Sites Inria

Version française


AB - 22/12/2017

Benoît Perthame et Éric Moulines elected to the French Académie des sciences

Académie des sciences

Among the 18 new people elected to the French Académie des sciences are Éric Moulines, professor at École polytechnique and member of the XPOP project team, and Benoît Perthame, professor at UPMC (Pierre and Marie Curie University) and member of the MAMBA project team.

The Académie announced, on 6 December, that the 18 new members elected to the French Académie des sciences during its plenary session of 5 December 2017 will be welcomed during a formal sitting - under the dome of the Institut de France, in Paris - on 29 May 2018. Four of the new members are women. Moreover, the institution points out that, since 2003, "at least half of the seats to be filled [...] are reserved for candidates aged under 55", which "has led to a manifest rejuvenation". In total, the Académie des sciences has 273 members, 126 foreign associates and 81 corresponding members. Benoît Perthame and Éric Moulines, respectively members of the Inria project teams MAMBA and XPOP, are among the new members to have been honoured.

Éric Moulines

A graduate of the École polytechnique (X81) and engineer from the engineering school Corps des Télécom, he spent a major part of his career at the engineering grande école Télécom ParisTech where, from 1996 until 2015, he was a professor and founded teaching in statistics and data sciences. In addition, he received the CNRS silver medal in 2010 and the Fondation France Télécom Académie des sciences Grand Prize in 2011. Recruited as a professor at the École polytechnique in 2015, Éric Moulines was tasked with creating and structuring teaching and research in statistics and data sciences within its Centre of Applied Mathematics. He is also in charge of the DATAIA Convergence Institute's PhD Track on the data sciences and artificial intelligence.

Benoît Perthame

A graduate of the French École normale supérieure-Ulm (ENS) in 1983, Benoît Perthame became an assistant at the ENS and, in 1987 - under the supervision of Pierre-Louis Lions - defended a habilitation thesis focusing on non-linear partial differential equations in optimal control theory, hydrodynamics and kinetic theory. Professor at the University of Orléans, from which he graduated, he joined Inria in 1989 where, in particular, he managed the BANG project team (biophysics, digital analysis and geophysics) from 2004 onwards. Also a professor at the Pierre and Marie Curie University (UPMC - Paris VI) since 1993, he has received several honours including the Collège de France Cours Peccot lectures, the Blaise Pascal medal, the CNRS silver medal and the Inria - Académie des sciences Grand Prize. He was a plenary speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Seoul in 2014. He has been head of the Jacques-Louis Lions laboratory since 2013.

Ever since it was created, the Academy has being resolutely committed to the advancement of science and has advised government authorities in those matters and issues deemed within its remit. It is a double calling that has been reinforced over time, as and when our knowledge-base itself progressed. Today, the Academy’s Members discharge their missions, to the Nation and the Academy's foundations, in standing committees and working parties set up by the Academy.

Keywords: Éric Moulines Benoît Perthame Académie des sciences (French Academy of Sciences)