Sites Inria

Version française

Technology transfer

Cryptosense - Softwares to verify programs that use cryptography

Graham !steel - Startup Cryptosense Graham Steel - © Inria / G. Steel

On 2 July, the Cryptosense startup project, an Inria-led spin-off from the Prosecco research team, was awarded a prize by OSEO and the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research at the 15th national competition to support the creation of innovative technology firms.

The prize received was in the "Creation and Development" category, which rewards candidates that have already proven the viability of their project.

Cryptosense’s aim is to develop and distribute security testing software for cryptography systems such as ATM networks or the encrypted data backup systems often used by businesses. It is an extension of the research conducted by the Prosecco project team at the Inria Paris-Rocquencourt centre. Graham Steel, a research scientist in that team and the founder of the startup Cryptosense, tells us a little more about it:

On what aspect of the Prosecco team's research is the Cryptosense project based?

Prosecco devotes its research work to formal security analysis. In other words, it’s about checking the reliability and robustness of the cryptography systems that are likely to be used for various purposes. This work is mainly done by developing reverse-engineering algorithms and model-checking algorithms. Cryptosense will use these checking systems and develop more robust and marketable versions of them. A prototype version called Tookan is already being used by a major international bank.

What possibilities does this prize open up for the project?

This prize gives us recognition from a highly reputable source. It will really raise our profile and so will probably open up markets for us or make it easier for us to get grants. In addition, the substantial funding that comes with the prize will allow us to hire young researchers and so get the project to the operational stage more quickly. So if anyone’s interested in joining us, now is the time to get in touch…

The Creation and Development  prize and Cryptosense

The prize awarded to Cryptosense is part of the Creation and Development  category, which rewards projects that create innovative businesses with a €250,000 prize. It rewards the entrepreneurial credibility of a project (business plan, intellectual property protection strategy, etc.) as well as the quality of the team behind it. It will be a key factor in the development of the startup - a mark of recognition that will really raise its profile.

Cryptosense is supported by Inria, in particular through IT-translation.

Keywords: Project team PROSECCO Safety in functioning Cryptosense Equipe-projet PROSECCO Analyse de sécurité Prix OSEO

Top

Sites Inria

English version

Transfert

12/09/2013

Cryptosense - Des logiciels pour tester la sécurité des systèmes cryptographiques

Graham Steel - Startup Cryptosense Graham Steel - © Inria / G. Steel

Le 2 juillet dernier, le projet de startup Cryptosense, issu de l’équipe de recherche PROSECCO et porté par Inria, s’est vu remettre un prix du 15e Concours national d'aide à la création d'entreprises de technologies innovantes attribué par Oséo et le ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche.

Le prix reçu appartient à la catégorie "Création-développement" et récompense les candidats ayant déjà prouvé la viabilité de leur projet.

Cryptosense a pour objectif la mise au point et la distribution de logiciels de test de sécurité pour les systèmes cryptographiques tels que les réseaux de distributeurs de billets ou les systèmes de sauvegarde de données chiffrées souvent utilisés dans les entreprises. Il prolonge les recherches menées au sein de l’équipe-projet Prosecco du centre Inria de Paris. Graham Steel, chargé de recherche au sein de cette équipe et fondateur de la startup Cryptosense, nous en dit un peu plus :

Sur quelles recherches de l’équipe-projet Prosecco se base le projet Cryptosense ?

Prosecco consacre ses recherches à l’analyse formelle de sécurité. Autrement dit, il s’agit de vérifier la fiabilité et la robustesse des systèmes de cryptographie susceptibles d’être utilisés pour différentes applications. Ce travail se fait, essentiellement à travers la mise au point d’algorithmes d’ingénierie inverse et d’algorithmes de « model checking » (vérification de modèles). Cryptosense reprendra et développera des versions plus robustes et commercialisables de ces systèmes de vérification. Une version prototype nommée Tookan , est déjà en utilisation par une grande banque internationale.

Quelles perspectives ouvre ce prix pour le projet ?

Ce prix constitue une reconnaissance de choix. C’est une véritablement une marque de fabrique qui nous permettra d’être plus visible et donc nous ouvrira probablement des marchés, ou l’accès à plus de subventions. De plus, la dotation financière importante qui accompagne le prix va permettre l’embauche de jeunes ingénieurs et donc de passer rapidement à la phase opérationnelle du projet. Avis aux intéressés...

Le prix Création et Développement  et Cryptosense

Le prix qui a été attribué fait partie de la catégorie Création et Développement  qui récompense des projets de création d’entreprises innovantes et s’accompagnera pour la startup d’une dotation de 250 000 euros. Il récompense la crédibilité entrepreneuriale d’un projet (business plan, stratégie de protection intellectuelle…) ainsi que la qualité de l’équipe qui le porte. Il constituera un argument clé dans le développement de la startup. Une marque de reconnaissance et de rayonnement.

Cryptosense est porté par Inria à travers notamment sa structure IT-translation.

Mots-clés : Cryptosense Equipe-projet PROSECCO Analyse de sécurité Prix OSEO

Haut de page

Suivez Inria