Sites Inria

Version française

Scientific Committees

Inria's Scientific Board

Manuel Hermenegildo

Responsible for clarifying the research policy of Inria, the Scientific Board plays a role as consultant and expert to assist the Board of Directors.

Its role

The Scientific Board gives its opinion on the major aspects of the institute's scientific policy, a policy that guides the work of the research teams.

The Board gives its opinion on the development of research centres. It ensures consistency between changes in activity and the scientific programmes of Inria. The Scientific Board rules on the appointment of directors of research centres and their renewal in the position, in agreement with the board of directors.

Its composition

15 members (for a renewable term of office of four years).

Appointed members

  • 2 representatives from the fields of computer science and automation;
  • 2 representatives chosen from among the users of computer science and automation;
  • 6 scientists, from among whom the chairman is appointed;
  • 1 representative from the Ministry of Defence;

Elected members

  • 4 representatives of the scientific staff, engineers, technicians, and administrative staff.

Its members

Appointed members

  • Manuel Hermenegildo (Chairman)
    Professor at the Technical University of Madrid (UPM) and director of the IMDEA Software Institute;
  • Aurélien Beaumont
    Director B2C (business to consumer) & marketing of 1000mercis ;
  • Isabelle Bloch
    Professor at Télécom ParisTech ;
  • Yves Caseau
    Group Head of Digital Innovation;
  • Ghislaine Doukhan
    Director of Safran Analytics ;
  • Patrick Johnson
    Sciences, Corporate Research VP at Dassault Systèmes ;
  • Patrick Thiran
    Associate professor at the School of Computer and Communication Sciences of EPFL (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Suisse);
  • Frédéric Valette
    Representing the ministry of defence
  • Axel Van Lamsweerde
    Professor at the Department of Computing Science and Research Associate at the Institute of Information and Communication Technologies, Electronics and Applied Mathematics (ICTEAM), Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium ;
  • Barbara Wohlmuth
    Professor at technische universität münchen (TUM), Munich, Germany.

Elected members



Hugues BERRY (Inria Grenoble - Rhône-Alpes)

Julien DIAZ (Inria Bordeaux - Sud-Ouest)

Juliette LEBLOND (Inria Sophia Antipolis - Méditerranée)

Jean-Pierre MERLET (Inria Sophia Antipolis - Méditerranée)

Philippe MERLE (Inria Lille - Nord Europe )

Nicolas HOLZSCHUCH (Inria Grenoble - Rhône-Alpes)

Elected members - Representatives of the scientific personnel, engineers, technicians, and administrative staff




Florian DUFOUR (Inria Headquarter)

Keywords: Scientific Board Research Research centre Engineers