Sites Inria

Version française

Inria Awards 2016


The 2016 Prize-winners have been announced

Since 2011, the Inria Awards honour innovative scientific contributions to computer science and mathematics and promote the contributions and successes of those who are driving the development of our digital world. Since 2013, The French Académie des sciences and Inria are working in partnership to select the winners of the Inria Awards for science, in each of three categories: Grand Prize, Young researcher and Innovation. Dassault Systèmes is Inria and French Académie des sciences partner to award the Innovation prize. The Inria awards also underline the contributions of research and innovation support teams who play a significant part in the efficiency and successes of Inria. All the 2016 prizes will be awarded at the Forum des Images in Paris.

Before the Inria awards ceremony which will take place in Paris next November 30th, here are the prize-winners distinguished by the institute, the French Académie des sciences and Dassault Systèmes !

Winner of the Inria/Franch Académie des sciences Grand Prize : Cordelia Schmid

Inria Research Director, Head of the Thoth project-team at Inria’s Grenoble-Rhône-Alpes research centre, Cordelia Schmid is recognized as one of the world’s top scientists in the field of computer vision. Her research focuses on artificial vision, specifically the automatic interpretation of digital images and videos. Her thesis work had developed a new representation of images for the recognition of objects under realistic conditions. She went on to introduce robust and invariant image representations and define evaluation protocols for measuring performance. In parallel, she researched learning algorithms in order to model the visual variability of objects. Her research enables computers to learn to interpret all types of real images and videos, and to recognize objects, actions and places based on learning from large databases of images and videos.

Cordelia Schmid has been awarded the Longuet-Higgins prize three times, in 2006, 2014 and 2016. She was also awarded a Humboldt Research Award in 2015 for her work on computer vision spanning more than twenty years.

Winner of the Inria/French Académie des sciences Young Researcher Award : Karthikeyan Bhargavan

Inria Research Director and Head of the Prosecco project-team at the Inria research centre in Paris, Karthikeyan Bhargavan is a specialist in the study of cryptographic mechanisms used for secure communication on the internet and to ensure the safety of web applications designed for the management of personal and sensitive data. He has authored some major contributions to the field of IT security, with a direct impact on all the software we use. He develops tools to demonstrate the absence of vulnerabilities in the implementation of cryptographic protocols such as SSL/TLS. But his work is not limited to searching for, and ensuring the absence of, security vulnerabilities: his research has enabled him to make recommendations to all major software publishers, with updates for all browsers and cryptographic libraries.

Recently, Karthikeyan Bhargavan and his team have demonstrated the existence of critical vulnerabilities, such as Freak, Logjam, Sloth and most recently, Sweet32. The importance of his work has been internationally recognized: he was awarded two European Research Council (ERC) grants in 2010 and 2015, as well as numerous Prizes.

Winner of the Inria/French Académie des sciences/Dassault Systèmes Innovation Award : Marc Pouzet

University Professor (UPMC / ENS) and Head of the Parka project-team at the Inria research centre in Paris, Marc Pouzet is a specialist in synchronous languages. His research focuses on the design, semantics and implementation of programming languages for implementing embedded systems in real time and in interaction with a physical environment. Synchronous languages are used in the programming and simulation of the most critical applications, for example in aircraft (flight control, engine control, braking), on trains (on-board control, location), in power plants (control and emergency stop), or the simulation of factories, sensors, electrical networks. His work has resulted in concrete applications and enabled the development of a new language for the design of critical systems (Esterel Technologies), SCADE 6, which has had clear commercial success, particularly in the field of avionics, rail and heavy industry.

Winner of Inria's Support for Research and Innovation Award : the multiservice team responsible for setting up the InriaTech Initiative in Lille

The InriaTech initiative, set up in April 2015 with the support of the Hauts-de-France region, the European Metropolis of Lille and Europe, aims to facilitate relations and the transfer of key technologies from research to companies, in a field that creates added value, innovation and employment: digital. The development of relations with SMEs and the accelerated production of conceptual evidence to respond to industrial problems are the major challenges of this technological transfer platform, the first of its kind, but which will be extended to other Inria centres and other regions.

The winner team : Frédéric Carette, Majid El Maach, Marie-Agnès Enard, Sylvain Karpf, Guillaume Ollivier, Thierry Peltier et Samia Tonus.

Winner of Research Support Department Inria Award : the multiservice team in charge of the relocation of the Rocquencourt centre to Paris

The relocation of the Rocquencourt research centre to its new premises in Paris was decided, scheduled and successfully carried out within a very short timescale. The phases of planning, relocating and moving-in were carried out in just nine months, without disrupting the activities of the approximately six hundred staff and researchers working there.

The result is remarkable thanks to the contribution of the teams that carried out this project. The Inria Paris – Rocquencourt research centre has therefore been able to connect with its academic and industrial partners and will now be called the Paris Inria Centre.

The winner team : M’kandra Mohamed Abdoul-Wahab, Nicolas Chevènement, Jean-Paul Destrez, Jean-Marc Haby, Hubert Hodebourg, Sandra Lemy, Laurent Le Pendeven, Alain Marchand, Abdellah Mardaoui, Cyril Mathieu, Thibaut Meynial, Frédérique Morin-Wilwert, Nathalie Motillon, Gilles Scagnelli et Julien Tissier.

Keywords: Marc Pouzet Karthikeyan Bhargavan Cordélia Schmid PROSECCO project-team THOTH