Sites Inria

Version française

Inria International Labs - America

Inria Chile, driver for technological innovation

Nayat Sanchez-Pi Nayat Sanchez-Pi, director of Inria Chile - © Inria

Inria Chile is the first center of Inria outside France. Its mission is to conduct and articulate high-impact research and development in digital technologies in service of society with special emphasis in Chile and Latin America.

Inria Chile, driver for technological innovation

Inria Chile is a driver for technological innovation and knowledge transfer by effectively collaborating with companies, institutions, and start-ups to meet the challenges of the digital revolution. It aims at inspiring and educating future generations of scientists and engineers to take the leading roles in that transformation. It is also a means to foster the R&D activities of French companies and start-ups in Chile and Latin America

Inria Chile focuses its activities around five priority R&D lines that represent the subjects in which it can have the greatest impact on technological and scientific ecosystems. In particular, those lines are:

  1. data, knowledge, security, and confidentiality,
  2. artificial intelligence and autonomous systems,
  3. interaction, visualization, and multimedia,
  4. modeling and simulation, optimization and control, and
  5. systems, networks and the internet of things.

Those lines are integrated into a series of application areas that are particularly linked to the unique characteristics of Chile like astronomy, mining, renewable energies, logistics and retail, resilience to disasters, industry 4.0, smart agriculture and security, among others . Inria Chile leads the technological shift in these areas with more than 40 project-teams having active collaborations between France and Chile.

At the heart of the academic and industrial ecosystem of Latin America

Inria Chile was created in 2012. Since then it has been executing an ambitious program with the combined support of Inria and the Chilean Ministry of Economy through CORFO, its economic development agency, and strategic alliances with eight top Chilean universities, in particular, the University of Chile, the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile, the Federico Santa María Technical University, the Pontifical Catholic University of Valparaíso, the University of Valparaíso, the University of the Frontier, the University of Concepción, and the Adolfo Ibáñez University. Besides those alliance, it also maintains collaboration agreements with universities, research centers and companies in Latin America, US, Europe, and Asia.

Collaborations and connections with the innovation and entrepreneurship ecosystem are actively fostered and encouraged, as stated in the mission. The mechanisms for achieving these relations can be grouped into three groups: the collaborative association with companies, government institutions and other institutional actors, the advanced tech training center, and the startup tech studio.

Collaborative associations can be set-up by establishing joint innovation laboratories,  research and development contracts, direct consulting or services, and technology licensing.


I want to make Inria Chile a success case for Inria actions abroad France by conducting and articulating high-impact research and development in service of society and taking advantage of the uniqueness of Chile as a natural laboratory for the confluence of research, innovation, and entrepreneurship.

                                                            Nayat-Sanchez-Pi, Director of Inria Chile since September, 2018


Transferring knowledge, creating and accelerating start-ups

The Advanced Tech Training Center transfers knowledge of Inria experts in an effective and direct training program that can be leveraged by companies and startups that seek to innovate and integrate digital technologies such as AI, machine learning, IoT among others related to the lines of the center and open source technologies of Inria.

Some of the Tech Trainings will be launched soon :

  • AI/Data Science with Scikit-learn
  • Agile Programing with Pharo
  • Modelling and Simulation with SOFA
  • IoT with RIOT

The Startup Tech Studio promotes new technology-based companies through different association and support mechanisms . This is a unique and unpaired offer to the ones currently existing in the region, where a large number of incubators, accelerators and state support programs have been implanted.

The programs that are being deployed are:

  • CTO@InriaChile: trains engineers in deep tech technologies and provides training as CTO's Inria Chile, which promotes their professional careers and insertion in partner companies and organizations.
  • Softlanding@InriaChile: attracts and supports French and European technology-based startups and SMEs that seek to enter the Chilean and/or Latin American market.
  • Early-Stage Startups: aimed at supporting new companies to build their scientific team and accelerate their capabilities at an early stage. This mechanism provides solid support by forming human capital, providing mentoring, infrastructure and giving the support of Inria Chile in calls for public funding.

Project highlights by areas

Astronomy

It has been developed mainly in the northern zone of Chile, particularly in the Atacama Desert, which has been recognized as the best place on earth to observe the sky. Due to a large number of

ALMA Project Telescope ALMA Project Telescope

observatories, telescopes and astronomical projects developed in Chile and the consequent need to process, store and disseminate the data they generate, the country is projected as the world capital of astroinformatics 

Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA)  

Inria Chile began collaborating with the ALMA Observatory in 2012 when they, together with researchers of the ILDA Inria team, jointly developed the "ALMA Dashboard", a system to visualize the real-time status of the observatory's 66 antennas and their internal components. The success of the "ALMA Dashboard" led to the development of "ALMA Integrated Alarm System”, the observatory's monitoring and alarms system. Currently, ALMA and Inria Chile maintain a fluid collaboration and are exploring new opportunities on the convergence of Astronomy, Data Engineering, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, and Human-Computer Interaction together with the Data Observatory of the Ministry of Economy and researchers from the Adolfo Ibáñez University.

Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST)

The LSST is a telescope under construction at Cerro Pachón in Chile which will be equipped with the most powerful digital camera ever built, which will allow observing the dark energy responsible for the acceleration of the expansion of the universe. Inria Chile has become a strategic partner in this project, working both on the design and development of the user interface components for the control room of the LSST principal and auxiliary telescopes and on the platform where this interface will be deployed among others.

Mining

Mining plays a key role in the Chilean economy, being present in 13 of the 15 regions that make up the country, from which around 25 different minerals are extracted. The contribution of the mining sector to the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of Chile has averaged 13% in the last decade. Due to the strong economic impact of the mining sector, the Inria Chile center has put efforts into generating digital technology-based initiatives or solutions that solve the challenges of this industry. 

Tranque Program

Tranque is a public-private initiative that seeks to contribute to the safe and reliable operation of mining tailing dams by improving data gathering, coordination and trust relationships among different stakeholders through an advanced monitoring system. Recent disasters in Brazil, Canada, and the Philippines have raised the concern of governments, companies, investors and the general public regarding the safety and environmental impact of tailings.

Inria Chile is building a platform to capture, store, process and visualize data on the stability of the mining industry's tailings dams, which will provide quality, reliable and timely information to authorities, mining companies and communities. This initiative, coordinated by Fundación Chile, has as strategic partners like Inria Chile, and Chilean government institutions and agencies, in particular,  the Production Development Corporation (Corfo), the Ministry of Mining, National Geology and Mining Service (Sernageomin), the National Office of Emergency of the Interior Ministry (ONEMI), the Superintendency for the Environment (SMA), the Ministry of Public Works (DGA). A group of the most important mining companies is also strategic partners. In particular, Antofagasta Minerals (AMSA), the National Copper Corporation of Chile (CODELCO), BHP, the National Mining Company (ENAMI), the Advanced Technology Center for Mining (AMTC), and Valor Compartido. 

Integrated Center for the Piloting of Mining Technologies (CIPTEMIN)

The purpose of CIPTEMIN is to provide the infrastructure and capabilities so that mining stakeholders can test technologies that are in the pilot development phase, as a step prior to scaling and commercial implementation.

Inria Chile is the technological co-executor of CIPTEMIN, providing technological support and advanced tech training. This initiative is led by the Universidad Católica del Norte (UCN) and also in collaboration with other ten institutions - universities, companies and international centers.

Energy 

Chile has great potential in terms of renewable energy due to its geographical and climatic conditions. The country has the highest solar radiation in the world, strong winds throughout its territory that allow the development of wind energy, an extensive coast from north to south for the development of marine energy, the ability to develop biogas and a geothermal resource along the Andes Mountain Range. It should be noted that according to the latest edition of New Energy Finance Climascope, Chile reached the first place in renewable energy investment in Latin America and the Caribbean region. 

Advanced Modeling Project for Renewable Marine Energies

This project meant to create a model associated with the OceaPos numerical platform for the reduction of ocean fluxes, which in turn will be able to consider the interactions between the turbine and the main flux. It also seeks to propose new coupling techniques based on new edge conditions, allowing the development of multiphysical ocean models from the coast to the deep sea. This is a collaborative project between the Center for Research and Innovation in Marine Energy (MERIC), members of the LEMON and TOSCA Inria teams, the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile, CIGIDEN and Inria Chile. The future goal is to continue developing existing models to offer a version capable of sizing and designing turbine fields for a specific location in Chile.

Keywords: Ecology Energy Astronomy Inria Chile

Top

Sites Inria

English version

Inria International Labs - Amériques

Inria Chile, moteur de l'innovation numérique

Nayat Sanchez-Pi Nayat Sanchez-Pi, directrice d'Inria Chile - © Inria

Inria Chile est le premier centre Inria hors de France et a pour mission de mener et d’articuler des activités de recherche et de développement à fort impact dans le domaine des technologies numériques au service de la société, en particulier au Chili et en Amérique latine.

Inria Chile, moteur de l’innovation technologique

Inria Chile est un moteur de l’innovation technologique et du transfert de connaissances au travers d’une collaboration efficace avec les entreprises, les institutions et les start-up pour relever les défis de la révolution numérique. Le centre vise à inspirer et à former les générations futures de scientifiques et d’ingénieurs afin qu’ils jouent un rôle de premier plan dans cette transformation. Il permet également de favoriser les activités de R&D des sociétés et des start-up françaises au Chili et en Amérique latine.

Inria Chile concentre ses activités autour de cinq axes de R&D prioritaires, qui représentent les thèmes dans lesquels le centre peut avoir le plus d’impact sur les écosystèmes technologiques et scientifiques. Ces axes sont les suivants :

  1. données, connaissances, sécurité et confidentialité ;
  2. intelligence artificielle et systèmes autonomes ;
  3. interaction, visualisation et multimédia ;
  4. modélisation et simulation, optimisation et contrôle ; et
  5. systèmes, réseaux et Internet des objets.

Ces axes sont intégrés dans plusieurs domaines d’application qui sont particulièrement liés aux caractéristiques uniques du Chili comme l’astronomie, l’exploitation minière, les énergies renouvelables, la logistique et la vente au détail, la résistance aux catastrophes, l’industrie 4.0, l’agriculture intelligente et la sécurité , pour n’en citer que quelques-unes. Inria Chile est à la pointe de l’évolution technologique dans ces domaines, avec plus de 40 équipes-projets qui collaborent activement entre la France et le Chili.

Au cœur de l’écosystème académique et industriel d’Amérique latine

Inria Chile a été créé en 2012. Il met depuis en application un programme ambitieux avec le soutien conjoint d’Inria et du Ministère chilien de l’économie par l’intermédiaire de CORFO, son agence de développement économique, et d’alliances stratégiques avec huit grandes universités chiliennes, en particulier l’université du Chili, l’université catholique pontificale du Chili, l’université technique Federico Santa Maria, l’Université catholique pontificale de Valparaíso, l’université de la Frontière, l’Université des sciences de Valparaiso, l’université Concepción et l’université Adolfo Ibáñez. Outre ces alliances, le centre entretient également des accords de collaboration avec des universités, des centres de recherche et des entreprises en Amérique latine, aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Asie.

Les collaborations et les liens avec l’écosystème de l’innovation et de l’entrepreneuriat sont activement favorisés et encouragés, comme indiqué dans la mission. Les mécanismes permettant d’atteindre pareilles relations peuvent être classés dans trois groupes : l’association collaborative avec des entreprises, des organismes gouvernementaux et d’autres acteurs institutionnels, le centre de formation en technologies avancées et le studio technologique dédié aux start-up.

Des associations collaboratives peuvent être mises en œuvre en établissant des laboratoires d’innovation conjoints, des contrats de recherche et développement, des conseils directs ou des services et des licences de technologies.

 


Je souhaite faire d’Inria Chile une véritable réussite pour Inria hors de France en articulant des activités de recherche et de développement à fort impact au service de la société et en tirant parti du caractère unique du Chili en tant que laboratoire naturel pour la convergence de la recherche, de l’innovation et de l’entrepreneuriat.

                                                Nayat Sanchez-Pi, directrice d’Inria Chile depuis septembre 2018


Transfert de connaissances, création et accélération de start-ups

Le Centre de formation en technologies avancées transfère les connaissances des experts d’Inria dans un programme d'accompagnement efficace et direct, qui peut être exploité par les entreprises et les start-up qui cherchent à innover et à intégrer les technologies numériques telles que l’intelligence artificielle, l’apprentissage machine et l’IoT, pour n’en citer que quelques-unes, en relation avec les axes du centre et les technologies open source d’Inria.

Certaines des formations techniques seront bientôt lancées :

  • IA/Science des données avec scikit-learn
  • Programmation agile avec Pharo
  • Modélisation et simulation avec SOFA
  • IoT avec RIOT

 

En outre, le Studio technologique dédié aux start-up valorise les sociétés technologiques au travers de divers mécanismes d’association et de soutien. Il s’agit d’une offre unique et inégalée par rapport à celles qui existent actuellement dans la région, où un grand nombre d’incubateurs, d’accélérateurs et de programmes de soutien étatiques ont été implantés.

Les programmes en cours de déploiement sont les suivants :

  • CTO@InriaChile : forme des ingénieurs aux technologies de pointe et délivre la certification Inria Chile de CTO, qui favorise leur carrière professionnelle et leur insertion dans des entreprises et organisations partenaires ;
  • Softlanding@InriaChile : attire et soutien les start-up et les PME technologiques françaises et européennes qui visent à pénétrer le marché chilien et/ou latino-américain ;
  • Early-Stage Startups : vise à accompagner les nouvelles sociétés dans la constitution de leur équipe scientifique et dans l’accélération de leurs capacités à un stade précoce. Ce mécanisme apporte un soutien solide en formant du capital humain, en fournissant du mentorat et des infrastructures et en offrant le soutien d’Inria Chile dans le cadre d’appels d’offres de financement public.

Présentation des projets par domaine

Astronomie

Project ALMA Inria Chile Télescope du projet ALMA

Ce projet est principalement développé dans la zone nord du Chili, notamment dans le désert d’Atacama, reconnu comme le meilleur endroit sur terre pour observer le ciel. En raison du grand nombre d’observatoires, de télescopes et de projets astronomiques développés au Chili et de la nécessité de traiter, stocker et diffuser les données qu’ils génèrent, il est prévu que le pays devienne la capitale mondiale de l’astro-informatique.

Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA)  

Inria Chile a commencé à collaborer avec l’Observatoire ALMA en 2012 lors de l’élaboration du « ALMA Dashboard » avec le concours des chercheurs de l’équipe ILDA Inria, un système permettant de visualiser en temps réel l’état des 66 antennes de l’Observatoire et de leurs composants internes. Le succès du « ALMA Dashboard » a donné lieu au développement du « ALMA Integrated Alarm System », le système d’alarme et de surveillance de l’observatoire. Actuellement, ALMA et Inria Chile entretiennent une collaboration fluide et explorent de nouvelles opportunités sur la convergence de l’astronomie, l’ingénierie des données, l’apprentissage machine, l’intelligence artificielle et l’interaction homme-machine avec l’Observatoire des données du ministère de l’Économie et des chercheurs de l’Université Adolfo Ibáñez.

Grand télescope de relevé synoptique (LSST)  

Le LSST est un télescope en construction au Cerro Pachón au Chili. Il sera équipé de la caméra numérique la plus puissante jamais construite, qui permettra d’observer l’énergie noire responsable de l’accélération de l’expansion de l’univers. Inria Chile est devenu un partenaire stratégique dans ce projet, travaillant à la fois sur la conception et le développement des composants de l’interface utilisateur de la salle de contrôle du LSST principal et des télescopes auxiliaires, ainsi que sur la plateforme où cette interface sera déployée.

Exploitation minière

L’exploitation minière joue un rôle clé dans l’économie chilienne, étant présente dans 13 des 15 régions qui composent le pays, d’où sont extraits environ 25 minéraux différents. Au Chili, le secteur minier a représenté en moyenne 13 % du produit intérieur brut (PIB) au cours de la dernière décennie. En raison du fort impact économique du secteur minier, le centre Inria Chile a déployé ses efforts pour générer des initiatives ou des solutions basées sur la technologie numérique qui répondent aux défis de cette industrie.

Tranque

Tranque est une initiative publique-privée qui vise à contribuer à l’exploitation sûre et fiable des bassins de résidus miniers en améliorant la collecte de données, la coordination et les relations de confiance entre les différents intervenants grâce à un système de surveillance évolué. De récentes catastrophes au Brésil, au Canada et aux Philippines ont soulevé les préoccupations des gouvernements, des entreprises, des investisseurs et du grand public concernant la sécurité et l’impact environnemental des résidus miniers.

Inria Chile est en train de construire une plateforme pour collecter, stocker, traiter et visualiser les données sur la stabilité des bassins de résidus de l’industrie minière, ce qui fournira des informations de qualité, fiables et opportunes aux autorités, aux sociétés minières et aux communautés. Cette initiative, coordonnée par la Fundación Chile, a comme partenaires stratégiques Inria Chile et les institutions et agences gouvernementales chiliennes, en particulier la Corporation de développement de la production (Corfo), le ministère des Mines, le Service national de géologie et des mines (Sernageomin), le Bureau national des urgences du ministère de l’Intérieur (ONEMI), la Surintendance à l’environnement (SMA), le ministère des Travaux publics (DGA). Plusieurs des sociétés minières les plus importantes font également partie des partenaires stratégiques, notamment Antofagasta Minerals (AMSA), la National Copper Corporation of Chile (CODELCO), BHP, la National Mining Company (ENAMI), l’Advanced Technology Center for Mining (AMTC) et Valor Compartido.

Centre intégré de pilotage de technologies minières (CIPTEMIN)

L’objectif du CIPTEMIN est de fournir les infrastructures et les capacités nécessaires pour que les intervenants du secteur minier puissent mettre à l’essai des technologies en phase de développement pilote, étape qui précède la mise à l’échelle et la commercialisation. 

Inria Chile est le co-exécuteur technologique du CIPTEMIN, assurant le support technologique et des formations technologiques avancées. Cette initiative est menée par l’Universidad Católica del Norte (UCN) et en collaboration avec dix autres institutions — universités, entreprises et centres internationaux.

Énergie

Le Chili dispose d’un énorme potentiel en matière d’énergies renouvelables en raison de ses conditions géographiques et climatiques. Le pays a le rayonnement solaire le plus élevé du monde, des vents forts sur tout son territoire qui permettent le développement de l’énergie éolienne, une côte étendue du nord au sud pour le développement de l’énergie marine, la capacité de développer du biogaz et une ressource géothermique le long de la cordillère des Andes. Il convient de noter que selon la dernière édition deNew Energy Finance Climascope, le Chili a atteint la première place en matière d’investissement dans les énergies renouvelables en Amérique latine et dans la région des Caraïbes.

Projet de modélisation avancée pour les énergies marines renouvelables  

Ce projet visait à créer un modèle associé à la plateforme numérique OceaPoS pour la réduction des flux océaniques, qui pourra en conséquence prendre en compte les interactions entre la turbine et le flux principal. Il a également pour objet de proposer de nouvelles techniques de couplage basées sur de nouvelles conditions du littoral, permettant le développement de modèles océaniques multiphysiques de la côte à la haute mer. Il s’agit d’un projet collaboratif entre le Centre de recherche et d’innovation sur les énergies marines (MERIC), les membres des équipes LEMON et TOSCA Inria, l’Université catholique pontificale du Chili, CIGIDEN et Inria Chile. L’objectif futur est de continuer à développer les modèles existants pour offrir une version capable de dimensionner et de concevoir des champs de turbines pour un emplacement spécifique au Chili.

Mots-clés : Énergie Inria Chile Écologie Astronomie

Haut de page

Suivez Inria