Sites Inria

Version française



The president of the French National Assembly appoints Serge Abiteboul to the Arcep's College

Inria célébre les 10 ans de l'ERC (European Research Grant) Inria célébre les 10 ans de l'ERC (European Research Grant) - © Inria / Photo G. Scagnelli

On 12 January 2018 François de Rugy, president of the French National Assembly, appointed Serge Abiteboul as a member of the Arcep's (French Telecommunications and Posts Regulator) College, with effect from 15 January 2018.

Director of research in computer science at the French graduate school École Normale Supérieure de Paris and at Inria (French Institute for Research in Computer Science and Automation), Serge Abiteboul holds a PhD from the University of Southern California and a state doctoral thesis from Paris-Sud University. His work on data, information and knowledge management - particularly on the Internet - and his theories on databases led him to be appointed member of the French Académie des sciences in 2008, and of the Academia Europaea in 2011.

Awarded affiliate professor at the École Normale Supérieure de Cachan, he has also been a lecturer at the École Polytechnique and visiting professor at Stanford and Oxford University. In 2011, he was appointed holder of the Computer and Digital Sciences chair at the Collège de France. In 2013, he joined the French Digital Council, presided over by Benoît Thieulin and, the same year, became president of the Scientific Board of the SIF (Société d’informatique de France). He has been president of the Strategic Council of the Fondation Blaise Pascal since 2017.

Author of numerous publications on data, algorithms - but also novels - Serge Abiteboul is also the editor and founder of Blog Binaire, the binary blog on the Le Monde website. He was scientific curator of the Terra Data exhibition at the Cité des Sciences in 2017 and 2018.

Serge Abiteboul follows on from Jacques Stern, whose mandate as member of the Arcep's College has come to an end. Arcep pays tribute to Jacques Stern's contribution to the work of the Authority.

The Arcep's College has seven members: Sébastien Soriano (president), Serge Abiteboul, Pierre-Jean Benghozi, Philippe Distler, Monique Liebert-Champagne, Martine Lombard; the appointment of the seventh member is imminent. Three of them, including its president, are appointed by the French President. The other four are respectively named by the president of the French National Assembly and the president of the French Senate. Appointed for duration of six years, the members of the Arcep's College are irrevocable and non-renewable.

*Extract from the Arcep press release


The French Telecommunications and Posts Regulator (Arcep), an expert and neutral arbitrator with the status of an independent administrative authority, is the architect and keeper of networks of Internet exchanges and fixed, mobile and postal telecommunications in France.

> For more details

Keywords: Arcep National Assembly Serge Abiteboul Appointment