La science dans la société

Changed on 18/12/2019

As France’s national institute for digital science and technology, Inria’s primary objective is to support societal change, since digital technology is integrated into all areas of our lives. Science should be a common good, which is why Inria’s outreach teams have set up digital education schemes targeted not only at teachers and their pupils, but at the wider public as well.

Fête de la science : Visite de l'appartement du futur avec le robot humanoïde Pepper.
© Photographie Clotilde Verdenal / LoeilCreatif (pour Inria)

Digital education schemes

Working in conjunction with major figures in scientific outreach, Inria has developed a range of initiatives for teaching digital science, with something for everybody.

A partnership with Universcience

Inria has entered into a partnership with Universcience, alongside whom the institute works to develop joint scientific outreach initiatives. Currently on display at La Cité des Sciences, the ‘Robots’ exhibition came about as a result of a partnership between Universcience, the CNRS and Inria. In March 2018, a permanent digital science and IT space was set up at Le Palais de la Découverte, confirming IT's entry into this iconic venue for scientific culture.

Class'Code

Illustration classe médiation
© Inria / Photo G. Scagnelli

Class’Code is an innovative educational programme which was first made available to education professionals at the beginning of the school year in 2016. Its aim is to help with the set-up of ‘discovery’ workshops, during which school pupils between the ages of 8 and 14 are introduced to IT concepts. For this purpose, the programme has 5 MOOC-type online modules, with learners also given the time to meet with each other. On the menu: coding information, creative programming, fun robots and analysis of the societal challenges linked to digital technology - with artificial intelligence soon to be added.

A MOOC for digital science and technology

Since the beginning of the school year in 2019, all fifth-year pupils in France have been given an hour and a half a week of teaching on digital science and technology. In order to help teachers put courses together, Inria set up a MOOC for digital science and technology, a highly interactive tool used to introduce the key themes of the programme and to stimulate discussion through a collaborative platform. The aim is to encourage fifth-year pupils to play an active, conscious role in the digital transformation of society, as opposed to being mere consumers.

Competitions with France-IOI

Inria supports two competitions - Castor and Alkindi - organised by the France-IOI association, helping to prepare and correct subjects in addition to awarding prizes. Puzzles, challenges, logical games, etc. - Castor is an international competition set up to introduce as many young people as possible to IT and digital science through fun activities. Alkindi, meanwhile, is a competition dedicated specifically to cryptography. These workshops were devised with the goal of showing participants that IT is a science, not just technology.

La Fête de la Science

Teegi à la fête de la science
© Inria / Photo G. Scagnelli

Inria participates each year in La Fête de la Science, with open days at local centres and visits made to schools. This gives the institute the opportunity to share nuggets from digital science during technological demonstrations, seminars, citizens’ discussions and “science cafes”, among other events.

  •  Join us each year for La Fête de la Science!

 

Trame d'illustration du site Interstices.info

Explore digital science!

Interstices.info, the online scientific culture journal

Resources for everyone

Whether in the classroom or at home, and for young and old alike, science and digital technology are best understood through games and sharing. Inria provides a range of interactive materials for both teachers and families.

Useful contacts for digital education

Are you looking for educational resources or to book a visit for a class or an event? Do you have a question about science? Do you want an answer from an expert? Do you want to be put in touch with a researcher? Dedicated personnel will be on-hand to guide you, whether in Paris or elsewhere in the country..

La science dans la société

Mis à jour le 06/01/2020

Institut national des sciences et technologies du numérique, Inria a à cœur d’accompagner les mutations sociétales liées à l’intégration du numérique dans tous les domaines de la vie. Parce que la science doit être un bien commun, les équipes de médiation d’Inria ont créé des dispositifs d’éducation au numérique destinés aux enseignants et à leurs élèves, mais aussi au grand public.

Fête de la science : Visite de l'appartement du futur avec le robot humanoïde Pepper.
© Photographie Clotilde Verdenal / LoeilCreatif (pour Inria)

Dispositifs d’éducation au numérique

En partenariat avec les grands acteurs de la médiation scientifique, Inria met en œuvre de nombreuses actions d’apprentissage des sciences du numérique à destination de tous les publics.

Un partenariat avec Universcience

Dans le cadre d’un partenariat, Inria développe des actions de médiation scientifique communes avec Universcience. Actuellement à l’affiche à la Cité des sciences, l’exposition Robots est ainsi le fruit d’un partenariat entre Universcience, le CNRS et Inria. En mars 2018, un Espace Informatique et Sciences du numérique a été installé de façon permanente au Palais de la Découverte, marquant ainsi l’entrée de la discipline informatique dans ce lieu emblématique de la culture scientifique.

Class'Code

Illustration classe médiation
© Inria / Photo G. Scagnelli

Class’Code est un programme de formation innovant mis à la disposition des professionnels de l’éducation et de l’animation depuis la rentrée 2016. L’enjeu ? Apprendre à créer des ateliers Découverte au fil desquels les filles et les garçons de 8 à 14 ans pourront être initiés à la pensée informatique. Pour cela, le programme propose cinq modules en ligne de type Mooc ainsi que des temps de rencontre entre apprenants. Au menu : codage de l’information, programmation créative, robotique ludique, mais aussi analyse des enjeux sociétaux du numérique – avec prochainement une ouverture à l’intelligence artificielle

Mooc SNT

Depuis la rentrée 2019, un enseignement en Sciences numériques et Technologie (SNT) à raison d’une heure et demie hebdomadaire est dispensé à tous les élèves des classes de seconde. Afin d’aider les enseignants à construire leur proposition de cours, Inria a créé le Mooc SNT, un outil très interactif qui permet à la fois de s’initier aux thématiques du programme et d’échanger à travers une plate-forme collaborative. L’objectif ? Susciter chez les élèves de seconde le désir d’être des acteurs conscients de la transformation numérique plutôt que de simples consommateurs.

Des concours avec France-IOI

Inria soutient les concours Castor et Alkindi organisés par l’association France-IOI, en participant à la préparation et à la correction des sujets mais aussi à la remise des prix. Énigmes, défis, jeux de logique, etc., le concours international Castor vise à faire découvrir au plus grand nombre de jeunes l’informatique et les sciences du numérique à travers des activités ludiques. Le concours Alkindi est quant à lui dédié spécifiquement à la cryptographie. Ces ateliers ont été conçus pour démontrer à leurs participants que l'informatique est une science en plus d'être une technologie.

Fête de la Science

Teegi à la fête de la science
© Inria / Photo G. Scagnelli

Chaque année, Inria participe à la Fête de la Science avec des journées portes ouvertes dans les centres locaux ainsi que des interventions dans les établissements scolaires. C'est l'occasion de partager les pépites des sciences du numérique lors de démonstrations de technologies, de conférences, de débats citoyens et autres « cafés scientifiques ».

 

  • Retrouvez-nous chaque année à l'occasion de la Fête de la science !

 

Trame d'illustration du site Interstices.info

Explorez les sciences du numérique !

Interstices.info, la revue de culture scientifique en ligne

Des ressources pour tous les publics

Que ce soit en classe ou en famille, pour les petits ou pour les grands, les sciences et les technologies du numérique se transmettent volontiers à travers le partage et le jeu. Inria met à la disposition des enseignants et des familles de nombreuses ressources interactives.

Contacts pour l'éducation au numérique

Vous êtes à la recherche de ressources éducatives ou bien vous souhaitez solliciter une intervention en classe ou lors d’un évènement ? Poser une question de curiosité scientifique ? Obtenir la réponse d’un expert ? Être mis en relation avec un chercheur ou une chercheuse ? Des personnes dédiées sont là pour vous orienter, que ce soit à Paris ou en région.