Startups

Alice & Bob: “cat qubits” for a universal, error-free quantum computer

Date:
Changed on 11/03/2021
Think inside the box*: that's the slogan of Alice & Bob, a quantum computing start-up that uses cat qubits, named after Schrödinger’s famous experiment involving a cat placed in a sealed box.
Mains tenant une puce électronique
© Nil Hoppenot

*Think inside the box = traduit littéralement par "penser à l’intérieur de la boîte", cette phrase fait référence à l’expression anglaise "Think outsite the box", qui qui se traduit en français par "sortir des sentiers battus".

A counter-current approach to the quantum computer

The quantum computing market is estimated at several hundred billion dollars. It is expected to exponentially accelerate the solving of overly complex problems, including for current supercomputers, most notably for problems linked to optimisation, linear algebra and simulations in chemistry and biology. It is anticipated that it will affect all sectors of the economy, from finance and artificial intelligence to medicine. The start-up Alice & Bob is currently developing a universal, error-free quantum computer employing the use of cat qubits, deviating from the approach taken by their competitors.

What is a qubit?

The word “qubit” is a contraction of quantum and bit, and refers to the quantum state that represents the smallest unit of storage for quantum information. It is sometimes written as qbit.

A cat qubit is an “ideal”, error-free qubit, based on the quantum state of Schrödinger's cat. In Théau Peronnin's view, it provides an autonomous, integrated solution to the main problem facing quantum computers: error correction.

Alice & Bob came about as a result of a meeting within Quantic, a joint team involving Inria Paris and ENS-PSL. It was there that the two co-founders of the start-up - CEO Théau Peronnin, an experimental physicist, and CTO Raphaël Lescanne - studied for PhDs on superconducting circuits for use in quantum computing.

Raphaël Lescanne's research was focused on cat qubits developed based on a superconducting circuit, while Théau Peronnin's research was focused on a connected manipulation.

Lescanne's PhD delivered promising results, demonstrating that it was possible to create a qubit capable of correcting its errors autonomously without the need for redundancy: the cat qubit [Lescanne et al., Nature Physics 2020]. At the same time, a number of other researchers within the team were drafting a road map for the development of a complete, error-free quantum computer (capable of implementing any algorithm) based on this cat qubit [Guillaud et Mirrahimi, Phys. Rev. X 2019].

With support from the academic groups they emerged from, Inria Startup Studio and the Transfer, Innovation and Partnerships Department at the Inria Paris centre, Théau Peronnin and Raphaël Lescanne decided to join the global race for the development of a quantum computer. Their motivation for doing so was to transform their theories into a more tangible value proposition and to compete on equal terms with the major international groups. After having taken a number of courses (SATT, Deeptech Founders, CNRS Rise), Alice & Bob was set up in February 2020.

Membres de la startup Alice & Bob
Nil Hoppenot

 

Having raising an initial €3 million, Alice & Bob’s fifteen-person team has pushed ahead with its objective of becoming the world’s leading supplier of universal, error-free quantum processing power. Definitely a start-up to keep an eye on.

Find out more about Alice & Bob

An idea, a project... ? Talk to the Transfer, Innovation and Partnerships Department at the Inria Paris research centre

Alice & Bob : des qubits de chat pour un ordinateur quantique universel et sans erreur

Date:
Mis à jour le 12/04/2021
Think inside the box* : c’est le slogan d’Alice & Bob. Cette startup est positionnée sur le marché de l’ordinateur quantique, en utilisant des qubits de chat, appelés ainsi d’après la célèbre expérience du chat de Schrödinger, placé dans une boîte fermée.
Mains tenant une puce électronique
© Nil Hoppenot

*Think inside the box = traduit littéralement par "penser à l’intérieur de la boîte", cette phrase fait référence à l’expression anglaise "Think outside the box", qui qui se traduit en français par "sortir des sentiers battus".

Une approche de l'ordinateur quantique à contre-courant

L'ordinateur quantique est un marché estimé a plusieurs centaines de milliards de dollars. Il promet d'accélérer exponentiellement la résolution de problèmes trop complexes, y compris pour les supercalculateurs actuels, en particulier les problèmes d'optimisation, d'algèbre linéaire et de simulation chimique et biologique. Il devrait toucher tous les secteurs de l'économie de la finance à la médecine, en passant par l'intelligence artificielle. La startup Alice & Bob s’est penchée sur le sujet développe aujourd’hui un ordinateur quantique universel et sans erreur, en utilisant des qubits de chat. Une approche opposée à celles de ses concurrents.

Vous avez dit « qubit » ?

Qubit est la contraction de quantum (quantique) et bit, il s’agit de l'état quantique qui représente la plus petite unité de stockage d'information quantique. Il est parfois écrit qbit.

Un qubit de chat est un qubit "idéal" sans erreur, basé sur l’état quantique du chat de Schrödinger. Selon Théau Peronnin, il apporte une solution autonome et intégrée au problème central de l’ordinateur quantique : la correction des erreurs.

 

Alice & Bob naît d’une rencontre au sein de l’équipe commune Quantic (Inria de Paris, ENS-PSL). Les deux fondateurs de la startup, Théau Peronnin, physicien expérimentateur aujourd’hui CEO et Raphaël Lescanne, CTO, y réalisent leurs thèses sur des circuits supraconducteurs pour l'informatique quantique.

Raphaël Lescanne axe son travail de recherche sur les qubits de chat réalisés à base de circuit supraconducteur et Théau Peronnin sur une manipulation connexe.

Alors que la thèse de Raphaël Lescanne produit des résultats prometteurs en démontrant la possibilité de réaliser un qubit capable de corriger ses erreurs de manière autonome sans nécessiter de redondance, le qubit de chat [Lescanne et al., Nature Physics 2020], plusieurs chercheurs dans leur équipe avancent dans la rédaction d’une feuille de route pour développer un ordinateur quantique complet (permettant de réaliser n’importe quel algorithme) et sans erreur, à base de ce qubit de chat [Guillaud et Mirrahimi, Phys. Rev. X 2019].

Avec le soutien des groupes académiques dont ils sont issus, d’Inria Startup Studio ainsi que du service transfert innovation et partenariats du centre de Paris, Théau Peronnin et Raphaël Lescanne décident de se lancer dans la course mondiale à l’ordinateur quantique en entreprenant avec comme motivation : transformer les théories en une proposition de valeur plus concrète et concourir à armes égales avec les grands groupes internationaux ! C’est après plusieurs formations (SATT, Deeptech Founders, CNRS Rise), qu’Alice & Bob voit le jour, en février 2020.

Membres de la startup Alice & Bob
Nil Hoppenot

 

Après leur première levée de fonds de trois millions d’euros, l’équipe Alice & Bob composée de quinze personnes suit son objectif d’être le premier fournisseur de puissance de calcul quantique universel sans erreur au monde. Une startup à suivre de près !

 

Suivre l'actualité de Alice & Bob

Une idée, un projet... ? Parlez-en avec le Service Transfert, Innovation & Partenariats du centre de Paris