Health - Personalised Healthcare

Modelling biofluid mechanics

Date:
Changed on 26/07/2021
The Commedia project team, a joint undertaking involving Inria Paris, Sorbonne University and the CNRS, specialises in mathematics applied to medicine and biology. Their research focuses on modelling the living world, with a particular focus on digital simulations of biofluid mechanics.
Liquide
© Unsplash / Cassi Josh

Digital flow simulation

Commedia. Don’t let the name fool you: there’s nothing funny about this team. The acronym “Commedia” stands for Computational Mathematics for Bio-medical Applications. This project team is a joint undertaking involving Inria Paris, Sorbonne University and the CNRS, and was set up in mid-2019.  “The majority of our permanent members were originally part of the REO project team, headed up by Jean-Frédéric Gerbeau, who has since become Inria’s Deputy CEO for Science”, explains Miguel Fernández, head of Commedia. The researcher, who is originally from Spain, joined Inria in 2004 after studying for a PhD in applied mathematics at Paris Dauphine University and a postdoc at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne.

Mathematics applied to health

Central to Commedia’s objectives is the creation of digital simulations of blood flow in the cardiovascular system and air flow in the respiratory system. “We use applied mathematics (in other words, the application of mathematical knowledge to other scientific fields, such as medicine or engineering) in an attempt to tackle problems encountered by doctors, surgeons and the biotech manufacturers developing medical devices”, explains Miguel Fernández. Commedia is made up of around twenty or so individuals from all over the world, including four Inria researchers, twelve PhD students, an Inria research engineer and two postdoctoral researchers. “We have also just been joined by two teacher-researchers from the prestigious Jacques-Louis Lions laboratory for research into applied mathematics (LJLL).”

Testing medical devices

When it comes to research, the “Commedians” - as they like to call themselves - have three main areas of focus:

  1. devising effective mathematical models and digital methods for simulations (and for simulations interacting with measured data);
  2. mathematically analysing these digital methods and models;
  3. and developing and validating scientific calculation software that implements these digital methods.
Poumons artificiels
© Unsplash / Robina Weermeijer

 

One example of this is the simulation tools that Commedia is working on, which can be used to test medical devices or treatments for respiratory diseases. “One of our goals is to understand and simulate the mechanisms through which air mixtures make breathing easier for people suffering from asthma.”

The work carried out by Commedia on modelling biofluid mechanics sometimes veers towards research carried out in other fields, such as aeronautics or geophysics. “The laws of physics are universal, and so we share certain types of mathematical models. We have spoken with colleagues working on tools for simulating water or wind turbines, for example”, explains Miguel Fernández. “But the physics of how a fluid interacts with the wing of an aircraft, a wind turbine rotor or tissue are all different. Changing application often means having to innovate in terms of the mathematical models and digital simulation methods used.” 

Vue aérienne d'éoliennes
© Unsplash / Made From The Sky

Simulating mitral valves and aneurysms

Right now, researchers from Commedia are working on a research project on mitral insufficiency, funded by the ANR (the French National Research Agency) and with the involvement of heart surgeons from Louis-Pradel hospital (Hospices Civils de Lyon), the main cardiology centre in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region. This initiative is called SIMR, which stands for Simulation et Imagerie pour la Régurgitation Mitrale (Simulation and Imaging for Mitral Regurgitation). As Miguel Fernández explains, the aim “is to improve the way in which diseases of the mitral valve are understood and treated”. The mitral valve connects the atrium and the ventricle on the left-hand side of the heart. Mitral insufficiency is the second cause of heart valve surgery in France.

“Surgeons from the hospital have developed an innovative tool for measuring the tension of artificial strings implanted in order to repair the mitral valve, inside the heart itself. They believe that low tension should be an objective indicator of a valve having been correctly repaired”, explains the director of research. “We were tasked with developing simulation tools for verifying this hypothesis from a digital perspective, based on patient data (MRIs, scans, etc.) obtained during a clinical trial in Lyon.” 

Coeur artificiel
© Unsplash / Jesse Orrico

Predicting the risk of aneurysms

Through Mocia Agbalessi, one of Commedia’s PhD students, the team has also been collaborating with Casis, a Dijon-based start-up that specialises in designing medical image processing tools. The goal behind this is to use these digital simulation tools in order to predict the risk of an aortic aneurysm rupture (abnormal dilation of the aortic wall). The methods currently used are based on purely anatomical criteria, which is extremely limited. The difficulty, however, lies in the fact “that the digital simulations have to be adapted to each individual patient by adding clinical 4D flow MRI data, which provides spatio-temporal information on the speed of the blood in the aorta that is obtained in a non-invasive way (no intervention is required)”. 4D flow MRI images show this information in three dimensions during the cardiac cycle.

The new team associated with Imfibio (Innovative Methods for Forward and Inverse problems in BIO-medical applications), which is headed up by Muriel Boulakia (one of the “Commedians” from the Jacques-Louis Lions Laboratory), has brought Commedia closer to the mathematics department at UCL (University College of London). It has been funded by Inria since 2020 and visits from their respective researchers are planned in order to strengthen cooperation around research into digital simulation solutions for heart valves and how data and simulations interact. The pandemic put paid to these visits taking place in 2020, but hopefully it won’t be too long before they can be rescheduled.

Find out more

Miguel A Fernandez

Miguel A. Fernández

Head of the COMMEDIA project-team & Head of Science Inria Paris

Santé - Médecine personnalisée

Modéliser la mécanique des biofluides

Date:
Mis à jour le 26/07/2021
Simuler numériquement le cheminement de l’air ou du sang à l’intérieur d’un corps ? C’est bientôt possible grâce aux progrès scientifiques de Commedia. L’équipe-projet plurielle compte sur la modélisation mathématique et les modèles numériques afin de comprendre et prédire les écoulements biofluides. Panorama.
Liquide
© Unsplash / Cassi Josh

Simulation numérique des écoulements

Commedia c'est du sérieux. Rien à voir donc avec celle dite “dell'arte” ! Cet acronyme signifie en anglais Computational mathematics for biomedical applications, et donc "mathématiques et calcul scientifique pour les applications biomédicales" en français. Cette équipe-projet commune au centre Inria de Paris, à Sorbonne Université et au CNRS, a été créée mi-2019. « La plupart des membres permanents sont issus de l’ancienne équipe-projet REO dirigée par Jean-Frédéric Gerbeau, aujourd'hui directeur général délégué à la science d'Inria », indique Miguel Fernández, responsable de Commedia. Le chercheur a rejoint Inria en 2004 après un doctorat en mathématiques appliquées à l'université Paris-Dauphine et un postdoctorat à l’École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne.

Des mathématiques appliquées pour la santé

La simulation numérique des écoulements du sang dans le système cardiovasculaire, et de l’air dans le système respiratoire, est au cœur des objectifs de Commedia. « Nous utilisons les mathématiques appliquées (autrement dit l'application du savoir mathématique aux autres domaines scientifiques, comme la médecine ou l’ingénierie) pour essayer d'apporter des réponses aux questions que se posent des médecins, des chirurgiens et des industriels de la biotech qui développent des dispositifs médicaux », explique Miguel Fernández. L'équipe Commedia rassemble déjà une vingtaine de personnes venant du monde entier, dont quatre chercheurs et chercheuses d’Inria, douze doctorants et doctorantes, un ingénieur de recherche d’Inria ainsi qu’un postdoctorant et une postdoctorante. « S'y ajoutent deux membres issus du prestigieux laboratoire de recherche en mathématiques appliquées Jacques-Louis Lions (LJLL: une enseignante-chercheuse, et un enseignant-chercheur qui vient tout juste de nous rejoindre », précise Miguel Fernández.

Tests de dispositifs médicaux

En matière de recherche, les "Commédiennes" et "Commédiens" – comme elles et ils aiment s'appeler – se concentrent sur trois grands enjeux :

  1. l'élaboration de modèles mathématiques et de méthodes numériques efficaces pour les simulations (et pour l'interaction des simulations avec les données mesurées) ;
  2. l'analyse mathématique de ces modèles et techniques numériques ;
  3. le développement et la validation de logiciels de calcul scientifique mettant en œuvre ces techniques numériques.
Poumons artificiels
© Unsplash / Robina Weermeijer

 

Des exemples ? Commedia travaille notamment sur des outils de simulation qui permettent de tester des dispositifs médicaux ou des médicaments apportés à des maladies respiratoires. « L'un des buts est de comprendre et de simuler les mécanismes par lesquels des mélanges d’air facilitent la respiration de sujets qui souffrent d'asthme », détaille le chercheur.

Les travaux de Commedia sur la modélisation des écoulements biofluides sont parfois proches des recherches effectuées dans d'autres domaines, comme l’aéronautique ou la géophysique : « Nous partageons certains types de modèles mathématiques car les lois de la physique sont universelles. Nous discutons par exemple avec des collègues qui développent des outils de simulation d’hydroliennes ou d’éoliennes, précise Miguel Fernández. Mais les régimes physiques de fluides qui interagissent avec une aile d'avion, une pale d'éolienne ou un tissu vivant ne sont pas identiques. Le fait de changer d'application nécessite souvent d’innover sur les modèles mathématiques et sur les méthodes de simulation numérique. »

Vue aérienne d'éoliennes
© Unsplash / Made From The Sky

Simulation sur les valves mitrales et les anévrismes

Actuellement, des chercheurs et des chercheuses de Commedia sont impliqués dans un projet de recherche sur l'insuffisance mitrale, financé par l'ANR (Agence nationale de la recherche) et mobilisant des chirurgiens cardiaques de l'hôpital Louis-Pradel (Hospices civils de Lyon), le principal centre cardiologique de la région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. Cette initiative est dénommée SIMR, pour Simulation et imagerie pour la régurgitation mitrale. Il vise, selon Miguel Fernández, « à améliorer la compréhension et le traitement de pathologies de la valve mitrale », celle qui relie l’oreillette et le ventricule de la partie gauche du cœur. L’insuffisance mitrale étant la deuxième cause de chirurgie valvulaire en France.

« Des chirurgiens de cet hôpital ont développé un outil innovant permettant de mesurer les tensions des cordages artificiels implantés pour réparer la valve mitrale, à l'intérieur même du cœur ; ils estiment qu'une faible tension devrait être un indicateur objectif de valve bien réparée, détaille le directeur de recherche. Nous avons été sollicités pour développer des outils de simulation qui devraient permettre de vérifier numériquement cette hypothèse, à partir de données de patients (IRM, scanner...) obtenues dans le cadre d’une étude clinique menée à Lyon. »

Coeur artificiel
© Unsplash / Jesse Orrico

Prédire les risques liés aux anévrismes

Par l'intermédiaire de Mocia Agbalessi, l'une de ses doctorantes, l'équipe collabore en outre avec Casis, une startup dijonnaise spécialisée dans la conception d'outils de traitement d’images médicales. Le but ? Utiliser des outils de simulation numérique pour prédire le risque de rupture d’un anévrisme aortique (dilatation anormale de la paroi de l’aorte), les techniques actuelles se basant sur des critères purement anatomiques qui présentent beaucoup de limites. La difficulté ? « Il faut pouvoir adapter les simulations numériques à chaque patient en les enrichissant avec ses données cliniques IRM de flux 4D, qui fournissent une information spatio-temporelle non invasive (obtenue sans intervention) de la vitesse du sang dans l’aorte », souligne Miguel Fernández. Les IRM de flux 4D permettent de visualiser ces informations dans les trois plans de l'espace, au cours du cycle cardiaque.

Grâce à l'équipe associée Imfibio (Innovative Methods for Forward and Inverse problems in BIO-medical applications dont Muriel Boulakia, "commédienne" du LJLL, est la coordinatrice) Commedia s'est rapprochée du département mathématiques de UCL (University College of London). Elle est financée par Inria depuis 2020 et doit renforcer la coopération en matière de recherche sur les solutions de simulation numérique des valves cardiaques et l’interaction entre données et simulation, grâce à des visites croisées de leurs chercheurs respectifs. Les déplacements n'ont pu avoir lieu en 2020 du fait de la pandémie. Mais ce n'est que partie remise.

Pour en savoir plus

Miguel A Fernandez

Miguel A. Fernández

Directeur de recherche de l'équipe-projet COMMEDIA et directeur scientifique du centre Inria de Paris