Project-team

SISTM

Statistics In System biology and Translational Medicine
Statistics In System biology and Translational Medicine

Objectives

The challenge is to analyze these BIG DATA to answer clinical and biological questions by using appropriate statistical methods. With data on the machinery of a cell to the clinical status of individuals in any circumstances including in clinical trials, new tools are needed to translate information obtained from complex systems into knowledge. This has led to the field of « systems biology » and « systems medicine » by extension, which naturally takes place in the context of translational medicine that links clinical and biological research.
The statistical analysis of these data is facing several issues:

  • There are more parameters (p) to estimate than individuals (n)
  • The types/nature of data are various
  • The relationship between variables is often complex (e.g. non linear) and can change over time to tackle these issues we are developing specific approaches for these questions, often related to immunology.

The methods are mainly based on either mecanistic modeling using differential equation systems or on statistical learning methods. The general paradigm of our approach is to include as much information as available to answer a given question. This information comes from the available data but also from prior biological information available defining the structure of the model or restricting the space of the parameter values. We develop and apply our methods mainly for applications belonging to clinical research especially HIV immunology. For instance, several projects are devoted to the modelling of the response to antiretroviral treatments, immune interventions or vaccine in HIV infected patients.

Applications are provided by the Vaccine Research Institute (VRI), other teams in the research centre and the Bordeaux Hospital Clinical Trial Unit (CTU).

Centre(s) inria
Bordeaux

Members

Team leader

Plaza Audrey

Team assistant

Equipe-projet

SISTM

Statistics In System biology and Translational Medicine
Statistics In System biology and Translational Medicine

Objectifs

Le défi est d’analyser ces BIG DATA pour répondre à des questions cliniques et biologiques à l’aide de méthodes statistiques appropriées. Pour comprendre les données d’une cellule à l’état clinique des individus dans toutes les circonstances, y compris dans les essais cliniques, de nouveaux outils sont nécessaires pour traduire les informations obtenues à partir des systèmes complexes. Par extension, cela a conduit au domaine de la « médecine des systèmes » « biologie des systèmes », qui a lieu naturellement dans le cadre de la médecine translationnelle reliant la recherche clinique et biologique.

L’analyse statistique de ces données est confronté à plusieurs problèmes :

  • Il y a plus de paramètres (p) à estimer que d’individus (n)
  • Les types / nature des données sont différentes
  • La relation entre les variables est souvent complexe (par exemple non linéaire) et peut changer au fil du temps. Pour faire face à ces problèmes, nous développons des approches spécifiques souvent liées à l’immunologie.

Les méthodes sont principalement basées sur la modélisation mécanistique utilisant des systèmes d’équations différentielles ou sur les méthodes d’apprentissage statistique. Le paradigme de notre approche est d’inclure autant d’informations que disponible pour répondre à une question donnée. Ces informations proviennent des données disponibles, mais aussi de l’information biologique initiale définissant la structure du modèle ou de restreindre l’espace des valeurs de paramètres. Nous développons et appliquons nos méthodes principalement pour des applications appartenant à la recherche clinique en particulier l’immunologie du VIH. Par exemple, plusieurs projets sont consacrés à la modélisation de la réponse aux traitements antirétroviraux, les interventions immunitaires ou vaccin chez les patients infectés par le VIH.

Les applications sont réalisées en collaboration avec the Vaccine Research Institute (VRI), d’autres équipes du centre ainsi que l’Unité de Soutien Méthodologique à la Recherche Clinique et Epidémiologique (USMR) du CHU de Bordeaux.

Centre(s) inria
Bordeaux - Sud-Ouest
En partenariat avec
Université de Bordeaux,INSERM

Membres

Responsable de l'équipe

Audrey Plaza

Assistant(e) de l'équipe