The StopCovid project-team and the ecosystem of contributors are working together to develop a mobile contact tracing app for France

Date :
Changed on 14/05/2020
Inria, ANSSI, Capgemini, Dassault Systèmes, Inserm, Lunabee Studio, Orange, Santé Publique France and Withings create the StopCovid project team in order to structure and strengthen their contribution to the government project to set up a mobile contact tracing application (StopCovid). The purpose of this project is to provide the French health authorities with a complementary digital tool to help manage the sanitary emergency against Covid-19.
Bandeau coronavirus

 

The French government has entrusted Inria with the operational management of the research and development project called "StopCovid", which brings together the expertise of national players, both public and private, within the StopCovid project team. All these players are contributing to the work already under way to provide all French citizens with a tool to better protect them against Covid-19.

Sharing the guidelines set by the Government, the project is based on five foundations:

  • The use of the StopCovid app as part of the global strategy for managing the health crisis and epidemiological monitoring. StopCovid project is an additional brick that provides public health actors with a decision-making support for the deconfinement phase.
  • Strict compliance with the data protection and privacy framework at national and European level, as defined in particular by French law and the RGPD, as well as the toolbox recently defined by the European Commission on proximity monitoring applications.
  • Transparency, which notably involves the dissemination, under an open source license, of the specific work carried out within the framework of the project. This is in order to provide all the guarantees in terms of controls by society: transparency of algorithms, open code, interoperability, auditability, security and reversibility of the solutions. Thus, this solution could offer basic building blocks that can be used by all countries that wish to use them.
  • Respect for the principles of digital sovereignty of the public health system: control of health choices by French and European society, protection and structuring of health data assets to guide the response to the epidemic and accelerate medical research.
  • The temporary nature of the project, whose lifespan will correspond, if deployed, to the duration of the management of the Covid-19 epidemic. 

 

The project, in its prototype construction phase, involves public and private organisations acting on a pro bono basis, as part of the StopCovid project team.

At European level, the project is also being carried out in close cooperation with national teams developing comparable applications in Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Spain and Norway, based on comparable approaches and ensuring interoperability.

Within the project, coordinated by Inria, the members of the StopCovid project team are involved in their field of expertise:

  • Inria : coordination and transmission protocol, privacy-by-design;
  • ANSSI : cybersecurity 
  • Capgemini : back-end architecture and development;
  • Dassault Systèmes : SecNumCloud qualified sovereign data infrastructure;
  • Inserm : health models;
  • Lunabee Studio : development of mobile applications;
  • Orange : application distribution and interoperability;
  • Santé Publique France : integration and coordination of the application in the global strategy of contact tracing;
  • Withings : connected objects.

Alongside them, the entire ecosystem of research, innovation and companies is mobilized through the "ecosystem of StopCovid contributors". Open, it brings together organizations or individuals who have shown their willingness to participate in the project, either through spontaneous contributions or in response to requests, whether through participation in technical expert groups, think tanks, provision of open source code, sharing of feedback on comparable solutions, or participation in field experiments.

Members of the StopCovid contributor ecosystem, as of May 11, 2020:

As individuals

  • Frédéric Arnoux (for STIM)
  • Sylvain Chaillou
  • Thomas Chappuis
  • Benjamin Duban (for STIM)
  • Gabriel Hubert
  • Jules Leclerc
  • Daniel Marhély

As an organization

 

Inria has taken responsibility for the StopCovid project. In these exceptional times for our Nation, France can count on its ecosystem of research, innovation and companies to carry out projects at the crossroads of the necessary effectiveness of health policies, respect for individual freedoms and the maintenance or even strengthening of our technological and digital sovereignty.

                                                                                                                       Bruno Sportisse, Inria CEO

 

 

Download the Press Release !

L'équipe-projet StopCovid et l’écosystème des contributeurs se mobilisent pour développer une application mobile de contact tracing pour la France

Date :
Mis à jour le 14/05/2020
Inria, ANSSI, Capgemini, Dassault Systèmes, Inserm, Lunabee Studio, Orange, Santé Publique France et Withings créent l’équipe-projet StopCovid afin de structurer et renforcer leur contribution au projet gouvernemental de mise en place d’une application mobile de contact tracing (StopCovid). Ce projet vise à mettre à disposition des autorités de santé françaises un outil numérique complémentaire d’aide à la gestion de la crise sanitaire concernant le Covid-19.
Bandeau coronavirus

 

Le Gouvernement français a confié à Inria le pilotage opérationnel du projet de recherche et développement baptisé « StopCovid » qui réunit l’expertise d’acteurs nationaux, publics comme privés, au sein de cette équipe-projet StopCovid. L’ensemble de ces acteurs contribue aux travaux déjà engagés pour mettre à disposition de tous les Français un outil permettant de mieux les protéger contre le Covid-19.

Partageant les orientations fixées par le Gouvernement, le projet repose sur cinq fondements :

  • L’inscription de l’application StopCovid dans la stratégie globale de gestion de la crise sanitaire et de suivi épidémiologique. StopCovid est une brique complémentaire qui fournit aux acteurs de la santé publique un outil d’aide à la décision pour la phase de déconfinement.  
  • Le strict respect du cadre de protection des données et de la vie privée au niveau national et européen, tel que défini notamment par la loi française et le RGPD ainsi que la boîte à outils récemment définie par la commission européenne sur les applications de suivi de proximité.
  • La transparence, qui passe notamment par la diffusion, sous une licence open source, des travaux spécifiques menés dans le cadre du projet. Ceci afin d’apporter toutes les garanties en matière de contrôles par la société : transparence des algorithmes, code ouvert, interopérabilité, auditabilité, sécurité et réversibilité des solutions. Ainsi, cette solution pourrait proposer des briques de base exploitables par tous les pays qui le souhaiteraient.
  • Le respect des principes de souveraineté numérique du système de santé publique : maîtrise des choix de santé par les sociétés française et européenne, protection et structuration du patrimoine des données de santé pour guider la réponse à l’épidémie et accélérer la recherche médicale.
  • Le caractère temporaire du projet, dont la durée de vie correspondra, s’il est déployé, à la durée de gestion de l’épidémie de Covid-19

 

Le projet, dans sa phase de construction d’un prototype, implique des organisations publiques et privées agissant à titre gracieux, au sein de l’équipe-projet StopCovid.

Au niveau européen, le projet est également mené en liens étroits avec les équipes nationales développant des applications comparables en Allemagne, en Grande-Bretagne, en Italie, en Espagne ou encore en Norvège, sur la base d’approches comparables et garantissant l’interopérabilité.

Au sein du projet, coordonné par Inria, les membres de cette équipe-projet StopCovid interviennent sur leur champ d'expertise :

  • Inria : coordination et protocole de transmission, privacy-by-design ;
  • ANSSI : cybersécurité ;
  • Capgemini : architecture et codéveloppement back-end ;
  • Dassault Systèmes : infrastructure souveraine de données qualifiée SecNumCloud ;
  • Inserm : modèles de santé ;
  • Lunabee Studio : développement des applications mobiles ;
  • Orange : diffusion de l’application et interopérabilité ;
  • Santé Publique France : insertion et articulation de l’application dans la stratégie globale de détection et suivi des contacts (« contact tracing ») ;
  • Withings : objets connectés.

À leurs côtés, l’ensemble de l’écosystème de recherche, d’innovation et d’entreprises est mobilisé à travers l’« écosystème des contributeurs de StopCovid ». Ouvert, il rassemble des organisations ou personnes physiques, qui ont manifesté leur volonté de participer au projet, par des contributions spontanées ou en réponse à des sollicitations, que ce soit par la participation à des groupes d’experts techniques, à des groupes de réflexion, la mise à disposition de codes open source, le partage de retours d’expériences sur des solutions comparables, ou encore la participation aux expérimentations de terrain.

Les membres de l’écosystème des contributeurs de StopCovid, à la date du 11 mai 2020 :

À titre individuel

  • Frédéric Arnoux (pour STIM) ;
  • Sylvain Chaillou ;
  • Thomas Chappuis ; 
  • Benjamin Duban (pour STIM) ;
  • Gabriel Hubert ;
  • Jules Leclerc ;
  • Daniel Marhély.

En tant qu’organisation

 

Inria s’est engagé en responsabilité dans le projet Stop Covid. En ces moments exceptionnels pour notre Nation, la France peut compter sur son écosystème de recherche, d’innovation et d’entreprises pour mener à bien des projets au croisement de la nécessaire efficacité des politiques de santé, du respect des libertés individuelles et du maintien voire du renforcement de notre souveraineté technologique et numérique.

                                                                                                                       Bruno Sportisse, PDG d'Inria

 

 

Téléchargez le communiqué de presse complet !