des réponses originales (méthodologiques et numériques) pour des modèles de simulation environnementale difficiles, avec des applications aux énergies renouvelables, à la technologie de filtration/dépôt dans l'industrie, et à la dispersion de matériaux ou d'agents actifs (tels que les organismes biologiques, les micro-robots) ;
  • concevoir de nouveaux outils d'analyses mathématiques pour la physique fondamentale de la turbulence ;
  • développer des méthodes numériques pour analyser le déplacement de micro-nageurs dans une gamme de situation allant de l'eau, à des les fluides  non newtoniens ;
  • optimiser et contrôler le déplacement des micro-nageurs artificiels ;
  • développer des approches de modélisation stochastique et des méthodes d'approximation, dans le  contexte riche des interactions particules-particules et fluides-particules dans les écoulements complexes.
  • contribuer au domaine des probabilités numériques grâce à de nouvelles méthodes de simulation pour les équations différentielles stochastiques (EDS) complexes résultant de la modélisation lagrangienne multi-échelle de la dynamique des particules de matériaux/fluides avec interaction.

Adoptant une combinaison de descriptions microscopiques et macroscopiques, la stratégie de CALISTO repose sur une méthodologie originale et cohérente, un cadre mathématique soutenant la modélisation stochastique, ainsi que des méthodes numériques sophistiquées dans le domaine des probabilités numériques.

Calisto est une équipe-projet comune entre l'Inria et le CNRS, Cemef, à travers le groupe de recherche 'Computing and Fluids' (CFL) du Cemef.

Centre(s) inria
Sophia Antipolis - Méditerranée
En partenariat avec
CNRS

Membres de l'équipe-projet

Responsable de l'équipe

Boute Sandrine

Assistant(e) de l'équipe