Project-team

CASH

Compilation and Analyses for Software and Hardware
Compilation and Analyses for Software and Hardware

The advent of parallelism in supercomputers and in more classical end-user computers increases the need for high-level code optimization and improved compilers. The need for power-efficient computing have motivated the raise of various kinds of accelerators like GPU and more recently many-cores and FPGA in data-center. Writing efficient applications for these heterogeneous systems requires new approaches for software, compilers and runtimes.

Parallelism based on dataflow is one way to address this issue. A dataflow application is made of several actors that can perform computations and communicate with other actors. It can be implemented in several ways: as software running on a parallel general-purpose architecture or on accelerators like GPU or many-core, or as hardware implementation, possibly running on reconfigurable chips (FPGA).

The overall objective of the CASH team is to take advantage of the characteristics of the specific hardware (generic hardware, hardware accelerators or FPGA) to compile energy efficient software and hardware. The long-term objective is to provide solutions for the end-user developers to use at their best the huge opportunities of these emerging platforms.

Centre(s) inria
Lyon
In partnership with
Université Claude Bernard (Lyon 1),Ecole normale supérieure de Lyon,CNRS

Members

Matthieu Moy

Team leader

Solene Audoux

Team assistant

News

Equipe-projet

CASH

Compilation et Analyse, Logiciel et Matériel
Compilation et Analyse, Logiciel et Matériel

L'avènement du parallélisme dans les ordinateurs et les supercalculateurs amène de nouveaux besoins en optimisation de code et nécessite de meilleurs compilateurs. Les besoins en calcul performant et efficace énergétiquement ont motivé l'apparition de nouvelles architectures comme les processeurs graphiques (GPU) et plus récemment les pluri-cœurs (many-core) et les puces reconfigurables (FPGA).

Le parallélisme dit « flot de données » (dataflow) est une manière d'approcher le problème. Une application flot de données est constituée d'acteurs qui exécutent les calculs et communiquent avec les autres acteurs. On peut exécuter ces applications de plusieurs manières : comme du logiciel tournant sur un processeur généraliste, sur des accélérateurs comme les GPU ou sous forme d'implantation matérielle que l'on peut utiliser sur FPGA.

L'objectif général de l'équipe CASH est de tirer parti des caractéristiques du matériel spécifique (processeur, accélérateur ou FPGA) pour compiler du logiciel ou du matériel efficace énergétiquement. L'objectif à long terme est de fournir des solutions pour les développeurs, pour leur permettre d'utiliser au mieux ces technologies émergentes.

Centre(s) inria
Grenoble - Rhône-Alpes
En partenariat avec
Université Claude Bernard (Lyon 1),Ecole normale supérieure de Lyon,CNRS

Membres

Responsable de l'équipe

Solene Audoux

Assistant(e) de l'équipe

Dans l'actualité