Project-team

EMPENN

Neuroimaging: methods and applications
Neuroimaging: methods and applications

Empenn (means "Brain" in Breton language) ERL U1228 research team is jointly affiliated with Inria, Inserm (National Institute of Health and Scientific Research), CNRS (INS2I institute), and University of Rennes I. It is a team of IRISA/UMR CNRS 6074. Empenn is based in Rennes, at both the medical and science campuses. The team follows the "VisAGeS” one that was created for 12 years in 2006 by Inria, As for "VisAGeS”, Empenn hosts the accreditation number U1228 renewed by Inserm in 2017, after a competitive evaluation conducted by both HCERES and Inserm.

Through this unique partnership, the ambition of Empenn is to establish a multidisciplinary team bringing together researchers in information sciences and medicine. Our medium- and long-term objective is to introduce our basic research to clinical practice, while maintaining the excellence of our methodological research.

Our goal is to foster research in medical imaging, neuroinformatics and population cohorts. In particular, the Empenn team  targets the detection and development of imaging biomarkers for brain diseases and focus its efforts on translating this research to clinics and clinical neurosciences at large.

In particular, the objective of Empenn is to propose new statistical and computing methods, and to measure and model brain morphological, structural and functional states in order to better diagnose, monitor and deliver treatment for mental, neurological and substance use disorders. We propose combining advanced instrumental devices and new computational models to provide advanced diagnosis, therapeutic and neuro-rehabilitation solutions for some of the major disorders of the developing and aging brain.

Generic and challenging research topics in this broad domain include finding new ways to compare models and data, assist decisions and interpretation, and develop feedback from experiments. These activities are performed in close collaboration with the Neurinfo in vivo imaging platform, which is a critical environment for the experimental implementation of our research on challenging clinical research projects and the development of new clinical applications.

Centre(s) inria
Rennes
In partnership with
CNRS,Université Rennes 1,INSERM

Members

Team leader

Armelle Mozziconacci

Team assistant

Equipe-projet

EMPENN

Neuroimagerie: méthodes et applications
Neuroimagerie: méthodes et applications

L'équipe de recherche ERL U1228 Empenn (qui signifie "cerveau " en breton) est affiliée à Inria, à l'Inserm (Institut national de la santé et de la recherche scientifique), au CNRS (institut INS2I) et à l'université de Rennes I. C’est une équipe de l’IRISA, UMR CNRS 6074. Empenn est située à Rennes, à la fois sur les campus médicaux et scientifiques. L'équipe fait suite à "VisAGeS" qui avait été créée en 2006 pour douze ans par Inria. Dans cette continuité, Empenn est affiliée à l’Inserm comme équipe de recherche labélisée ERL U1228. 

À travers ce partenariat unique, l'ambition d'Empenn est de mettre en place une équipe pluridisciplinaire réunissant des chercheurs en sciences du numérique et en médecine. Notre but à moyen et long termes est d’insérer notre recherche fondamentale dans la pratique clinique, tout en maintenant l'excellence de notre recherche méthodologique.

Notre objectif est de favoriser la recherche en imagerie médicale, en neuro-informatique et en cohortes d’imagerie (imagerie de population). En particulier, Empenn cible la détection et le développement de biomarqueurs d'imagerie pour les maladies du cerveau et concentre ses efforts sur l'application de cette recherche dans les neurosciences cliniques en général.

En particulier, la finalité d'Empenn est de proposer de nouvelles méthodes statistiques et informatiques pour mesurer et modéliser les états morphologiques, structurels et fonctionnels du cerveau afin de mieux diagnostiquer, surveiller et traiter les troubles mentaux, neurologiques ou liés aux addictions. Nous proposons de combiner des systèmes instrumentaux de pointe et de nouveaux modèles computationnels pour fournir des solutions diagnostiques, thérapeutiques et de réadaptation neurologique avancées pour certains des principaux troubles du développement et du vieillissement du cerveau.

Dans ce vaste domaine, les thèmes de recherche sont à la fois génériques et stimulants. Ils comprennent la recherche sur de nouvelles façons de comparer modèles et données, sur la mise en place de solutions pour l’aide à la décision et/ou à l'interprétation des données, ou encore de développer des procédures de neurofeedback à partir d'expériences d'imagerie en temps réel. Ces activités sont réalisées en étroite collaboration avec la plateforme d'imagerie in vivo Neurinfo, qui offre un environnement de premier plan pour la réalisation expérimentale de nos études sur des projets de recherche ambitieux et pour le développement de nouvelles applications cliniques.

Centre(s) inria
Rennes - Bretagne Atlantique
En partenariat avec
CNRS,Université Rennes 1,INSERM

Membres

Responsable de l'équipe

Armelle Mozziconacci

Assistant(e) de l'équipe