Sites Inria

There are 5 Results with the keyword : "Francis Bach"

Francis Bach - © Inria / Photo J.M. Ramès

Inria Awards 2012

Young researcher Inria award: Francis Bach

Isabelle Bellin -

A trained mathematician, Francis Bach has become an internationally acknowledged specialist in the field of statistical machine learning. A field he has been boldly exploring for some ten years now. His research at the interface between applied mathematics, statistics, and computer science finds applications in an impressive variety of domains, such as artificial vision, processing of audio signals, bioinformatics, and cerebral imaging. 

Keywords:

Home > Institute > Inria in brief > Inria Awards > 2012 Prize Winners > Jeune Chercheur

More

European Research Council 2009

Francis Bach: heading towards statistical learning

Francis Bach received a grant of €1.5 million to conduct an ambitious five-year research project. The researcher, with a flawless academic career, has for a long time had a great interest in applied mathematics (including sound and image processing). After spending time at one of America’s most prestigious universities, the ERC grant should allow the young researcher to explore new avenues in statistical learning.

Keywords:

Home > Europe & International > European research area > ERC 2009-2010 > Francis Bach

More

European Research Council

Europe encouraging innovative ideas

Each year, the European Research Council rewards researchers proposing innovative ideas. This programme aims to encourage "research at the frontier of knowledge", whose sole selection criterion is excellence.

Keywords:

Home > Europe & International > European research area > European Research Council > Programme

More

Francis Bach - © Inria / photo C. Morel

European Research Council 2016

Francis Bach, winner of a 2016 ERC Consolidator Grant

13/12/2016

Francis Bach, leader of the Sierra project-team at Inria's Paris centre has just been awarded a 2016 European Research Council (ERC) Consolidator Grant. His speciality? Machine learning. On the frontiers of mathematics, computer science and statistics, it optimizes the processing of big data.

Keywords:

Home > Centre > Paris > News > Francis Bach, lauréat d’une ERC Consolidator Grant 2016

More

Francis Bach - © Inria / photo C. Morel

Prize and Award

Francis Bach, winner of the Lagrange Prize

25/07/2018

Early July, the 6th Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization was awarded to Francis Bach, head of the Sierra team at the Inria Paris centre, and to two of the team's former post-doctoral researchers. 

Keywords:

Home > Centre > Paris > News > Francis Bach lauréat du prix Lagrange

More

Top

Sites Inria

Il y a 3 Résultats avec le mot clé : "Francis Bach"

© Inria / Photo J.M. Ramès

Prix Inria 2012

Francis Bach : Prix Inria du jeune chercheur

Isabelle Bellin -

De formation mathématique, Francis Bach est devenu un spécialiste mondialement connu de l’apprentissage statistique (machine learning en anglais), qu’il défriche sans vergogne depuis une dizaine d’années. Ses recherches à l’interface des mathématiques appliquées, des statistiques et de l’informatique trouvent des applications dans une variété impressionnante de domaines, de la vision artificielle au traitement du signal audio en passant par la bioinformatique ou l’imagerie cérébrale.

Mots-clés :

Accueil > Institut > Inria en bref > Prix Inria > Lauréats 2012 > Jeune Chercheur

Lire la suite

European Research Council 2009

Francis Bach : en route vers l'apprentissage statistique

Francis Bach a reçu une bourse d’un montant de 1,5 million d’euros pour conduire pendant cinq ans un projet de recherche ambitieux. Le chercheur, au parcours académique sans faute, a pendant longtemps fait montre d'un grand intérêt pour les mathématiques appliquées (notamment au traitement du son et de l’image). Après un passage par l’une des plus prestigieuses universités américaines, la bourse de l’ERC devrait permettre au jeune chercheur d’explorer de nouvelles pistes en apprentissage statistique.

Mots-clés :

Accueil > Europe & International > Espace européen de la recherche > Lauréats 2009-2010 > Francis Bach

Lire la suite

Francis Bach - © Inria / photo C. Morel

European Research Council 2016

Francis Bach, lauréat d’une ERC Consolidator Grant 2016

13/12/2016

Francis Bach, responsable de l’équipe-projet Sierra au centre Inria de Paris vient de remporter une bourse ERC (European Research Council ) Consolidator Grant 2016. Son domaine de prédilection ? Le Machine Learning , ou l’apprentissage statistique. À la frontière entre les mathématiques, l’informatique et les statistiques, il permet d’optimiser le traitement de données numériques de très grande taille.

Mots-clés :

Accueil > Centre > Paris > Actualités > Francis Bach, lauréat d’une ERC Consolidator Grant 2016

Lire la suite

Haut de page

Suivez Inria tout au long de son 50e anniversaire et au-delà !