Sites Inria

Version française


Sarah Alzieu - 21/03/2017

Abel Prize 2017 : Yves Meyer awarded

The Abel Prize, created by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in 2003 to compensate for the lack of a Nobel Prize for mathematics, was this year awarded to the French mathematician Yves Meyer.

Recognized “for his major role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets”, Yves Meyer, Emeritus Professor at the École Normale Supérieure Paris-Saclay, received the Abel Prize on Tuesday, 21 March. After the Fields Medal, it is the world’s most prestigious award for mathematics.

The Inria congratulates Yves Meyer on this distinction which honours him as an eminent representative of the Applied Mathematics School.

Short biography

Yves Meyer was born in Tunis in 1939. He came top of the École Normale Supérieure (ENS) and was ranked first in the selective mathematics competition. He afterwards taught in a number of schools and universities, first at the Prytanée National Militaire at La Flèche (1960 - 1963), then at the University of Strasbourg (1963 - 1966). He then entered the Université Paris-Sud where he remained for fourteen years, before in 1980 joining the Mathematics Centre of the École Polytechnique where he taught for six years. In 1985, he entered the CEREMADE (Université Paris-Dauphine) where he remained until 1995. During that time, he was appointed a Senior Member of the Institut Universitaire de France (in 1991) and elected to the Académie des Sciences (in 1993). In 1995, he became Director of Research at the CNRS where he remained until 1999. In 2010, he received the Carl Friedrich Gauss prize at the International Congress of Mathematicians at Hyderabad. Yves Meyer is currently Emeritus Professor at the École Normale Supérieure Paris-Saclay, a member of the Académie des Sciences, and an Associate Member of the Centre for Pure and Applied Mathematics at the ENS.