Project-team

MNEMOSYNE

Mnemonic Synergy
Mnemonic Synergy

At the frontier between integrative and computational neuroscience, we propose to model the brain as a system of active memories in synergy and in interaction with the internal and external world and to simulate it as a whole and in situation. Major cognitive and behavioral functions (eg. attention, recognition, planning, decision) emerge from adaptive sensorimotor loops involving the external world, the body and the brain. We study, model and implement such loops and their interactions toward a fully autonomous behavior. With such a “systemic” approach, we mean that such complex systems can only be truly apprehended as a whole and in natural behavioral situation. To design the functioning and learning characteristics of such models at the level of the neuronal circuitry and to implement them in systems interacting in loops with the world, we combine principles, methods and tools from different fields of science.

  • We model the main cerebral structures and flows of information in the brain (as in integrative and cognitive neuroscience), stressing the links between brain, body and environment (embodied cognition).
  • We use distributed computing formalisms allowing us to implement such models at different levels of description (as in computational neuroscience).
  • We deploy our models at large scale (high performance computing), incarnate them in bodies interacting with the environment (autonomous robotics) and simulate them interactively with respect to events encountered by a (virtual/real) robot.

Not only do we expect to share back such an integrative approach among these different fields of science, but beyond, we also aim at contributing to other related areas of both life sciences (neuroscience, medicine) and digital science (computer science, machine learning).

Centre(s) inria
Bordeaux
In partnership with
Université de Bordeaux,CNRS,Institut Polytechnique de Bordeaux

Members

Team leader

Plumejeau Chrystel

Team assistant

Equipe-projet

MNEMOSYNE

Mnemonic Synergy
Mnemonic Synergy

Aux frontières des neurosciences intégratives et computationnelles, nous proposons de modéliser le cerveau comme un système de mémoires actives en synergie et en interaction avec les mondes interne et externe et de le simuler comme un tout et en situation. Les principales fonctions cognitives et comportementales (ex: attention, reconnaissance, planification, décision) émergent de boucles sensorimotrices impliquant le monde extérieur, le corps et le cerveau. Nous étudions, modélisons et implémentons ces boucles et leurs interactions dans la perspective d'un comportement complétement autonome. Avec cette approche « systémique », nous indiquons que de tels systèmes complexes ne peuvent être vraiment appréhendés que comme un tout et dans des situations comportementales naturelles. Pour mettre au point les caractéristiques fonctionnelles et adaptatives de tels modèles at niveau de leur circuiterie neuronale et pour les implémenter dans des systèmes interagissant avec le monde, nous combinons les principes, les méthodes et les outils de différents domaines scientifiques.

  • Nous modélisons les principales structures cérébrales et les principaux flux d'information du cerveau (comme en neurosciences intégratives et cognitives) en insistant sur les liens entre le cerveau, le corps et l'environnement (cognition incarnée).
  • Nous utilisons des formalismes de calcul distribué nous permettant d'implanter des modèles à différentes échelles de description (comme en neurosciences computationnelles).
  • Nous déployons nos modèles à large échelle (calcul à haute performance), les incarnons dans des corps en interaction avec l'environnement (robotique autonome) et nous les simulons de façon interactive avec les événements rencontrés par un robot virtuel/réel.

En retour, nous pensons pouvoir proposer à ces différents domaines une approche intégrative innovante et pensons pouvoir aussi contribuer à d'autres domaines connexes dans les sciences du vivant (neurosciences, médecine) et les sciences du numérique (informatique, apprentissage automatique).

Centre(s) inria
Bordeaux - Sud-Ouest
En partenariat avec
Université de Bordeaux,CNRS,Institut Polytechnique de Bordeaux

Membres

Responsable de l'équipe

Chrystel Plumejeau

Assistant(e) de l'équipe