Bâtiment centre de recherche Inria Nancy Grand Est
© Inria/ photo C. Morel

Centre Inria
Nancy - Grand Est

The Inria Nancy-Grand Est Research Centre was established in 1986. Its growth has been part of the development of the Lorraine site with the University of Lorraine. It also has a branch in Strasbourg, which is developing alongside the University of Strasbourg.

 

The centre has 20 project teams, divided between Nancy, Strasbourg and Saarbrücken. Its activities occupy over 400 people, scientists and research and innovation support staff, including 38 different nationalities.

 

Inria Nancy - Grand Est centre research fields

Rooted in computer science and applied mathematics, Inria research and innovation projects cover everything related to digital science and technology:

Positioning & Strategic issues

Scientific priority areas:

  • Algorithmic intelligence;

  • Software-hardware interaction;

Strategic lines of development

  • Active participation in the dynamics of the site led by the University of Lorraine, with the aim of securing the long-term future of the LUE I-Site (Lorraine Université d'Excellence);
  • Development of cross-border cooperation with Germany, in particular on AI and cybersecurity;

In addition, the Centre will be supporting the development of the Inria branch on the Strasbourg site, with the following strategic objectives:

  • Participation in the dynamics of the site run by the University of Strasbourg, on the basis of the framework agreement signed in 2019, with priority going to the contribution of digital technology to personalised medicine;
  • Setting up of a strategic partnership with the Strasbourg IHU (university hospital institute) which will enable any Inria project team to get involved in areas of interest to the IHU;
  •  Setting up of an Inria satellite office at the Strasbourg site to prioritise personalised medicine.

Scientific Ecosystem & Partners

The center is a founding member of the I-site LUE (Lorraine University of Excellence). The center's project-teams are shared with the following academic partners: Université de Lorraine, Institut Élie Cartan de Lorraine (IECL), Université de Strasbourg, Laboratoire lorrain de recherche en informatique et ses applications (Loria), Laboratoire des sciences de l'ingénieur, de l'informatique et de l'imagerie (iCube) of Strasbourg, IHU (Institut de chirurgie guidée par l'image) of Strasbourg, the CNRS laboratory of mathematics IRMA.

The centre also has numerous partnerships, with:

  • Public research actors: CNRS ; Inrae ; Inserm ; CHRU ; AgroParisTech ; GeorgiaTech Lorraine
  • Industries :
    • Major groups and companies: Stellantis, Thales, Pharmagest/DiatélicCom-MedicIso-Top, RhinoTerrain, SBS InteractiveEMOSIS ;
    • Strategic national partnerships : TotalEnergies, Orange,SafranHive ;
    • Our startups and projects
  • Innovation ecosystem: Grand E-Nov, French Tech East, Incubateur Lorrain, SATT Sayens, SATT Conectus ; BPI Franc
  • Local authorities: Métropole du Grand Nancy : Région Grand-Est ; CHRU ;
  • International academic partners:  DFKI (German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence) in Saarbrücken and Kaiserslautern, CISPA (Helmholtz centre for information security) in Saarbrücken, Max-Planck institute for informatics in Saarbrücken

The Grand Est is a great place to live, with preserved landscapes and nature, and meaningful and valuable traditions. A true European crossroads and largely open to the international scene, its cross-border positioning contributes to its attractiveness. This region includes five historic cultural metropolises: Nancy, Metz, Reims, Mulhouse and Strasbourg. Nancy, known for its architectural identity and its gastronomy, is a creative, cultural, sporting and student metropolis. Located near the Vosges mountains, it offers many outdoor activities. Resolutely committed to eco-responsible projects, it is ranked among the top 10 greenest cities in France. It is also one of the cities with the lowest cost of living. Situated 1h30 from Paris by TGV, Nancy is strategically located and offers quick access to major European cities. It is also 40 minutes from Metz, an innovative metropolis where the arts are omnipresent. The green spaces and a lake near the centre offer the possibility of numerous activities. Strasbourg, the Alsatian Eurometropolis, is one of the most attractive areas in France due to its economic dynamism, its mobility plan, with more than 600 km of bicycle facilities, and its quality of life. Alsatian gastronomy will delight gourmets, and its famous Christmas market will make the eyes of young and old shine.

 

Recruiting

Scientists

Are you looking to work on stimulating projects in an international, interdisciplinary environment geared towards innovation? Every year Inria recruits interns, PhD students, postdoctoral researchers, research fellows and directors of research, either through competitive exams or through contracts.

In order to ensure that young researchers are able to carry out their work in optimal conditions from the moment they arrive, the centre has made it a priority to provide them with a thesis grant.

Technological development

Inria offers a unique environment to talented candidates in the field of technological and software development. Research engineers play a vital role in ensuring high-quality production of knowledge and value by research teams.

Research support

Inria is able to call upon talented individuals in more than 40 different research support positions in pursuit of its ambitions for human resources, administrative support, financial management and communication, and is proud of the 900 individuals on its support staff for research and innovation: truly the backbone of the institute.

Carrières et Métiers
© Inria / Photo C. Morel

Travailler chez Inria

Vous souhaitez devenir chercheur, ingénieur, accompagner la recherche au sein de l'institut ? ou simplement effectuer un stage ?

F. Cuny
© Inria / Pierre Morel

François Cuny

Director of the Inria Nancy - Grand Est research centre

Practical informations

Centre Inria Nancy

Address

615, rue du Jardin Botanique 54600 Villers-lès-Nancy

Contacts

Bâtiment centre de recherche Inria Nancy Grand Est
© Inria/ photo C. Morel

Centre Inria
Nancy - Grand Est

Le centre de recherche Inria Nancy - Grand Est a été créé en 1986. Sa dynamique s’inscrit dans le développement du site lorrain avec l'université de Lorraine. Il possède également une antenne à Strasbourg qui accompagne le développement de l'université de Strasbourg.

 

En 2021, le centre compte 20 équipes-projets déployées à Nancy, Strasbourg et Sarrebruck. Son action mobilise plus de 400 personnes, scientifiques et personnels d’appui à la recherche et à l’innovation, issues de 45 nationalités

Domaines de recherche du centre Inria Nancy - Grand Est

À partir de l’informatique et des mathématiques appliquées, les projets de recherche et d’innovation des équipes d’Inria touchent toutes les dimensions des sciences et technologies du numérique :

Axes scientifiques prioritaires :

  • Intelligence algorithmique ;
  • Interaction Software-Hardware ;

Axes de développement stratégique :

  • Participation active à la dynamique du site portée par l’université de Lorraine avec pour objectif la pérennisation de l’I-site LUE (Lorraine université d’excellence) ;
  • Développement des coopérations transfrontalières avec l’Allemagne notamment sur l’IA et la cybersécurité.

Par ailleurs, le centre accompagnera le développement de l’antenne Inria sur le site de Strasbourg, avec les objectifs stratégiques suivants :

  • Participation à la dynamique du site portée par l’université de Strasbourg, sur la base de l’accord-cadre signé en 2019, avec la priorité donnée à l’apport du numérique pour une médecine personnalisée ;
  • Mise en place d’un partenariat stratégique avec l’IHU de Strasbourg permettant l’implication de toute équipe-projet Inria dans les domaines d’intérêt de l’IHU ;
  • Mise en place d’une antenne Inria sur le site de Strasbourg dont l’axe prioritaire sera la médecine personnalisée.        

Écosytème scientifique, partenaires et territoire

Le centre est membre fondateur de l'I-site LUE (Lorraine Université d’Excellence). Les équipes-projets du centre sont communes avec les partenaires académiques suivants : l'Université de Lorraine, l'Institut Élie Cartan de Lorraine (IECL), l'Université de Strasbourg, le Laboratoire lorrain de recherche en informatique et ses applications (Loria), le Laboratoire des sciences de l'ingénieur, de l'informatique et de l'imagerie (iCube) de Strasbourg, l'IHU (Institut de chirurgie guidée par l’image) de Strasbourg et le laboratoire CNRS de mathématiques IRMA.

Le centre a également de nombreux autres partenariats :

  • Acteurs de la recherche publique : CNRS ; Inrae ; Inserm ; AgroParisTech ; GeorgiaTech Lorraine
  • Écosystème d'innovation : Grand E-Nov, French Tech East, Incubateur Lorrain, SATT Sayens, SATT Conectus ; BPI France
  • Collectivités territoriales : Métropole du Grand Nancy : Région Grand-Est ; CHRU ;
  • Entreprises :
    • PME-ETI : Pharmagest/Diatélic, Com-Medic, Studio MAIA, Groupe Open, SBS Interactive, Vize, Netlooks, TVPaint, Numerix Technologies, Invoxia ;
    • Grands groupes : Orange, Stellantis, Thales, Safran, PSA, Docaposte, Honda, Samsung, Facebook ;
    • Découvrez nos startups et projets de startups
  • Partenaires académiques internationaux : DFKI (Centre de recherche allemand sur l'intelligence artificielle) de Sarrebruck et Kaiserslautern, CISPA (Centre Helmholtz pour la sécurité de l’information) de Sarrebruck, Institut Max-Planck pour l’informatique de Sarrebruck.

Territoire où il fait bon vivre, avec des paysages et une nature préservés, des traditions fortes de sens et de valeur, le Grand Est présente de précieux atouts. Véritable carrefour européen et largement ouvert à l’international, son positionnement transfrontalier participe de son attractivité. Cette région regroupe cinq métropoles culturelles historiques que sont Nancy, Metz, Reims, Mulhouse et Strasbourg. Nancy, connue pour son identité architecturale et sa gastronomie, est une métropole créative, culturelle, sportive et étudiante. Située à proximité des Vosges, elle permet de s’adonner à de nombreuses activités de plein air. Résolument engagée dans des projets écoresponsables, elle est classée dans le top 10 des villes les plus vertes de France. C’est aussi l’une des villes où le coût de la vie est le moins élevé. Située à 1h30 de Paris en TGV, Nancy a une position stratégique et permet de rejoindre rapidement de grandes villes européennes. Elle est également située à 40 min de Metz, une métropole innovante où les Arts sont omniprésents. Les espaces verts et un plan d'eau proche du centre offrent la possibilité de réaliser de nombreuses activités. Strasbourg, Eurométropole alsacienne, fait partie des territoires les plus attractifs de France en raison de son dynamisme économique, son plan de mobilité, avec plus de 600 km d'aménagements cyclables, et sa qualité de vie. La gastronomie alsacienne ravira les gourmets, quant à son célèbre de marché de Noël, il fera briller les yeux des petits comme des grands.

Recrutement au centre Inria de Nancy - Grand Est

Scientifiques

Vous souhaitez travailler sur des projets stimulants dans un cadre international, innovant et interdisciplinaire ? Tous les ans, Inria recrute des stagiaires, doctorants et doctorantes, post-doctorants et post-doctorantes, chargés et chargées de recherche et des directeurs ou directrices de recherche, par voie de concours ou sur contrat.

Développement technologique

Inria propose un environnement unique à de nombreux talents dans le domaine du développement technologique et logiciel. Le métier d’Ingénieur de recherche est l’acteur essentiel pour accompagner et garantir la qualité de la production de savoirs et de valeur des équipes de recherche.

Appui à la recherche

Inria fait appel à des talents dans plus d’une quarantaine de métiers d'appui à la recherche afin de réaliser son ambition des ressources humaines à l’assistanat administratif et la gestion financière en passant par la communication… Les 900 femmes et hommes des services d'appui qui accompagnent les activités de recherche et d'innovation sont une fierté de l'institut et constituent la colonne vertébrale d'Inria.

F. Cuny
© Inria / Pierre Morel

François Cuny

Directeur du centre de recherche

Informations pratiques

Centre Inria Nancy

Adresse

615, rue du Jardin Botanique 54600 Villers-lès-Nancy

Contacts