Project-team

PACAP

Pushing Architecture and Compilation for Application Performance
Pushing Architecture and Compilation for Application Performance

In brief, the long-term goal of the PACAP project-team is about performance of computing systems, that is: how fast programs run. We intend to contribute to the ongoing race for exponentially increasing performance and for performance guarantees.

Traditionally, the term ``performance'' is understood as ``how much time is needed to complete execution''. Latency-oriented techniques focus on minimizing the average-case execution time (ACET). We are also interested in other definitions of performance. Throughput-oriented techniques are interested in how many units of computations can be completed per unit of time. This is more relevant on manycores and GPUs where many computing nodes are available, and latency is less critical. Finally, we also study worst-case execution times (WCET). They are extremely important for critical real-time systems where designers must guarantee that deadlines are met, in any situation.

Given the complexity of current systems, simply assessing their performance has become a non-trivial task which we also plan to tackle.

We occasionally consider other metrics related to performance, such as power efficiency, total energy, overall complexity, and real-time response guarantee. Our ultimate goal is to propose solutions that make computing systems more efficient, taking into account current and envisioned applications, compilers, runtimes, operating systems, and microarchitectures. And since increased performance often comes at the expense of another metric, identifying the related trade-offs is of interest to PACAP.

The past decade witnessed the end of the ``magically'' increasing clock frequency and the introduction of commodity multicore processors. PACAP is  experiencing the end of Moore's law (which states that the number of transistors in a circuit doubles approximately every two years), and the generalization of commodity heterogeneous manycore processors. This impacts how performance is increased and how it can be guaranteed. It is also a time where exogenous parameters should be promoted to first-class citizens:

  1. the existence of faults, whose impact is becoming increasingly important when the photo-lithography feature size decreases;
  2. the need for security at all levels of computing systems;
  3. green computing, or the growing concern of power consumption.
Centre(s) inria
Rennes
In partnership with
Université Rennes 1

Members

Team leader

Virginie Desroches

Team assistant

Equipe-projet

PACAP

Pushing Architecture and Compilation for Application Performance
Pushing Architecture and Compilation for Application Performance

PACAP: Performance des Applications par la Compilation et l'Architecture des Processeurs

En bref, l'objectif à long terme de l'équipe projet PACAP s'articule autour de la performance des ordinateurs, c'est-à-dire la vitesse à laquelle les programmes s'exécutent. Nous avons l'intention de contribuer aux besoins croissants de performance, et de garanties de temps d'exécution.

Traditionnellement, le terme « performance » est compris comme « combien de temps il faut pour exécuter un programme ». Il s'agit alors de minimiser la latence, le temps moyen d'exécution. Nous nous intéressons aussi à d'autres définitions de la performance. Le débit mesure combien de calculs peuvent être effectués par unité de temps. C'est une mesure plus pertinente pour les processeurs massivement parallèles et les GPU qui disposent d'un très grand nombre de cœurs, et pour lesquels la latence est moins critique. Finalement, nous nous intéressons aussi au pire temps d'exécution (WCET, pour worst-case execution time). Il est très important pour les systèmes temps réel critiques pour lesquels les concepteurs doivent garantir que les bornes de temps d'exécution sont strictement respectées, en toute situation.

La complexité des systèmes actuels est telle que simplement s'assurer de leur bonne performance est une tâche difficile, à laquelle nous allons nous attaquer.

Nous considérons occasionnellement d'autres métriques reliées à la performance, comme l'efficacité énergétique, l'énergie consommée, la complexité globale du système. Notre but est de proposer des solutions qui conduisent à des systèmes informatiques plus efficaces, en prenant en compte les applications, les compilateurs, les systèmes d'exploitation et les microarchitectures — actuels et à venir. Et comme il est d'usage qu'un gain en performance s'accompagne d'une dégradation d'un autre aspect, PACAP s'intéresse aux divers compromis.

La décennie passée a vu la fin de la croissance exponentielle de la fréquence d'horloge, et l'introduction des processeurs multicœurs grand public. PACAP connaît la fin de la loi de Moore (qui énonce que le nombre de transistors qui composent un circuit double approximativement tous les deux ans) et la généralisation des processeurs massivement parallèles hétérogènes. Cela aura un impact sur la façon dont la performance continue d'augmenter, et dont elle peut être garantie. C'est aussi le moment où de nouveaux paramètres doivent être pris en compte :

  1. l'existence de fautes, dont l'impact devient de plus en plus important, à mesure que la taille de gravure diminue ;
  2. les besoins en sécurité, à tous les niveaux des systèmes informatiques ;
  3. le green computing, c'est-à-dire l'amélioration de l'efficacité énergétique.
Centre(s) inria
Rennes - Bretagne Atlantique
En partenariat avec
Université Rennes 1

Membres

Responsable de l'équipe

Virginie Desroches

Assistant(e) de l'équipe